No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Kings Arms Hotel, 20 Market Place,, Melksham, SN12 6EX
At the Kings Arms Hotel, a warm welcome is expected from this enchanting staging post where in the early 18th century stagecoaches refreshed on their way between London and Bristol. The Kings Arms offers bed and breakfast accommodation with a superb menu for lunchtime and evening dining. Top to toe refurbishment. We now offer upgraded contemporary bedrooms and a transformed traditional bar. Stay, drink and eat in new surroundings. Couple that with the ability for social functions and conferencing, it makes a perfect venue for weddings, conferences, and a base from which to explore the wonders of Wiltshire.

Relax and unwind, watch the world go by. Enjoy a quiet drink or catch up with friends for a special night out. Our surroundings lend themselves to all your moods. The lounge bar is open plan on a split-level offering you the opportunity of dining if you wish or to just enjoy a drink. Wadworth traditional ales 6X I.P.A. J.C.B. and Henry's Smooth are all brewed locally in Devizes.

Just eight miles from the main East/West M4 motorway and 20 minutes from the famous Roman City of Bath. Melksham is surrounded by a wealth of historical sites and is perfectly situated for access to Cornwall and the South West, the South Coast, the Midlands and London.

We operate a total non-smoking policy throughout the hotel, the music is mellow, with a relaxing atmosphere and a service that is efficient and friendly. We are just the place to be amongst friends.

PLEASE NOTE - We are in a small town and at weekends our bar can be quite noisy. We also hold regular large functions and this may also result in some noise from the function room and bar area. Please contact us if you wish to check details of any functions we may have booked.
Picture of The Kings Arms Hotel, Melksham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings arms Melksham first visit
This was our first visit to Melksham and were looking for accommodation in the town centre. The Kings Arms was suitable and we were not disappointed. It was very central and had ample parking.
We didn't have dinner but had a very good breakfast on two mornings. We will definitely use this hotel again when we are in this area.

Reviewed by
C White

From Stalybridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Quality Accommodation within easy reach of Bath & surrounding area.
We stayed for two nights & for us"The Kings Arms has been a good find, warm friendly atmosphere, clean tidy rooms, breakfast was very good plus one evening meal which was excellent, the only slight problem with our stay was that we had our evening meal on the Saturday in the bar as the restaurant was fully booked due to the time of year which was no problem except for a party of young men a little worse for wear through drink who sat at the table next to us and were a little on the loud side I feel that had the management told them to keep the noise down from the start then our eating experience would have been far more enjoyable but other than that we really enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate in using there again next time we visit Bath.

Reviewed by
K Bailey

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night at The Kings Arms Melksham

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Good customer service, town centre location, very well decorated room with comfy bed, nice quality breakfast. Very good value for money, would stay again.

Reviewed by
Kim P

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brief stopover
warm and friendly pub accommodation.
ideal for a short stay.

Reviewed by
kenneth green

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A comfortable bed etc. No clock/alarm. excellent food and good servcice. very clean!

Reviewed by
carol kolczak

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely food and a pleasant stay
The accommodation was fine, if a little dated. The only real drawback with the room was that the window didn't open.
All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, friendly and helpful, and only slightly disorganised service at one evening meal prevented this from being rated higher.
The real plus was the food. We had a meal on the first evening, intending to eat elsewhere the second evening, but enjoyed it so much that we ended up eating in again on the second night. Breakfasts were very enjoyable too, with a good quality produce used. The beer was well-kept too.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Kings Arms. We booked two double rooms for two nights. On arrival we were impressed by the tidy appearance and spacious free car park. We were welcomed by the barman and efficiently booked in. Our rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. On the first night we ate at the pub and were impressed with the speed of service and quality of food as the pub was very busy. We slept very well and were not disturbed by any noise from the pub below. The following morning we had a good choice of continental and cooked breakfast. The following night we again slept well. Throughout our stay we were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff and pub owners. We would definitely stay again if coming to the area.

Reviewed by
S Ashfield

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation very good with plenty of storage space and comfortable bed. Shower very efficient but very compact and not enough space for wet towels.

Reviewed by
N Gadsby

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a very pleasant stay. Only one negative which was access to the
Room was very dangerous. My dad had real problem with the stairs.
Only because they are far too narrow & had to walk sideways.

Reviewed by
Suzanne Golding

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next