No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Kings Arms Hotel, 20 Market Place,, Melksham, SN12 6EX
At the Kings Arms Hotel, a warm welcome is expected from this enchanting staging post where in the early 18th century stagecoaches refreshed on their way between London and Bristol. The Kings Arms offers bed and breakfast accommodation with a superb menu for lunchtime and evening dining. Top to toe refurbishment. We now offer upgraded contemporary bedrooms and a transformed traditional bar. Stay, drink and eat in new surroundings. Couple that with the ability for social functions and conferencing, it makes a perfect venue for weddings, conferences, and a base from which to explore the wonders of Wiltshire.

Relax and unwind, watch the world go by. Enjoy a quiet drink or catch up with friends for a special night out. Our surroundings lend themselves to all your moods. The lounge bar is open plan on a split-level offering you the opportunity of dining if you wish or to just enjoy a drink. Wadworth traditional ales 6X I.P.A. J.C.B. and Henry's Smooth are all brewed locally in Devizes.

Just eight miles from the main East/West M4 motorway and 20 minutes from the famous Roman City of Bath. Melksham is surrounded by a wealth of historical sites and is perfectly situated for access to Cornwall and the South West, the South Coast, the Midlands and London.

We operate a total non-smoking policy throughout the hotel, the music is mellow, with a relaxing atmosphere and a service that is efficient and friendly. We are just the place to be amongst friends.

PLEASE NOTE - We are in a small town and at weekends our bar can be quite noisy. We also hold regular large functions and this may also result in some noise from the function room and bar area. Please contact us if you wish to check details of any functions we may have booked.
Picture of The Kings Arms Hotel, Melksham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Vey cold
The room needed decoration and the tap in the bathroom sink was loose and didnt work. My room door handle came off in my hand when trying to get into my room. The room was dirty and not well maintained

Reviewed by
Ken C

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Couple
Hotel far exceeded my expectations with beautiful rooms of a good size with a comfortable bed. The inclusive full English breakfast the next morning was the perfect end!

Reviewed by
Tom B

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
warm friendly welcome, clean warm rooms, excellent freshly cooked food, a plesent hotel, will definatly be using again

Reviewed by
J Davies

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

generaly good stay
staff welcome very good,great shower, rooms were to hot, key given to get into the hotel didnt fit the main door and only got back in because a member of staff happened to be passing. chef in the morning a real star !!

Reviewed by
d draper

From poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quality hotel, with superior staff.
The staff at this establishment are and where more than accommodating. No request was too big or too small for them to deal with. Two memebers of staff stood out against most, but not wishing to cause embarasement, I am sure they know whom they are.

Reviewed by
Cornelius Buckley

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Hotel
Having first arrived in the bar, the decor was modern with a warm and cosey atmosphere. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay and even though we didn't book for a meal they were still happy to accommodate us and both thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We stayed in room 2, at first glance it looked like some things needed touching up and in general needed modernising, however the bed was one of the most comfiest beds we've ever slept in, so please keep the bed. Overall we had a lovely last minute weekend away and enjoyed a great meal and relaxing drinks in the bar.

Reviewed by
J Starling

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work trip
Nice quiet hotel, rooms could do with a lick of paint, but no great drawback

Reviewed by
Paul J

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of a refit!
The breakfast was the only good thing about my stay at the Kings Arms Hotel Melksham, the room was in a very poor decorative state and in urgent need of maintenance updating. Not all of the lights worked, in the bathroom the shower hose had load of leaks and sprayed most of the room when showering. A noisy room as above the bar with curtains not correctly fitted to the rails .
If you want a cheap 1 night stay for the area then this is the place, if you want a romantic night, choose somewhere else

Reviewed by
PAUL N

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good expereince
hotel rooms shabby, need to be cleaned propoerly, mold in the bathroon, not nice

Reviewed by
j Thomas

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Just a short overnight break - no real time spent in the Hotel (pub). Had a slightly worn-down feel when in the corridors, some would say characterful, but once in the room was clean, well presented, and everything worked well - lots of hot water.

Reviewed by
C Williams

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next