No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Kings Arms Hotel, 20 Market Place,, Melksham, SN12 6EX
At the Kings Arms Hotel, a warm welcome is expected from this enchanting staging post where in the early 18th century stagecoaches refreshed on their way between London and Bristol. The Kings Arms offers bed and breakfast accommodation with a superb menu for lunchtime and evening dining. Top to toe refurbishment. We now offer upgraded contemporary bedrooms and a transformed traditional bar. Stay, drink and eat in new surroundings. Couple that with the ability for social functions and conferencing, it makes a perfect venue for weddings, conferences, and a base from which to explore the wonders of Wiltshire.

Relax and unwind, watch the world go by. Enjoy a quiet drink or catch up with friends for a special night out. Our surroundings lend themselves to all your moods. The lounge bar is open plan on a split-level offering you the opportunity of dining if you wish or to just enjoy a drink. Wadworth traditional ales 6X I.P.A. J.C.B. and Henry's Smooth are all brewed locally in Devizes.

Just eight miles from the main East/West M4 motorway and 20 minutes from the famous Roman City of Bath. Melksham is surrounded by a wealth of historical sites and is perfectly situated for access to Cornwall and the South West, the South Coast, the Midlands and London.

We operate a total non-smoking policy throughout the hotel, the music is mellow, with a relaxing atmosphere and a service that is efficient and friendly. We are just the place to be amongst friends.

PLEASE NOTE - We are in a small town and at weekends our bar can be quite noisy. We also hold regular large functions and this may also result in some noise from the function room and bar area. Please contact us if you wish to check details of any functions we may have booked.
Picture of The Kings Arms Hotel, Melksham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4* Not
This was booked thinking from the write up it was 4* and it certainly was not. The pub itself and food was nice, but when we arrived they had no booking for us, although it was booked through late rooms a week earlier. So we were put into a below standard room with no running cold water in the sink, the decor was outdated and the curtains were dirty and ripped. Very noisy room and the walls were paper thin. I think as a pub it's ok but fails as a hotel. The only plus was the staff were very nice.

Reviewed by
Beverley Aulton

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very busy and noisy
I arrived to find the hotel / pub full of young people (so many that the courtyard was full of people drinking). On trying to check in I found another family that were very disturbed by the party (charity event) that was going on and asked for a refund. They moved on to find somewhere else. The pub was not serving food 'as they had a BBQ outside that would serve food until 9'. I checked in. The room was ok. The bathroom was small, but functional. It took an age to get served in the bar and when I went t get food the BBQ had gone (at 8:30). The bed was comfy. The breakfast the next morning was good, although there was a shortage of staff (the cook seemed to be the only one around).

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
Hotel was situated in a lovely little village, great for access to Bath, Salisbury etc. Staff were freindly and helpful and food was delicious. The only downside was our room, though clean, decor was a little shabby. With a little love and attention this hotel could offer a much more, worthy of more than a 1 night stop over.

Reviewed by
Sarah F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid.
Had a terrible experience at The Kings Arms Hotel. In short, all I can say is please avoid this place!
Details:
We (me and my wife) arrived in the evening at 5:30pm to check-in. They kept us waiting giving different reasons. Initially they said, paperwork is missing to take our details for insurance purposes. The manager then turned up, who seemed very arrogant, did not apologise for the delay and seemed to be annoyed that they got a guest!! They kept us waiting for about an hour n a half without any update on the situation.
At the end, we were told that they had double booked the rooms and so had no room for us! This messaged was not even conveyed by the manager! We then had to cancel the reservation and move on! Luckily we live 1 hour away from the hotel, so we changed our weekend plans and heading back home!
The reception desk seemed very untidy and totally dis-organised.
All I can say is, please avoid this hotel.

Reviewed by
A Patil

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bar area gives the impression of a well kept building, the accommodation lets it down. The room was tatty, scruffy and in need of a serious makeover . There were holes in the bathroom door which looked as though someone had punched it. One of the wall lights had filler around it which hadn't been painted over. The shower curtain was so thin it clung to my legs like a limpet while I was showering. Having said that, the sheets and towels were clean. This is an old building with character (creaky floors which slope in odd directions) so I wouldn't expect the rooms to be perfect but for the price I expected more. Breakfast was lovely!

Reviewed by
Donna M

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A noisy hotel
Due to the very close proximity to the local town's nightlife, the early hours of the morning are fillled with drunken revellers and clip-clopping of heels looking for taxis and shouting for their mates further down the road when they a have found one. This place is quiant and has "unique" features but it is cheap. We stayed on a Saturday night and had to put up with the appalling noise until about 3 in the morning. The windows are double-glazed, but the rooms are warm, so trying to find a happy compromise between warmth and noise was impossible. The flooring was uneven in the rooms, the uppermost rooms couldn't get hot water in the shower and we in the lower room had a shower that changed temperature depending on who was using what in the rest of the hotel. Our friends in the upper rooms felt they were falling out of bed due to the uneven nature of the flooring. Struggled to manually set up the TV in the room as there was no remote control at first - putting us at risk of missing an early Sunday Morning GP, but we managed it!
To summarise, it's an adequate place to stay, the breakfast was good, in fact the pub that the rooms are based around has a great atmosphere and ambience. The staff are great and responded to our gripes very well. Generally the maxim "you get what you pay for" is quite true in the hotel world, but some chains would be cheaper. This place has character and parking, but for a peaceful night's sleep, you need to make sure the nightclub next door is shut - the rest of the gripes would be bearable then.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

And good beer.

Reviewed by
A Gleave

From Hastings, England
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

KINGS ARMS REVIEW
NICE OLD COACHING INN WITH GOOD FOOD

Reviewed by
D GRUNDY

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly local Hotel - excellent value
I enjoyed my one night stay, booked the day before and didn't have to pay a premium unlike some branded chains. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was good. Although an older property with a lick of paint required in some of the corridors, the room was clean, bed very comfortable, shower powerful and hot, the food was good for the price and the local beer was very nice. For B&B it was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
clive j

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6