No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Kings Arms Hotel, 20 Market Place,, Melksham, SN12 6EX
At the Kings Arms Hotel, a warm welcome is expected from this enchanting staging post where in the early 18th century stagecoaches refreshed on their way between London and Bristol. The Kings Arms offers bed and breakfast accommodation with a superb menu for lunchtime and evening dining. Top to toe refurbishment. We now offer upgraded contemporary bedrooms and a transformed traditional bar. Stay, drink and eat in new surroundings. Couple that with the ability for social functions and conferencing, it makes a perfect venue for weddings, conferences, and a base from which to explore the wonders of Wiltshire.

Relax and unwind, watch the world go by. Enjoy a quiet drink or catch up with friends for a special night out. Our surroundings lend themselves to all your moods. The lounge bar is open plan on a split-level offering you the opportunity of dining if you wish or to just enjoy a drink. Wadworth traditional ales 6X I.P.A. J.C.B. and Henry's Smooth are all brewed locally in Devizes.

Just eight miles from the main East/West M4 motorway and 20 minutes from the famous Roman City of Bath. Melksham is surrounded by a wealth of historical sites and is perfectly situated for access to Cornwall and the South West, the South Coast, the Midlands and London.

We operate a total non-smoking policy throughout the hotel, the music is mellow, with a relaxing atmosphere and a service that is efficient and friendly. We are just the place to be amongst friends.

PLEASE NOTE - We are in a small town and at weekends our bar can be quite noisy. We also hold regular large functions and this may also result in some noise from the function room and bar area. Please contact us if you wish to check details of any functions we may have booked.
Picture of The Kings Arms Hotel, Melksham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value for money
Stayed here last year which was ok for our three day fishing trip so decided to return, pleasantly surprised to find Hotel referbished to a high standard, rooms very clean, breakfast excellent and customer service second to none. Will definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
Terry Pares

From Sidbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place but spoilt by Bar closing time!!!
Great service from staff, lovely rooms and generally a very nice place. The one thing that would stop me returning is the Bar closing time. This was extremely loud and continued with those completely drunk still screaming in through street at 2:50am!!!!

Reviewed by
A Williams

From Aberdar, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly with helpful staff

Reviewed by
Doug Prangell

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Very friendly staff , very helpful . Breakfast lovely and good
Choice. Local to a few shops/ banks/ eating places. Just 15
Mins outside of bath and a couple of miles from National Trust Lacock which is
Beautiful to visit with it's only little village as well . You can get
Into your room at 12 which was an excellent time to drop bags and still have over half
A day left to explore Bath

Reviewed by
elaine g

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nightmare !
Just did an overnight here,thank goodness,Had a nice comfortable room and James the relief Manager could not have been nicer,he was most helful,courteous and polite.
On that night there was a disco downstairs and the revellers were so rowdy outside the bedroom window at way past midnight til about 2am,had to close the window (on a really warm evening) even that didnt do it.Shame really good real ales and helpful staff

Reviewed by
David O'Neil

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms Melksham
Characterful old hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, with good and varied menu. Comfortable room, very reasonable rates - what more can one ask for?

Reviewed by
Richard R

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful night away!
Room was very clean and bathroom spotless and spacious. The food in the evening and breakfast was fantastic.

Reviewed by
K Henderson

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, lovely food and very friendly staff look forward to staying again.

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
Nice hotel with friendly staff and a lovely breakfast offered. Good value for money and would go there again

Reviewed by
Lynn B

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very clean and tidy , breakfast was good and staff polite and helpfull would definatley stay again

Reviewed by
Andy Currie

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next