No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chetcombe House

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Chetcombe Road Mere, , , Mere, BA12 6AZ
Chetcombe House is an elegant and cosy country house set in an acre of lovely gardens and located just a few minutes’ walking distance from the centre of the charming Wiltshire town of Mere. We have five well appointed en suite bedrooms, a guest lounge overlooking the extensive gardens and lots of on site parking. If you are seeking the right venue for a country house weekend with a group of friends we can arrange beauty treatments, wine tasting, book group discussions and days out at the races. You can also enjoy local attractions like Stourhead, Longleat Safari Park, Salisbury Cathedral, Wardour Castle, Dorset's beautiful Jurassic coastline and the Roman city of Bath. All 5 of the bedrooms are en suite (either shower or bath/shower combined). The rooms are bright and pretty with white cotton bed linen and contrasting throws and cushions. Home-made cakes and biscuits are a feature of the hospitality trays. Extra large towels and luxury toiletries are provided in all of the bathrooms. A supply of toiletries (toothpaste, toothbrush etc) and feminine items is always available in case guests have forgotten to pack one of these essentials. The house benefits from a large driveway for parking guest cars, and cycles can be locked, overnight, in one of the garages upon request.
Picture of Chetcombe House, Mere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful B&B guest house
From when we arrived, we felt very welcome. The room was spotless and the breakfast was every thing and more.We will definately return in the Spring/Summer next year.

Reviewed by
rita eldridge

From Egham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheerful and homely.
We had a truly lovely short break at Chetcombe, which we had chosen primarily for its proximity to Stourhead. Rose and Gerry are wonderfully hospitable hosts, proactive about offering their help for anything we might need--in our case they gave good tips for extra time we had in the area. The room was bright and cheerful and well-equipped, with a view over the large garden and fields beyond. Breakfast was excellent and varied.

Reviewed by
Diane U

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and very welcoming
Everything about this B and B is perfect - great hosts, pristine and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast with wide ranging choices and an excellent location. Wholeheartedly recommend this great location.

Reviewed by
Robert Burn

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B and B
The room was excellent and service lovely. Rosie and Jerry were really friendly and made us very welcome. The room had everything we could wish for, including lovely homemade biscuits on arrival. It was really clean and great facilities.

Reviewed by
T Blunt

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, Fresh and inviting.
This is a lovely B&B, nothing bad to say what so ever. Sally and Jerry made me and partner very welcome. The room was clean, fresh with a lovely view of their gardens and fields beyond. Perfect location. We went for a weekend at LongLeat. this was 20mins away... perfect. Nice friendly pubs within walking distance or a 2 min drive. There is a Co op shop open until 10pm close by and a cash point over the road to the George Inn. Food there was lovely and served real ale.
Breakfast was gorgeous, cooked to perfection with plenty of choice. Blueberry pancakes were gorgeous to start the day. My partner was still in bed (too much ale) I had breakfast in peace and kindly sally made a bacon sandwich for him, for me to take up.
I can't think of a negative comment at all, excellent value for money and will be returning again for our next stay.

Reviewed by
Vicky Miller

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chetcome House, Mere Wiltshire. Our short - to short stay.
Chetcome House is a stylish country Guest House set in its own grounds and gardens. Located just off the A303 slip road to Mere, It is close enough the 303 to be convenient but without any traffic noise. It is only a few minutes walk into the village of Mere. The views to the rear from the accomadation across the gardens and open countryside towards Shaftsbury are tremendous. The entrance drive provided ample parking and turning space.
My wife and eye could not fault anything about the the house and accomadation. It was clean comfortable and very welcoming. Throughout our stay we were made to feel quite at home by our hosts Gerry and Rosie, without them being intrusive.
The standard of catering was nothing short of excellant and the food was as far as possible all locally resourced. The choice of menu for breakfast was quite amazing. Besides the usual to be expected full english etc, there were surprises such as the smoked trout and scrambled egg on a bed of sauteid tomatoes and mushrooms. To die for. Next time time we will try Gerries speciality of American pancakes.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place, great people and great experience. Lovely stay

Reviewed by
scott paris

From Broxbourne, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.