No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Saracens Head Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Saracens Head Hotel, Market Place , Southwell, NG25 0HE
The Saracens Head Hotel is situated in the delightful market town of Southwell in the heart of the Nottinghamshire countryside. Once known as the King's Arms, the hotel was established in the 12th Century however, was rebuilt in the 16th Century and further additions made in the 1970's. The reception area, restaurant and above are part of the towns Assembly Rooms built in 1818 and restoration work has revealed Elizabethan wall paintings which can be seen in the Bramley Room and the King Charles Suite in the oldest wing of the hotel. The town of Southwell boasts a rich historical and architectural heritage, including the magnificent Norman Minster and numerous Prebendal houses. From the hotels doorstep you can take a stroll through the town's unique collection of shops, visit the 19th century workhouse or simply relax in the town park.
Picture of The Saracens Head Hotel, Southwell at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were very helpful and friendly
would definitely recommend for a relaxing weekend break

Reviewed by
k picken

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice accomodation, lovely staff.
Arrived at 7.30, so a quick shower then grabbed a bar snack - Bangers and Mash, lovely grub.TV in the Bar was handy, (football on) and lady working behind it was very helpful and sociable. Floor in my room (14) creaked every time I walked around, which probably affected the person in the room below, more than it did me! Spacious, comfortable, with power shower and comfy armchair for watching TV. Missed breakfast the next morning (phone and e.mails kicked off at 7.30, and didn't ease off until gone 9am), and I happened to mention it as I checked out. I was then offered some croissants to take away with me, (which I gratefully accepted) as "compensation for missing breakfast", a very nice gesture!! I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Andy R

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, affordable, comfortable. Just right.
I spent one night here with my 84-year-old mother as part of a birthday 'road trip' for her. Our twin room was clean, reasonably priced, and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is centrally placed in Southwell, perfect for a browse round the shops and a tour of the Minster, with an excellent Italian restaurant (complete with a great Buble-style singer) almost opposite. Breakfast was fine though we didn't sample the Full English because we'd eaten so much the night before! Staff were friendly and helpful despite having a great deal going on including a wedding reception, and a folk festival in the town.

Reviewed by
Anne R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Room was very clean, breakfast did have to be taken before 9 but was well made, on the whole excellent value for money and would stay again.

Reviewed by
John G

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel and staff!
Nothing negative to say. Really liked this hotel and will be returning in the future.

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not quite up to the mark
Sadly, this hotel has seen better days I suspect. The room was satisfactory but the noise from the road was not good and the window really needed to be open. Although Wifi was apparently available this was difficult to achieve depending on where you were in the room. The dining room was very good and attractive. Breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
N Kerrison

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saracen's Head iHotel
Family run hotel with a cheerful atmosphere. The room was clean and comfortable. It was situated in the centre of the town and the car parking was free and close by the Hotel. The food was excellent.

Reviewed by
A Nicholls

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was great old and full of charm. Dinner was very good and breakfast super, nice to be waited on, instead of the free for all help yourself.

Reviewed by
Brian B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpful throughout my stay

Reviewed by
Brian Hughes

From Saltburn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
We attended a wedding ceremony at the hotel and stayed overnight.
The whole day was fabulous- the food at the wedding was delicious- the staff were really friendly and the room was lovey.
Would definitely reccommend if you are up that way!

Reviewed by
S Cowan

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next