Reviews - The Bell Hotel

The Bell Hotel Faringdon, 13 Market Place,, Faringdon, SN7 7HP

Price From 145.37 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Derrick Powell

  • August 2015

Pleasant stay.

My wife and I stayed for one night to attend Follyfest.

We were warmly welcomed and taken to our spacious room. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of towels. We enjoyed a couple of beers at the bar and the breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.

  • diana d

  • July 2015

The Bell Hotel

Excellent accommodation, clean, good comfortable nights sleep.

Staff really helpful, friendly place, all food we had there was excellent.

  • D Dadak

  • November 2014

I would not stay here again as the bed was uncomfortable and the traffic going passed the window meant I could not sleep well.

  • Andrew P

  • November 2014

Ring that Bell

The building has a lot to offer.

It is presently shrouded in a cloak of bland and tired late 20th Century décor that is smothering the obvious underlying charm and wealth of character the Hotel undoubtedly has. This is the challenge being undertaken by the Manager and one that seems to be relished. Whilst the present décor has limited appeal, this is more than made up for by the staff and owner. They were very accommodating and couldn't have been more helpful. Having only recently taken over the running of the Bell Hotel, a start has been made on the refurbishment with more to come. There seemed to be a community sprit in the place. The setting and location are very good.

If you are looking for corporate uniformity, posh nosh and immaculate fixtures and fitting then this is not the place for you. It is a budget hotel. We had a family room which was a good size and easily accommodated a double and 2 single beds. It also had a large en-suite bathroom. We were at the front of the building, overlooking the market square, and it was quiet and warm room. The stairs and self closing doors may be an issue for those with young children and buggies.

We arrived later than expected due to horrendous traffic. We phoned ahead and were reassured that the late arrival was not an issue. We were too late and tired to eat in the restaurant but the chef was able to make us some sandwiches from the lunch menu (these ordinarily would not be served at this time). The breakfast was a good size and tasty with locally produced meat. Veggies are best advised to confirm ahead but there was otherwise plenty of choice . We only stayed one night but would certainly visit again, if only to be able to explore the local area. Once the cloak of tired décor is removed a fine swan should emerge from the ugly duckling.

  • Miles Mellonie

  • October 2014

Enchanting olde worlde.


  • October 2014

Bell Hotel Faringdon

A most enjoyable stay although only night in a quaint Faringdon English piece of history.

I have posted some photographs . Did you receive them .

  • T Hall

  • September 2014

over all view

We found the owners to be polite and helpful, although we were told that they were having a re-furbishment in approx 8 weeks time a few simple things could have been put in place now to make customers stay more enjoyable like a hair dryer in the room instead of saterlite tv that did not have an aerial connection so no tv, a bath/shower with no shower screen so no shower,no shaver point in the bath room and very few points in bed room that were hard to access, overall £60 would have been a fair price to pay.

  • Maureen C

  • September 2014

We travelled from Norfolk, & were very tired, but were given a very warm & friendly welcome.

We had a disabled Mum with us,& were informed previous to our arrival that there were stairs to deal with, but it was very difficult. The bar was very quaint, & breakfast the next morning excellent. The room we were in was quite noisy & a door next door was constantly banging. I have to say, the couple running it were lovely & very kind.

  • Michal C

  • August 2014

Very nice atmosphere

  • G Newbury

  • July 2014

Good, friendly hotel

We stayed for one night and were very pleased with our room and the friendly service we received.

Breakfast was great too.