Reviews - The Bell Hotel


The Bell Hotel Faringdon, 13 Market Place,, Faringdon, SN7 7HP

Price From 148.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Brian D

  • June 2014

Good - Could be outstanding

I believe the management is very new to this hotel; is aware of the decor of the bedrooms, and cannot yet be responsible for their condition.

This is largely cosmetic and, although it needs sorting (carpet replacement/bathroom refurb/paint) as a priority, any more ambitious projects could follow at a more leisurely pace. The small hotel is old and quirky with the uneven floors and almost random beams. It has, therefore, a fantastic character and tremendous potential. The basics are spot on; the attention and friendliness of the staff, and the really superb quality of the food provides excellent value. The Bell is ideally situated on the picturesque town square, and could build an enviable reputation.

  • K Bennett

  • June 2014

Very pleased with accommodation.

Staff very welcoming and friendly. 0nly adverse comment is that we found the shower difficult to use to get water temperature to our liking, but that could possibly just be us. Very comfortable bed. Very good breakfast.

  • Caroline W

  • June 2014

definitely dog friendly

Took out two golden retrievers away with us for a weekend.

So impressed with the relaxed and friendly welcome we all received here. The building has great character with sloping floors and creaking floor boards. The breakfast was particularly excellent with really tasty sausage and bacon. We would happily go back.

  • j swaine

  • June 2014

Lovely hotel

Recently stayed Fri 30th & Sat 31st May and was met by a warm friendly atmosphere in the hotel, bar staff were friendly and helpful, The room was spotless and as it was an old hotel the uneven floors made it even more charming, The food was lovely and the breakfast had the best sausages I have ever tasted, We are just wondering when to book again here

  • David C

  • May 2014

Great food and really pleasant staff.

My room was small and quirky but it's an old country pub so that's to be expected.

As I was on business I would have liked a desk to do some work in the evenings but I think this pub is more for leisure and tourism than business. The food was excellent and the full English breakfast about the best I've had over the past few years. Great selection of beer and the pub seemed popular which is always a good sign. Best thing about the Bell was the friendliness and willingness of the staff to help you, can't ask for more than that in this price range.

  • Alexis Day

  • April 2014

Friendly wonderful inn.


The opposite of a big chain hotel. Lots of friendly regulars and super staff. I'll be going back.

  • J Weaver

  • April 2014

My stay at the Bell Hotel.

Very friendly staff.

Comfortable bed in a good size room. A typical old fashioned country inn with charm.

  • T Olson

  • February 2014

Full of Character

This family run hotel is full of welcome and the food is top notch.

An olde worlde public house with log burning fire, with a good selection of beers. We shall most definitely return.