No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bear Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
2 3, Market Place , Devizes, SN10 1HS
Ideally located in the heart of bustling Devizes, this historic property offers Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking and an excellent onsite restaurant.

The building’s original 16th century charm still exists in the bedrooms, while free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with Freeview, direct dial telephones and comfortable beds are provided to compliment the appeal of the rooms.

Open seven days a week, the Bear Grills Bistro is an informal option with an exciting menu for lunchtime and evening meals. In summer months the courtyard is an ideal place to relax
Picture of The Bear Hotel, Devizes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel

Reviewed by
Marie B

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trailer Collection
Nice old style hotel. Not sure if it would be everyones cup of tea but we enjoyed the none chain hotel feel for a change.
Room was little tired, but good bar and a nice breakfast

Reviewed by
R Fairhurst

From Horningsea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and overpriced. Back pokey room with the noise of ventilation motor all night. The only thing that redeemed the visit was the breakfast staff who were polite, efficient and very kind, over and above the call of duty.

Reviewed by
Constance Edwards

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really enjoyed my stay
splendid

Reviewed by
candida sanderson

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awesome 1 nights stay at the Bear Hotel in Devizes!
From the moment I entered the hotel I was treated with the utmost respect. The hotel had a lovely friendly feel to it with 2 bars and a friendly hotel reception. My executive single room was furnished in matching antique classic furniture, but with a modern, very comfortable 3/4 bed and modern clean shower room. I had a lovely meal in the Bear Grill and the best nights sleep in months!
I am already planning to return in March and bring my elderly Mum down to visit her relatives. I would recommend the Bear Hotel to any traveller. The hotel is steeped in History dating from the 1500's but if there are any ghosts, I am sure they are all friendly!

Reviewed by
Sue A

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect venue for intimate wedding
Gret food, staff and place is full of character., we stayed as part of a wedding party, noting was too much trouble, we all had the perfect day.

Reviewed by
N James

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank goodness - a decent hotel in Devizes
I've stayed in some pretty poor hotels in Devizes hoping small would be beautiful but I was wrong. The Bear is a larger hotel than most but it is far better than the others. Wonderful small front bar serving superb beer in the evening and a fantastic breakfast the next day. It's been a long time since I've slept in a single room that only had room for one but it was comfortable, clean, quiet and spotlessly clean. I don't think I will ever look to stay anywhere else when work sends me to Devizes again

Reviewed by
Simon Walsh

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A convenient overnight stay
Urgent visit to Devizes, four poster available at a reduced price, proved very worthwhile.
Pity they have removed the table cloths in the restaurant, in danger of losing their point of difference.

Reviewed by
John T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super Hotel
This place is the business - right in the town centre, ample parking, comfortable room.
I stay in countless hotels with my job - this place is a true gem!
Customer Service was outstanding- well done girls.
I very much look forward to seeing you all again!

Reviewed by
L Thompson

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bear Hotel
Very nice hotel. Staff in the breakfast room particularly good, very helpful.

Reviewed by
A McKean

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next