No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bear Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
2 3, Market Place , Devizes, SN10 1HS
Ideally located in the heart of bustling Devizes, this historic property offers Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking and an excellent onsite restaurant.

The building’s original 16th century charm still exists in the bedrooms, while free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV with Freeview, direct dial telephones and comfortable beds are provided to compliment the appeal of the rooms.

Open seven days a week, the Bear Grills Bistro is an informal option with an exciting menu for lunchtime and evening meals. In summer months the courtyard is an ideal place to relax
Picture of The Bear Hotel, Devizes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Few minor details, otherwise superbe

Reviewed by
Tom W

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Receptionist and waiting staff excellent. The bar staff were not of the same standard

Reviewed by
Julie E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, good location, excellent food and breakfasts.

Reviewed by
M Whibley

From West Ealing, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another successful overnight
We have come to rely on the Bear to satisfy our overnight needs and will continue to use while the influence of the recently departed Sales and Marketing Manager prevails.
A little disappointed with the attic room this stay, too many stairs for our age group and the room is quite small and not the best value for money. We will avoid this room and others like it next time.

Reviewed by
J Tilley

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was okay and I enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
M Buttigieg

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel with original old features. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely room.
If you want a modern hotel with perfectly straight walls and clean lines, then this is not the hotel for you. Whilst the rooms have been decorated and furnished to a high standard, it is a old building with slight wonky floorboards and a whole heap of character. Beams on the ceilings, cornices etc. Staff were lovely, and breakfast was superb, nice selection, hot plate and quality food. The bar areas are clean, well lit and nicely laid out. The hotel is situated right in the market square with lots and lots of shops (some high street stores) and lots of local shops with a wide variety for you to choose from. A perfect location. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Melissa R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Setting Sun
Made for an autumnal sodjorn

Reviewed by
M EGGLETON

From Reading, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay
A very warm welcome at the reception, car parking dealt with efficiently, room ready for us.
Our room was excellent, very clean bathroom very well fitted fluffy white towels and plenty of soap and shampoo etc.
TV excellent and very modern internet available
Customer service all over the hotel excellent, all staff highly trained.
A great stay.

Reviewed by
John T

From Bridport, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We were on a 'walking' holiday in the local area and stayed at the Bear for one night, Excellent accommodation and customer service. Fabulous historic surroundings and the food was good! What more could you ask for?

Reviewed by
John Wylie

From templecombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Nice hotel, good location, excellent breakfasts. Not much parking on site but lots of car parks near by.

Reviewed by
simon renney

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2