Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Bristol > Code$ Hotels > Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Victoria Square , Bristol, BS8 4EW

Situated in trendy Clifton Village on a leafy Georgian square, the Victoria Square Hotel provides the perfect base for exploring the vibrant city of Bristol. Just a 10 minute walk from the Clifton Suspension Bridge & Bristol Zoo.

The 41 traditional guest rooms are spread between two gracious Victorian Villas, all with en-suite bathrooms, digital TVs, welcome trays & direct dial telephones.

The hotel provides: limited car parking for up to 15 cars on a first come, first served basis (£5 per day), excellent links to public transport with regular buses to town, resident’s bar, cooked & continental buffet breakfast, as well as a friendly front of house team on hand 24 hours a day to assist you during your stay.
There is a wealth of independent restaurants within 2-5mins walk of the hotel.

There is no lift at the hotel - if you do require a room on a lower floor please request this at the time of booking.

Picture of Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome and a characterful building
This hotel is two grand Victoria houses which overlook a park square. I think my room used to be a parlour - it had a bay window with sash windows overlooking the square, a grand fireplace and very high ceilings. It was huge. A bathroom has been added to the corner of the room to turn it into a hotel room, but the original features can still be seen.
The staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was the usual kind of ingredients, nicely presented in a buffet arrangement.

Reviewed by
Katherine M

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying Visit
Stopping for one night only to visit my daughter. Great location with parking. Staff were friendly,helpful and welcoming. We were given an upgrade on arrival and found the accomodation superb. The room was clean and facilities were excellent. A thoroughly great experience.

Reviewed by
jenny g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location beats price
Venally nice staff and great location but the room was only just good enough and lacked any luxury normally found at this price. Parking is an issue and I only just squeezed my small car in. Breakfast was ok, good enough although the guy at the door was not what I would call enthused about his job or my breakfast. Would I stay again? Yes if the price was lower, great location.

Reviewed by
David H

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
We stayed in the next door house, a first for us. Gorgeous big room with a massive bed - unfortunately the bed was like lying on an ironing board and it was really low to the floor. That's the only issue, everything else was good.

Reviewed by
Alison F

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely area
Really lovely area. Quiet and leafy. If you want to use the car park - get there early.

Reviewed by
April C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3rd visit - must be ok!
Stayed here before so knew what to expect. Very convenient location and great to have parking. Nice sized room, functional shower room, not many frills ie toiletries etc but perfectly fine for our needs. Fast check-in and out, staff friendly and helpful. Not too thrilled about the 4am fire alarm though! Breakfast could be improved, gluten free items would be welcome!

Reviewed by
Jane F

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Village People
Hotel formed by two large Georgian adjoined buildings opposite park and cemetery. Rooms large, quiet when traffic stops but you can hear other guests moving about. Staff friendly and helpful. Decor a little tired but perfectly acceptable. Breakfast good and well served, chef took holiday whilst I was there, so had to eat in Clifton village where you are completely spoilt for choice - highly recommend nearby Albion pub for service and value. Bristol City Centre also within easy reach. Car park is a little scrappy and fills quickly - you are told you can park in streets around but you wouldn't want to - very narrow with lots of dented cars

Reviewed by
David W

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
This hotel is a little dated. The rooms are more than functional but need a spruce up.
Everything was very clean and our bed was well made.
Bathroom again is a bit dated, and the shower was pitiful. However, it all worked and everything was clean as whistle.
But, the customer service was some of the best we've ever come across. Staff are friendly, helpful, giving. That first check-in was such a pleasant experience, that it made up for all the other short comings.
Value for money was excellent. Great location. Would certainly stay again.......But please improve the shower. Better shower-head, and some increased pressure would do it!

Reviewed by
Owen W

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visit
Helpful receptionists , great car parking space , room ok , could do with an update . Breakfast ok but for the additional money I would expect decent bread not thin sliced plastic bread . Great place to stay for the weekend , we walked everywhere although there are buses and taxis - this part of Bristol is fabulous to explore . Hotel is clean and welcoming and we enjoyed our stay .

Reviewed by
Jacquie H

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Enjoyed stay, best thing about the hotel was the location. Bus stop just outside the door to take you into the city and back. Also nice to work through Victoria Square to the nearby pubs/cafes

Reviewed by
m pike

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next