No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Sea Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sea Road , South Shields, NE33 2LD
The Best Western Sea Hotel is located on the sea front at South Shields in the heart of Catherine Cookson country. The hotel is ideally located within easy reach of Sunderland and Tyneside, in addition to the A1 and A19.

All of the guest rooms are tastefully decorated with a choice of single, twin, double, four-poster and family rooms.

The Fregate Restaurant is noted for its wide variety of choice, offering English, continental and vegetarian cuisine in a stylish but comfortable setting. There are two bars providing contrasting ambience; the modern style Surfers Bar with a popular range of bar meals and the more traditional Tall Ships Cocktail Bar.

Choices of well-equipped functions rooms are available, all at the most competitive rates.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Sea Hotel, South Shields at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly helpful staff from arrival to dining and checking out. Can't really say more about the food as I only had a salad which was heaped on the plate. Very generous portions if not a little too much for me. Would definitely stay again. Hotel was very clean if not a little tired but terrific staff made up for this.

Reviewed by
c thomson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sea Hotel
Great room and comfy bed. Staff were really friendly and accomodating. Made me feel really at home. Would recommend

Reviewed by
Paul Oliver

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay and very good value for money

Reviewed by
I GRACE

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired
The decor of our room (and indeed the whole hotel) was a little tired and dated but it was beautifully clean and absolutely adequate for a short stay. Bathroom was in need of an update and the configuration of the sink and the shower door made it impossible to put in the bath plug unless you were actually in the bath. Unfortunately we had to negotiate our way around big laundry bags which were left in the corridor outside of our bedroom door from the time we arrived until the time we left which was a bit of a nuisance. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast in the morning was a bit disappointing. All of the staff were friendly but the reception staff were especially nice.

Reviewed by
theresa l

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Over all the stay was very good - we had a twin bedded room which was clean and well presented. One of the beds could do with replacing however this did not have an overall effect on the stay.

Reviewed by
Tracy L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Memories
Having known the Sea Hotel for 40 years I decided to try it rather than a room only hotel. It worked out the same on cost but had a proper restaurant which more than compensated for the slightly tired accommodation.

Reviewed by
John K

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome stay
Customer service from the night porter bob was great would happily stay again

Reviewed by
M Russell

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A typical British seaside hotel
This hotel typifies everythign I love and dislike aobut the traditional british seaside hotel. I had a single room on the first floor, which for the money was perfectly adequate. However, the bed had a big dip in the middle, the hot water took ages to come through and was not much more than luke warm when it did, the windows rattled in the wind, but, the staff were excellent, very friendly, very helpful, and the hotel was in a great location

Reviewed by
L Stubbings

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super friendly and helpful staff
Room was v basic but fine for a short stopover

Reviewed by
Ali G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for short weekend break
Hotel nothing to look at from the outside but was ok inside, stag furniture in the room which might not be to everyone's taste. Very quiet and cracking breakfast.

Reviewed by
John B

From Longniddry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next