No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gloucester House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
96 The Esplanade, Weymouth, DT4 7AT
Gloucester House is believed to have been built in 1790 as a rather grand residence overlooking Weymouth Seafront and becoming a hotel as late as the 1960's. Now a family run Guest House, it is also a grade two listed building which forms part of the Esplanade; Weymouth's superb sweeping seafront with spectacular uninterrupted views of the bay.
Picture of Gloucester House, Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Thank you , lovely place to stay and a very warm and friendly owners

Reviewed by
Jason b

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly owners in cosy guesthouse
Very helpfull owners , clean and comfortable rooms excellent breakfast .
Very knowable people -we Got very good Info that we needed.

Reviewed by
s jensen

From guildford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The place is quite nice and clean. Stayed in a single room just for a night. the room size was ok, but the size of the bathroom surprised me pleasantly. The hosts were a nice couple and the location was good too.

Reviewed by
A Singh

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really lovely stay. very helpful hosts
excellent

Reviewed by
dot h

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Enjoyable
Wonderful, friendly and courteous service from moment of arrival to departure. Cannot recommend this highly enough. Geoff and Chris are the perfect b & b proprieters, nothing was too much trouble.
Ideal locations for all amenities will definitely be staying at Gloucester House again in the future.

Reviewed by
June C

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite a Mistake
This hotel needs an update. The owners are nice and friendly and they make a very tasty full English but this is where it all ends. Our room was not clean, the bathroom was old and needed a scrub and the only sink we've had was next to the bed! The room was definitely not the same with the one I thought I booked on this website. The hotel was also very noisy. I didn't want to put this review here as I don't want to hurt their business, the owners are really doing their best but it looks like it is not enough and after all I paid a huge amount of money for just two nights.

ManagementResponse

Dear guest, We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always strive to ensure that all guests staying with us are completely satisfied with our service and facilities. There are however points within your review which we strongly disagree with. The Guest House is a Grade II listed building and as such we are restricted in what we can do to upgrade the building. In the areas we are allowed to, we continually upgrade our rooms. On your arrival you mentioned that you had booked a sea view room and we had allocated a non sea view room. I immediately checked our paperwork from Laterooms and showed you your booking details that clearly stated that you had booked a non sea view room. This is clearly a mistake on your part and outside our control. You state that the room was not clean. We dispute this, as our standards of cleanliness are extremely high. We have NEVER had any guest comment or complain about the room not being clean, in fact quite the opposite. The room was cleaned and prepared and checked prior to your arrival as well as the next day, where your bed was remade, clean towels provided and the room hoovered. We are surprised that you did not mention to us directly that the room was not clean so that we could have investigated your concerns. The sink is situated in the bedroom area, however the positioning of it is not next to the bed but a clear 4 feet from the bottom of the bed. You also said that the Hotel was noisy. We have no control over the other Guests staying at the same time. Had you mentioned the noise at the time we would have spoken to the relative persons. You refer to our Guest House throughout your review as a Hotel. We are a 3 star Guest House. What is quite clear is that had you made us aware of your problems at the time we could have done something to help. We are confused that you found the cleanliness only worthy of a 1 star, yet it has taken nearly 3 months for you to post your comments!!

Reviewed by
Richard J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gloucester House
Very friendly and willing to help. Breakfasts could have had an earlier and wider availability tim. Variation of menu would have been more attractive.
A handle on the door of room 7 would have made it easier to open.

Reviewed by
R Vick

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was spotlessly clean, breakfast excellent and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, would recommend Gloucester House to anyone.

Reviewed by
Dawn S

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely spotless
Very nice couple,doing a very nice job
Thanks for an enjoyable break

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent. Can't fault it.
Brilliant location - handy for the beach, shops and station. We had a seaview room with a balcony, and noise at night, even with the window open, was normal - we could even hear the sea. If driving, make sure in advance that you book a free parking permit, because there are only a limited number. We were able to park in the back yard, but again space here is limited. Very welcoming and helpful owners.

Reviewed by
A White

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next