No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Trimnells House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Trimnells, Colerne, , Chippenham, SN14 8EP
Located in the village of Colerne, within a designated area of outstanding natural beauty, Trimnells House offers high quality accommodation in four spacious (17-21sq metre), versatile and distinctive guest bedrooms, each with their own en suite facilities. All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV including a DVD player. We offer 1-5 (+cot) person occupancy in our generously proportioned rooms which allow us to welcome families with well behaved children of all ages. Extra beds available. Free Wi Fi. Ample off road parking. A hearty English breakfast is included as standard. Multiple local discounts for guests include 10% off the Roman Baths and 3 for 2 hours at the Therma Spa. More here:- http://stayinbath.org/bigben Whilst the delights of Bath are close at hand, the village of Colerne itself offers many local amenities including a post office, shops and two traditional village pubs providing meals and refreshments......all within a five minute walk.Trimnells House is ideally placed for combining the enjoyment of rural England with the delights of exploring the areas rich and varied history. We are at the hub of Georgian Bath, Castle Coombe and Lacock, all about 6 miles away. Situated only 15 minutes drive from the M4 we are also within easy reach of Bristol & Swindon (30 minutes) and Cardiff & Cheltenham (1 hour). The international airports of Bristol, Cardiff, Birmingham & Heathrow are all less than an hour and a half away.
Picture of Trimnells House, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful location but just a bit weird
The village of Colerne like a lot of the surrounding area is really great, but first impressions of Trimnells were not great. You walk in and see a chair lift, an open kitchen door and an old style office with filing cabinets. And then the ground floor room - the ensuite facilities are fine, but pretty odd, the shower room feeling move like something you'd find in an old folks home - no steps and a strange arrangement of closing panels so that you don't have to step up.
The guys who run it are really nice, but it is old school. And quite pricy for what you get to be honest. My other half would probably have been less positive had she written this...

Reviewed by
Stewart C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trimnells House
Great accommodation in a very pretty village not far from Bath. Huge family room beautifully furnished and extremely clean and tidy. Lovely hosts and very accommodating as we needed breakfast earlier than their usual time slot. Great choice of breakfast - would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Melanie Dymond

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The personal touch
Having arrived at Trimnells I was first impressed by the house and the beautiful gardens. It was a picture of tranquillity and beauty. The proprietor couldn't have been friendlier and I felt incredibly at home and relaxed.
Unfortunately I had a personal crisis and the proprietors were extremely kind, helpful and supportive even offering advice that helped a lot.
A special find this one and I hope to return in the future during happier personal times.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Teshola

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcoming retreat. Quiet, relaxing and a perfect place to unwind. A place that caters for all with good facilities. Would love to return again.

Reviewed by
J Mansfield

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Fantastic b&b, clean, friendly, fantastic room, Victorian charm. Couldn't do enough to help!
Definitely at the top of my list if working in this area again - highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Jason B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable and relaxing girlie weekend
We were made very welcome at Trimnells House. The room we stayed in had a lovely ensuite, was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good and all our needs were catered for. Set in a lovely village very close to Bath so eating out in the evening was not a problem. I would recommend Trimnells House for an excellent stay.

Reviewed by
Janice H

From Sutton, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit out of the way, but worth a visit if you're in the area.
Booked as the nearest B&B to where we were having dinner with friends. Clean room with modern en suite shower room. Surprised to find 3 single beds as booked double (or so I thought) but owner offered immediately to convert to double while we were out. Went above and beyond customer service by driving us to dinner and collecting us afterwards as local taxi service wasn't available. Breakfast was fairly standard served in comfy dining room. No hurry to rush us away in the morning which was a welcome change from some places.

Reviewed by
Gill G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean but lacked character
Trimnells House was a lovely old house, well converted into guest accommodation. We were upgraded to a better room for which we were very grateful as we!re used to a king size bed. The furniture was lovely but the decor mismatched and colours clashed. We felt it was such a shame the curtains were inside the lovely old window and not either side of it to really make a feature of it. A little interior design guidance would have helped.
However, that said, we had a lovely stay and Sue and Mark were discreet hosts. The breakfast choice was good, though my husband would have liked there to have been a toaster so we could make our own toast and have it warm.
The bed was very comfortable, the room was warm and the towels soft and fluffy. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room too so all our needs were met.
All in all, a lovely stay, thank you

Reviewed by
Heather O

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice
I chose this b and b for easy access to Bath on a university visit. The house is lovely, the room large, the beds really comfortable. Tea making in the room, flat screen tv. Really friendly host very helpful, nice breakfast. Would definitely stay again, ideal for holiday. In lovely area pretty village. Also near Bathampton. Colerne has 2 pubs easy walk to eat.

Reviewed by
Andrea Holloway

From Surrey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Beautiful house and room, very welcoming. Extremely thoughtful touches, including excellent local recommendations for places to eat. Attractive, comfortable room with free wifi. Great garden for the children, and children made very welcome.

Reviewed by
D W

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next