No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Malvern Spa Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malvernspa Hotel Grovewood Road, Malvern, WR14 1GD
The first spa in Malvern since 1910, the luxurious MalvernSpa has been designed exclusively for adults by international developer John Williams. A true fusion of old and new, this contempoary retreat is as spectacular as it's surroundings, bringing almost 100 years of spa heritage to life once more in this historic spa town.Whether you are escaping the stresses and strains of modern life, or simply want to treat yourself to a little indulgence, you will find your sanctuary at MalvernSpa.

Nestled at the foot of the magnificent Malvern Hills in the heart of the Worcestershire countryside, MalvernSpa is the only spa in the UK to feature a 20-metre adjoining indoor to outdoor hydrotherapy pool filled with natural Malvern water sourced 200 metres deep below the ground. The ultimate natural experience, imagine gliding effortlessly around the pool as the warm bubbling waters gently massage your cares away.

And that’s not all. Our central location in the heart of England makes MalvernSpa easily accessible from most parts of the country, so you can leave the real world behind you for a few hours, a few days, or as long as it takes. Step inside and immerse yourself in our luxurious range of ESPA and REN signature treatments, holistic therapies, and exclusive spa experiences, energise your body and mind in our wellness centre, enjoy the very best cuisine, or simply relax, recline and unwind in one of our 32 boutique hotel bedrooms. An exclusive spa experience always awaits you at MalvernSpa.
Picture of The Malvern Spa Hotel, Malvern at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Christopher Duran

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and facilities
First class welcome, Very good access to Club facilities. We did not use the gym, which looked excellent, but having travelled for a number of hours took full advantage of ther spa pool and Sauna and Steam Room Facilities.
Visited Motgan Motor factory and Museum the next day, needed to come back and relax in the spa Pool and sauna.
Trying to convince the wife to allow me a weekend of a Morgan car while she has a repeat stay at the Spa.

Reviewed by
Gordon Craig

From Stranraer, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent choice of hotel
This was a superb place to unwind and enjoy the excellent facilities that the Malvern Spa had to offer. Although not the choice if you are looking for views over the Malvern Hills the hotel was excellent in all other ways. The staff were fantastic, the spa pool the warmest I have ever swam in and the food of very high quality (eating an evening meal one of the two nights that we stayed). Would definitely return when staying in Malvern again.

Reviewed by
S Schanschieff

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Couple only venue
Went last minute with the attraction being adult only. Spa facilities and pool excellent and whilst we didn't book treatments the rooms and facilities looked fabulous. The hotel rooms were very good. My only comment would be this is not a 'hotel' so no lounge area or bar area if you want to sit around in the late evening. Restaurant only with some additional seating. Having said that it was perfect for what we wanted and will certainly be going back - possibly with the ladies.

Reviewed by
Sandra C

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing day but not worth the money
had a lovely time nice relaxing day bit disappointed in the price of drinks and extra charge if you wanted dinner in room< also the room we stayed in 105 was really dusty really put me off visiting again i think for what you pay the rooms should be spotless

Reviewed by
j moyles

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, great location, room for improvement
I loved the setting, the spa and the overall ambience of the hotel, and was certainly very good value for money. I would certainly visit again and recommend to others, however I could see room for improvement. The room decor felt slightly dated and no frills. There were a few dead spiders in the windows, some chipped skirting boards and oddly, no fridge (although there seemed to be a space for one.) Also, during our stay, parts of the spa were not functional, including the foot spa area and one of the steam rooms.
Finally, there were limited massage treatments on the price list (seemed to be either a complete massage or nothing.)
Despite this, we enjoyed our stay and when it comes to high value, pleasant worcester hotels, we would definitely recommend Malvern Spa to others.

Reviewed by
Nick Brighton

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average room, poor bed, dreadful shower,

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3Choirs visit
I chose it for the convenience of acces to Worcester and the Malvern hills. For this it was very satisfactory

Reviewed by
MICHAEL WALKER

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, if not cheap, spa break for 2
This hotel is very nice - clean, modern and functional. Its main attraction is, of course, the spa facilities. The pool is wonderfully warm and relaxing, with a number of different jacuzzi and whirlpool treatments. We were able to stay in the outside section of the pool all afternoon given the wondeful weather. We also ate dinner at the hotel, which was delicious if rather pricey. Unfortunately, there isn't a huge amount of communal guest space at the hotel, which meant retiring to the room after dinner rather than sitting in a lounge or other guest area. But this didn't matter much as the room was very comfortable with a great big shower, tea and coffee facilities and a clean, crisp bed. The main recommendations are the spa facilities and the location - make sure you go into the cute village of Great Malvern and up to the top of the hills - it's an invigorating spot to take you away from the cares of the daily world.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So good we went back!
My wife and I stayed at the beginning of 2014 to celebrate her birthday (and to make her relax, she's one of those people for whom relaxing means dropping to 105%) and we had a really good stay. The only problem we had was the popularity of the spa treatments, which meant that we couldn't just book something on the day. So we went back again at the end of May for my birthday (and to make her relax!) but this time booked our treatments in plenty of advance.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist who quickly booked us in, checked that the restaurant was still serving and reserved a table for us, and also got me a kingsize robe (worth asking for if you're over 6ft tall, otherwise you look like you've borrowed one from a child!). We quickly popped to our room to drop our stuff off and went to eat. The maitre'd was of the quality I'd expect from a 5 star London place, and was both exceptionally friendly and helpful on top - and the other waiting staff were of equal friendliness and helpfulness. The food is divine, and while there is only 1 vegetarian option on the menu, you are invited to ask for something different if you wish and they will have alternatives. The meat dishes were of Michelin star quality, with slightly larger portions than you'd expect from poncey presentation and the cheese board was to die for, although probably better for sharing as the portions almost made me explode! Following this, we staggered to our room and settled down for the evening.
The rooms are again of an excellent quality - much better in presentation and standard than your average Premier Inn, but not with the over-embellishment of somewhere trying to look like the expensive price tag they charge. A good balance in my opinion. The mattress was very comfortable, something like a hybrid spring coil mattress with memory foam top layer, however I did have issues with the pillows as I couldn't find a comfortable one. That, however is my problem, I have a dicky shoulder and need a higher pillow to properly support my head, and I usually take one with me to hotels and forgot on this occasion. If the pillows worry you though, fear not as they have 3 different types to choose from and had I been bothered, I would probably have experimented!!
The spa facilities are inclusive in the price of the rooms, so what looks like an expensive room up front actually turns out to be good value. The bits you don't pay for - the pool (a lounging pool not big enough to swim lengths in, but lots of bubbly bits for dozens to sit in and all very warm!), 4 different types of sauna, hot and cold showers for post sauna, a foot spa area and lots of loungers to sleep on during the day! There is a gym but I'm not sure if that was in the price, me and gyms don't get on so we never investigated that big room. We stayed for 2 nights and on the full day, spent the whole day sitting by the pool, with the occasional sauna and dip, and popping through to the spa side of the restaurant to have lunch from the excellent menu.
My wife and I both had deep tissue massage treatments which were rather good, there were lots more treatments on offer but it's worth bearing in mind that the majority are aimed at pampering ladies, and the ones aimed at gentlemen I'm not vain enough to try!!
Checkout was also excellent, we intended to stay until lunchtime, eat there and head home. However checkout time is 11am so we asked and were given a midday checkout time - enough time for a few more hours in sauna and pool, use the room's shower then checkout, lunch and go. Again, the receptionist (a different one) couldn't have been more helpful.
All in all, this is an excellent establishment. What is effectively a gym/hotel/spa bundled together works really well, and is made that little bit more special by the people who work there and who are a credit to the spa. True it's not pretty on the outside but you're there for the facilities not the architecture, and having done Bath Spa with it's amazing views, I would choose Malvern every time. Hey, we live 5 miles away from the spa resort that the Welsh rugby team uses and we've not even thought to visit that!! We'll definitely be visiting again, and we've recommended the place to friends and family alike.
In a nutshell, don't overthink it, just visit this place!

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next