No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wild Duck Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
EWEN , CIRENCESTER, GL7 6BY
The Wild Duck is a quintessential Cotswold stone country inn dating from 1563, with a lovely courtyard garden for dining alfresco. In winter there are log fires. the dark red walls are adorned with big oil portraits, complimented with oak beams throughout. Good locally sourced food, real ales including our own micro brewery and extensive wine list. standard four posters up to the huge Chinese suite with a 10ft high four poster bed.

The Wild Duck is open every day of the week throughout the year, and this family run establishment aims to ensure a friendly comfortable atmosphere with good food and pleasing wines and ales. The Wild Duck provides traditional comfort with en suite rooms, all with wireless internet access, TV’s, , and tea/coffee making facilities. Some of the rooms are in the oldest part of the building and are furnished in four–poster style.

Pets are allowed, there is a £10 charge per night.

Within a mile, The Wild Duck is surrounded by the Cotswold Water Park, with 80 lakes providing fishing, swimming, sailing, water and jet–skiing, and the Thames Path National Trail (one of only 13 National Trails in England!). Polo is played regularly at Cirencester Park, Cheltenham hosts the Gold Cup Race Meeting, and there are the annual horse trials at Gatcombe Park and Badminton.

Picture of The Wild Duck Inn, CIRENCESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to feel welcome
In my job I travel a fair bit, normally staying at places like Premier Inn. As I had a job in the middle of nowhere I tried LateRooms and found The Wild Duck Inn, it was 3 miles from where I was working. Great!!!! On arrival I was greated politely and shown my room, the room was clean and presentable. Great!!. I went downstairs to the bar/Restuarant later for a meal and normally with places like Premier Inn etc, as you are a guest you are treated with the fake smile and all the bollocks. Well, this place is different, within minutes of sitting at the bar I was laughing and joking with not just the Staff but the locals. A really friendly and lively bar and restuarant. Food was to die for. They made me feel valued and wanted. The Landlady and her staff are fantastic, everyone was so very friendly. I will definently stay here again. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Neil Ward

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Room
Great room - 'Chinese' suite.
However let down a little by details: bit tired around the edges, white covers on sofa needed a wash, half a dozen remotes for various equipment but not all working.
Good food -
Have eaten here a number of times and food always been great. this time not quite with it. Steak not cooked as requested but they did compensate.
Service -
Needs to improve. A bit slow. Not given any detail of check out time or breakfast.
But overall still somewhere I'd stay again.

Reviewed by
John C

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What the duck,couldn't see the inn for the weeds,!
Room 8 was very cold and dark we were given a small fan heater after the central heating failed to come on as promised , very little natural light in the room as the windows were overgrown with climbing vegetation there was very little lighting in most of the inn for that matter which at times would be a serious health and safety issue, the bath room was out dated . Bath only no shower although you got a glass jug to rinse your hair with. Bed cover had a 8 inch stain on it, someone obviously got excited about the room at one point,one of the window panes had a cracking in it. Overall the advert showing the room was misleading as it only showed the bed and not the real state of decor or the Victoria bath room fittings , or the lack of. We complained to the manager and he said if we decided to leave he would not charge us and as I and my husband had had an alcoholic drink from the bar we were unfit to drive so the manager offered us a reduced price for the room £135.00 reduced to £95.00 The staff despite trying their best ran around like headless chickens trying to process customers at the bar and taking bookings for the accommodation. We were the first to attend breakfast which was really good value but found the staff experiencing difficulties processing our room price reduction maybe some training in multi tasking would work wonders. Unfortunately a very unpleasant nights stay at the wild duck. We most have been quackers to stay there.

Reviewed by
victoria page

From Greenford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint old pub
The pub itself is lovely. The room was ok and at £49 I was happy with the price. Of I paid the full price of £110 I would have been crying. Bed was lovely and the room was clean however the bathroom could have done with a good clean

Reviewed by
Jacqueline Levy

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We had an unlucky arrival, as reversing in the car park I hit a silly stone mushroom bordering
the car park and the flowerbed, thus damaging my car. Room was no. 11, advertised as very small, however it was bigger than most of budget hotels, especially London ones. In the morning it was quite chilly and rather damp so tried to switch on the heather (no instructions available).
It seemed to be not working. Bed and bedding were all right.
Shower cubicle was very mouldy and took a while to regulate the power/temp.
Door handle to the bathroom missing/door partly split. Very difficult to open cupboard at the side of the bed. There is no reception, you have to go to the pub and wait for the bar staff to finish serving beers. Had to ask replenishment of sugar for the room facilities.

Reviewed by
Giovanni B

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Friendly Staff, Room quality very poor, not very clean, no internet, very poor mobile signal....Good food.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cotswolds retreat
Cirencester and its villages - my favourite part of the Cotswolds complemented by a stay in this 16th Century B&B that adds to the character of the area.

Reviewed by
Donald Towey

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great potential - poorly managed
My biggest complaint is that Laterooms confirmed my booking by email for 2 nights - only for the hotel to subsequently come back to me to tell me that they had since had another booking through their own website and that my booking was now invalid. Not good enough. A confirmation to the customer should be exactly that. I ended up staying only for 1 night and that turned out to be a blessing. No stand up shower. Unclean room. Tired and poor quality. Such a shame as this is a beautiful building in a beautiful setting.
The food at dinner was actually very nice (compliments to the chef) but the service was appalling. Took over an hour to get our starters. By the time we had finished our mains we had been there 2.5 hours. Other tables had the same experience and there was an air of frustration throughout the whole restaurant.
Won't be coming back and won't recommend. Sorry. I have never yet posted on these feedback sites before but felt so strongly in this instance that I had to.

Reviewed by
Benjamin M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
As we had the cheapest room, we did not expect high quality, clean and ok for 1 night

Reviewed by
G White

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, fab food & wines but bedroom poor
Overall our overnight stay experience was good as the staff, food, wine & beer made it for us. We would certainly eat here again. The double bedroom however was very worn and weary and the bathroom was in desperate need of a clean up and lick of paint. The rusty sink unit, chipped bowl and loose tap wasn't quaint, just unkept. Great shame as the room let the overall stay down. Thanks to great staff and food though to save the day. Accommodation scores would have been much lower had we paid full list price rather than Late rooms price.

Reviewed by
Julie R

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next