No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Hotel Swanage

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Road , Swanage, BH19 1LU
The Grand Hotel nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck, commanding a majestic situation providing a most spectacular view across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point. Many of the rooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views, where you can relax enjoying a drink, read complimentary newspapers and magazines. All 30 bedrooms are individually decorated complementing the ambience of a time gone by. A lift serves all floors including lower ground where there are full leisure facilities.

All bedrooms are individually styled and furnished in keeping with the ambience of the surroundings, some of which enjoy wonderful seaviews. Rooms also offer; tea and coffee making facilities, colour television, hairdryers and telephones. FREE WI-FI IS ALSO AVAILABLE THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL.

The Restaurant offers fine cuisine, using only the best of fresh local produce to give exciting and innovative cuisine indulging the palate in mouth watering delight. Also there is an extensive bar list on offer in addition to the restaurant menu. The Cocktail Lounge offers a cosy view of the bay and is equipped with deep comfortable sofas where guests can sit back and enjoy all there is to offer, including a large variety of beers, lagers, ciders and keg bitter. Also a large selection of red and white wines, plus sparkling wine and champagne.

Burlington Health and Fitness Club located on the lower ground floor of the hotel includes a plunge pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, aerobics machines and extensive weight room, which are free of charge for guests to use. Also there is an array of holistic and traditional massage along with a complete selection of beauty treatments are offered by fully qualified masseurs and beauticians. Aerobics classes for different age groups take place throughout the week (please check for times and availability), and the ping pong table is always ready to use.

Dorset and the Isle of Purbeck offer so many great days out, if your feeling adventurous you can enjoy rolling down a hill in a giant inflatable plastic ball (a Zorb), hiking along the renowned Jurassic coast line, visiting the many historic sites and landmarks, or tasting the award-winning Chococo chocolate at their factory and shop located minutes away in the town centre. Also Poole and Bournemouth are just a short distance. The most difficult thing will be deciding where to go first. PLEASE NOTE CHECK IN ON SUNDAYS IS 3:00PM
Picture of Grand Hotel Swanage, Swanage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
A lovely hotel by the sea. Our first stay, staff were all very polite and helpful. Krissy, was particularly kind and friendly to us.
Car parking is limited but we were able to get round this. We will return.

Reviewed by
T Tipple

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Room had a lovely view over Swanage bay. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Difficult to park at hotel but found parking in the road near by.

Reviewed by
Joan W

From High Wycombe , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent view and location but you can forget about the rest
When I told the receptionist upon arrival that a friend had recommended their dinner she replied saying that this was on a previous night and she could vouch for us. I wish I had heeded her warning. Food was OK but service was dreadful, mostly because they were not attentive, had no knowledge of wine and I can only presume had not been sufficiently trained or informed.
The room furniture and decorations were very dated and did not match each other, the curtain was very thin making the room very light in the morning. The bathroom was very dated, small and the water pressure low. The restaurant and bar area is also in dire need of refurbishment. We will never return until the hotel has been refurbished and is managed better

Reviewed by
Clive B

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant experience!
I booked and paid £143 for a twin room for me and my young daughter, as a family room wasn't available when we stayed, at the end of August.
On arrival one immediately notices the quality of the hotel and the layout. And the view of Swanage from the rear is a real picture! Unfortunately, the the reason why you might have seen the view so quickly is because of waiting for someone on reception to become available after being on the phone to a supplier discussing prices for so long!
The room was comfortable, clean linen, not dusty, and all the basic toiletries and in-room tea making facilities. It was warm and the windows don't open far at all. It would have been lovely to have let the sound of the sea enter freely. The room didn't have a bath, just a shower with some very 70's slide'y doors.
It was a lovely walk into Swanage, not too far, and a really nice path and staircase down to the beach from the hotel. So easy access to some great pubs and restaurants.
The hotel facilities were super. Especially the swimming pool and hot-tub. It was disappointing that the pool hours meant it wasn't open the next morning until 9:15! We were ready for a swim at 7:30! The restaurant was really superb as was the food we had. The breakfast was alright, nothing to complain at. Good job too because I don't think many spoke English anyway.
You definitely pay for the view and location plus facilities. I would go back for sure.

Reviewed by
Charles

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The main problem was the lack of staff. Told to wait for half an hour after 2pm before I could checkin, even though I had arrived 5 hours earlier. I had made use of the spa, which was good, but to be told I should go and have a cup of tea on the terrace when all I really wanted to do was lie down was a bit much. No aircon. The room and hotel was unbearably hot .Doves and pigeons were perched on the window ledge leaving their mess and coming into the room. At 7pm we were told to wait 3/4 hour before we could order food.My children were starving. Didn't eat till 8.45 and food was stingy like they had run out of basics and not good quality. Waiter was efficient and polite though as were the staff generally although one bar man was rude and surely and reprimanded me for not ordering food and drink in the correct order. Like I knew! Overall a bizarre Faulty Towers experience and certainly not worth the money before discount or after .Garden was dirty with cigarette ends and the 'faded Grandeur' was sadly cheap and shabby. On a positive, the beach was very handy and location was relaxing with a good view from the Garden. The hotel could be so much better but it just felt neglected and I felt sorry for the staff.

Reviewed by
Frances Lee

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, few steps away from the beach
Second time we have stayed. Lovely location, few steps away from the beach, beautiful views from the room, friendly staff and good café/bar at the bottom of the steps on the beach.,,what's not to like!

Reviewed by
Joanne H

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Repeat visit assured
Just our kind of lovely Victorian Hotel. Superb location above the beach. A short walk to town. Bar meal and breakfast excellent with attentive staff. We will return and the only drawback is limited car parking on site.

Reviewed by
Frank D

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Grand View
After reading some other reviews we were a little wary but thought as you couldn't please everyone all the time, we'd give the hotel a go. And pleased we did! The staff were very polite and helpful, the breakfast was adequate and as it is called ' The Grand Hotel' we weren't expecting modern decoration and furnishing, the whole atmosphere of the place was exactly what we expected. We didn't try the spa as we were only staying for a couple of days and wanted to explore Swanage, there is plenty to do and see in the local area and we will be going back again ( for a longer stay). The view from the garden on a sunny morning is worth the stay alone- you could easily sit there all day and not get bored. The only problem- pigeons!!! Be warned however hot the room gets, do not be tempted to leave the window open overnight; you will have guests in the morning waking you up horrendously early!!!

Reviewed by
Sarah R

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Views
It was lovely but the bedrooms could be better, the shower was a trickle and the radiator in the bathroom was on permanently no matter how many times we asked, it was very hot weather. The mattresses need to be more comfortable.
Very good welcome and helpful.
The service in the breakfast was very pleasant and welcoming.
Beautiful area, lovely views and enough to do it is worth a visit.

Reviewed by
J Robinson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very sad
The only time my partner and I could get away, hotel was outdated. service on par with fawlty towers,have had no reply to complaint email. fine if you like pigeon poo, rat traps, sauna like rooms with 70,s furniture. Never again!!

Reviewed by
J Wingar

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next