No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Hotel Swanage

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Road , Swanage, BH19 1LU
The Grand Hotel nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck, commanding a majestic situation providing a most spectacular view across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point. Many of the rooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views, where you can relax enjoying a drink, read complimentary newspapers and magazines. All 30 bedrooms are individually decorated complementing the ambience of a time gone by. A lift serves all floors including lower ground where there are full leisure facilities.

All bedrooms are individually styled and furnished in keeping with the ambience of the surroundings, some of which enjoy wonderful seaviews. Rooms also offer; tea and coffee making facilities, colour television, hairdryers and telephones. FREE WI-FI IS ALSO AVAILABLE THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL.

The Restaurant offers fine cuisine, using only the best of fresh local produce to give exciting and innovative cuisine indulging the palate in mouth watering delight. Also there is an extensive bar list on offer in addition to the restaurant menu. The Cocktail Lounge offers a cosy view of the bay and is equipped with deep comfortable sofas where guests can sit back and enjoy all there is to offer, including a large variety of beers, lagers, ciders and keg bitter. Also a large selection of red and white wines, plus sparkling wine and champagne.

Burlington Health and Fitness Club located on the lower ground floor of the hotel includes a plunge pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, aerobics machines and extensive weight room, which are free of charge for guests to use. Also there is an array of holistic and traditional massage along with a complete selection of beauty treatments are offered by fully qualified masseurs and beauticians. Aerobics classes for different age groups take place throughout the week (please check for times and availability), and the ping pong table is always ready to use.

Dorset and the Isle of Purbeck offer so many great days out, if your feeling adventurous you can enjoy rolling down a hill in a giant inflatable plastic ball (a Zorb), hiking along the renowned Jurassic coast line, visiting the many historic sites and landmarks, or tasting the award-winning Chococo chocolate at their factory and shop located minutes away in the town centre. Also Poole and Bournemouth are just a short distance. The most difficult thing will be deciding where to go first. PLEASE NOTE CHECK IN ON SUNDAYS IS 3:00PM
Picture of Grand Hotel Swanage, Swanage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

misleading
We booked a superior room. The Grand hotel does not have superior rooms. Although the room we stayed in was nice, with spectacular views,it does not rate a 3 star hotel. Food was average - nothing special, including the high tea - bit boring actually. Microwave warmed scones and had to go searchingfor refills on coffee. The views from the conservatory were spectacular though and well worth the stay. Overall a bit tired but excellent views.

Reviewed by
Caryl N

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel Swanage
Booked for Valentine's treat, fantastic views, clean room, a bit disappointed spa not open till 10am on Sunday as chose this hotel for facilities. Food in restaurant very good and served an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
lynne r

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
We have stayed at The Grand many times over the years and it is always very relaxing. My husband and I feel very welcome each time we stay there. The staff are very courteous and friendly. If we feel like going somewhere to unwind, The Grand is where we head for stress free comfort. Always loathe to leave but work usually beckons. Roll on the next break when we can enjoy another Grand welcome.

Reviewed by
Carol K

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter Visitor
This was overall an excellent place for us to stay. The staff made us very welcome and service was diligently carried out. The hotel was clean and pleasantly decorated, though it has an ambience of faded grandeur from an earlier time of imposing bustle. Car Parking was fine though could have been an issue in a busier part of the season.
The food was good and mostly well cooked. The roast potatoes however were a little hard on the outside and raw in the centre. Breakfast sausages seemed to have impenetrable skins.
We greatly enjoyed our short stay and would love to return for longer. The hotel is strategically placed for walks to the beach and town of Swanage as well as for exploring this lovely part of Dorset

Reviewed by
John O

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a grand hotel!
We found the Grand Hotel a very comfortable and pleasing place to stay. The staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Facilities are very good and the location is perfect with amazing views of the beautiful bay.

Reviewed by
sylvia okey

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't fault our stay. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Food was superb. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
H Clark

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Lovely place, full of friendly staff. Warmly recommend this place. will definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Marius F

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very small, but for the price I paid could not complain, but would have not been happy at the full price, breakfast good and nice location, staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Raymond U

From Eltham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great as always
Love this hotel. Only disappointment was the pool not working. Staff are helpful, friendly and made me feel at home.

Reviewed by
Su E

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel Swanage
My partner and I have stayed at The Grand before as Swanage is one of our happy little places. Most of my summers have been spent in the sea side town and around The Grand. Though it is not quite as grand as it perhaps used to be it still has everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The staff are all lovely, helpful and greet you like a returning friend. They remember your face and make your stay the best it can be. We spent our stay running around after my son Noah who is now just over sixteen months old, when we needed some milk heated for him the staff didn't quibble and made a lovely fuss of him. The breakfast is superb with an array of continental choices along side the traditional full English. The room is very clean and tidy with everything you need, though it is not the most up to date part of the hotel, it is well maintained and looked after.
All in all a fantastic place with the most amazing views and retaining some of the Victorian charm that once gave it its name.
A lovely stay and well recommended in summer time or winter.

Reviewed by
Paul Acreman

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next