No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Hotel Swanage

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Burlington Road , Swanage, BH19 1LU
The Grand Hotel nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck, commanding a majestic situation providing a most spectacular view across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point. Many of the rooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views, where you can relax enjoying a drink, read complimentary newspapers and magazines. All 30 bedrooms are individually decorated complementing the ambience of a time gone by. A lift serves all floors including lower ground where there are full leisure facilities.

All bedrooms are individually styled and furnished in keeping with the ambience of the surroundings, some of which enjoy wonderful seaviews. Rooms also offer; tea and coffee making facilities, colour television, hairdryers and telephones. FREE WI-FI IS ALSO AVAILABLE THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL.

The Restaurant offers fine cuisine, using only the best of fresh local produce to give exciting and innovative cuisine indulging the palate in mouth watering delight. Also there is an extensive bar list on offer in addition to the restaurant menu. The Cocktail Lounge offers a cosy view of the bay and is equipped with deep comfortable sofas where guests can sit back and enjoy all there is to offer, including a large variety of beers, lagers, ciders and keg bitter. Also a large selection of red and white wines, plus sparkling wine and champagne.

Burlington Health and Fitness Club located on the lower ground floor of the hotel includes a plunge pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, aerobics machines and extensive weight room, which are free of charge for guests to use. Also there is an array of holistic and traditional massage along with a complete selection of beauty treatments are offered by fully qualified masseurs and beauticians. Aerobics classes for different age groups take place throughout the week (please check for times and availability), and the ping pong table is always ready to use.

Dorset and the Isle of Purbeck offer so many great days out, if your feeling adventurous you can enjoy rolling down a hill in a giant inflatable plastic ball (a Zorb), hiking along the renowned Jurassic coast line, visiting the many historic sites and landmarks, or tasting the award-winning Chococo chocolate at their factory and shop located minutes away in the town centre. Also Poole and Bournemouth are just a short distance. The most difficult thing will be deciding where to go first. PLEASE NOTE CHECK IN ON SUNDAYS IS 3:00PM
Picture of Grand Hotel Swanage, Swanage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Lovely place, full of friendly staff. Warmly recommend this place. will definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Marius F

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very small, but for the price I paid could not complain, but would have not been happy at the full price, breakfast good and nice location, staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Raymond U

From Eltham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great as always
Love this hotel. Only disappointment was the pool not working. Staff are helpful, friendly and made me feel at home.

Reviewed by
Su E

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand Hotel Swanage
My partner and I have stayed at The Grand before as Swanage is one of our happy little places. Most of my summers have been spent in the sea side town and around The Grand. Though it is not quite as grand as it perhaps used to be it still has everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The staff are all lovely, helpful and greet you like a returning friend. They remember your face and make your stay the best it can be. We spent our stay running around after my son Noah who is now just over sixteen months old, when we needed some milk heated for him the staff didn't quibble and made a lovely fuss of him. The breakfast is superb with an array of continental choices along side the traditional full English. The room is very clean and tidy with everything you need, though it is not the most up to date part of the hotel, it is well maintained and looked after.
All in all a fantastic place with the most amazing views and retaining some of the Victorian charm that once gave it its name.
A lovely stay and well recommended in summer time or winter.

Reviewed by
Paul Acreman

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

swanage business trip
Good breakfast and room. Bit of a faff at reception when leaving (Late Rooms bookings had a different system at this hotel to regular bookings, which resulted in confusion) but aside from that was good.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely location but....
just wish i had have known about not being able to use the restaurant on the Saturday night due a large booking using the restaurant. i wasn't advised in advance and only advised on booking in, otherwise could have pre booked somewhere else for the Saturday night in advance

Reviewed by
Katherine T

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location!

Reviewed by
L EDWARDS

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good ,a bit draft from window
I think summer time it's very good place to stay.

Reviewed by
arunas m

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let the waves lull you to sleep
Lovely old hotel minutes from the beach with a family friendly atmosphere and home cooked food. Didn't want to leave and will definitely come back.

Reviewed by
S LESCHEN

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
A lovely hotel by the sea. Our first stay, staff were all very polite and helpful. Krissy, was particularly kind and friendly to us.
Car parking is limited but we were able to get round this. We will return.

Reviewed by
T Tipple

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next