Wyck Hill House Hotel and Spa

4

Wyck Hill House, A424 Burford Road, Stow on the Wold, GL54 1HY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (56)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • john preece

  • May 2015

Lovely Cotswolds

Wyck House is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.

Room was very spacious and comfortable. Lighting a bit dim so difficult to read in bed otherwise great stay.

  • Richard T

  • April 2015

Well located, old worldly charm with a few quirks

We are a couple with young children and on arrival we were provided with two connecting rooms having booked a garden room which was a bonus for parents and children.

Spacious main bedroom, well appointed to the garden and countryside views. The rooms were in need of minor maintenance in particular the window casement operation and showers which dripped continuously and the temperature control was a challenge. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stephen C

  • April 2015

break away

Big generous room, with a pair of twin beds bolted together to make a king size bed.

The building needed some TLC. Wallpaper in bathroom was peeling exterior areas need cleaning

  • Neil M

  • March 2015

IT COULD BE GOOD

The best part of this stay was the entrance to the hotel and spa site although the car park is difficult to use and poorly lit.

After that, it went down hill quickly. The receptionist was wonderful correcting a mistake I made by booking a twin room and not a double. House-keeping sorted that out quickly. However having been told that the restaurant was fully booked, and there is nowhere suitable to sit and eat in the bar (the tables are too low) off we went to the local town (even though we'd have preferred a quiet night in). It was also very noticeable that behind the bar the mirror was filthy - probably not having seen a clean cloth in months. On our return, the promised chocolates and wine that would have been a romantic gesture was missing from the room - glad I wasn't trying to make a great first impression. - however, this was brought to us when we notified reception. Whilst the beds were comfortable and the "basement" quiet, the large room was soulless, poorly decorated and with mould and damp in the bathroom - which then turned out to be unusable in the morning when there was no power and lighting. This also meant the corridors were dark and difficult the see in, made worse when the hallway (the fire escape route) was largely blocked by the Spa's laundry collection and a large "trolley" at the top of the stairs. Nice to know the guests are "cared for". Great safety (not). Even worse, breakfast was a fiasco. My scrambled egg had seen better times (probably three days before me), whilst my wife's didn't look as if it had seen the cooker. Moreover the waiting staff were less than impressive. Not only was my "full English" missing ingredients - no offer to replace the bacon was made - but one guest next to us, having waited to get a drink and order food, was told "you'll have to wait" when he requested some service from one member of staff - who all appeared to be European with poor language skills. I doubt anything would convince us to try this again - another couple clearly were trying it again following their prior poor experience - but don't appear to be willing to do so again (overhearing their complaint when we checked out). Be ready for a disappointment if you choose to stay here

  • david blunt

  • March 2015

Days away in the cotswolds.

Room very good, bathroom dated, shower control not good

  • David W

  • March 2015

Like Downton Abbey!

We travelled as a group of 5 gents, staying at Wyck Hill whilst attending Cheltenham races for a couple of days.

We found this hotel to be incredibly accommodating and fit for purpose despite being about 20 miles away from Cheltenham itself. The bedroom was large, the food (breakfast) was excellent and the bar was well stocked. All in all this hotel comes highly recommended.

  • T Barrett

  • March 2015

Wyck Hill House Hotel and Spa

Couldn't fault our stay at all!

  • S Riley

  • February 2015

Stop over

Can't fault anything absolutely spot on.

  • S Lynn

  • February 2015

Wyck Hill Louse

We enjoyed a very relaxing stay here, excellent breakfasts and dinners and cosy log fires in the public rooms.

Our room was very large with lovely views over the gardens and the beds comfortable. Minor points - the bathroom decor needed refreshing and there was no electric point within reach of a mirror when using the hairdrier.

  • Mark B

  • December 2014

Big room but needs more furniture!

Stayed in an executive room in the courtyard.

Nice big room but lacking furniture. Very small desk which just about accommodated my laptop. Two comfy chairs but no table and the lighting consisted of two bedside lamps and a light above the mirror so one end of the room was always in darkness. The wifi was not working due to a technical fault.

Breakfast was very good, good quality food but earliest it started was 7:30am so I had to rush as had to be at work at 8 am. All in all it is a nice hotel in a nice location but not really set up to cater for business travelers.