Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn



Price From 181.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (139)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Higson

  • September 2015

Noise factor

We had room 3.

3 and 4 are on the front of pub over busy road. Single glazing meant every street noise was heard - no escape. We met prior occupants of room 3 who had asked to move to a rear room after 1 night.

  • John D

  • September 2015

The Bay Horse Inn

Lovely wee place 👍🏼

  • Lesley Haddock

  • August 2015

Theatre stay

Excellent accommodation, cleanest place we have stayed.

Very friendly staff and would go back again.

  • david s

  • August 2015

Work in progress

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived and allowed to check in early.

The room and bathroom were very clean although the carpet had quite a few stains. The new owner explained that they were gradually making improvements.

Our room was at the front of the pub and very noisy throughout the night but we were warned about this. Breakfast consisted of cereal, fruit juice, toast and a full English. However when I asked for brown bread I was told that they only have white. A choice, I feel is essential.

  • Wendy B

  • August 2015

The Bay Horse Inn

We stayed for one night for a wedding.

I emailed in advance to ask if we could check in early. When we arrived our room was ready and the owners were were friendly and accommodating. We were also allowed to keep our car on the car park the day after to look round York. The room was a big size with a roll top bath. Personally I prefer a shower but there was plenty of hot water so not a huge issue. The only issue was the room was at the front of the pub so quite a lot of noise from the busy road. I didn't hear a thing but my husband was kept awake by it. Overall good location and friendly owners. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Helen G

  • July 2015

Very convenient location

Lovely large room with very clean ensuite bathroom.

Very warm, friendly and helpful landlord and landlady. Only five minutes' walk to York Station and seven to the town centre. Numerous eateries in the vicinity; also local shop with extended hours. Comfortable bed and full English breakfast. This is an historic and central pub B and B with parking. The price for this convenience is traffic noise at night, but we were very happy as the situation suited our needs very well. The old pub is beautiful.

  • M Kell

  • July 2015

York Trip

Excellent room ,very clean and roomy, easy access to town centre.

  • i hulse

  • July 2015

The Bay Horse Inn

Libby and Dave were very friendly and greeted us with a warm welcome, great full English each morning with a selection of newspapers available also.

Lovely old building with bags of character.

  • Bruno S

  • July 2015

A Great Place To Stay

If you are looking for a central location, stress free parking, warm and friendly customer service, a comfortable nights sleep, a good breakfast and good value for money then look no further as this is what we had at the Bay Horse.

Will definitely go back when visiting York.

  • Stuart M

  • July 2015

last minute

New owners and was slightly disappointed as the pictures on LateRooms did not reflect what was there, looking a little tired, no food served and bar in need of make over.

if I had paid £40 would have expected what I got but over priced at £75