No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
55 BLOSSOM STREET , YORK, YO24 1AZ
Our cosy pub dates back to the 17th century and has many of its original features in both the pub and the bedrooms which embraces the essence of The Bay Horse - sloping floors, grand beams, original fireplaces envelop this traditional English pub. Our locals and guests enjoy varied entertainment, from quiz nights, poker nights, darts nights, live sporting events and live music. We aim to bring a warm and lively atmosphere to everyone who walks through our doors, if you simply want a quiet drink we have a relaxed snug area to enjoy and a hidden gem of a beer garden to the rear which is a lovely suntrap in the summer. Six Real Ale pumps ensure you get a great selection of real ales, both locally and nationally brewed, along with a fine selection of wines on offer.

Our B&B is superbly located 5 minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes walk to the city centre. For race goers we are only 15 minutes walk to the famous York Racecourse, ideal for the race meetings or any events at the venue. Anyone stopping for business meetings in York can benefit from easy access to our B&B from the A64.

We have four en-suite rooms and one detached en-suite room. Rooms have recently been fully refurbished to an exremely high standard. All rooms include TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries. All rates include a full English breakfast.

We have our own small carpark to the rear, with a designated parking space for each bedroom.
Picture of The Bay Horse Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value | Comfortable room | Great location
The pub was easy to find (just 2 mins from the station) and has a car park to the rear which avoided the stress of trying to find parking.
We were pleasantly surprised when we went into our room... It had everything you'd find in your standard chain hotel room but with more personality. I only hit my head on the low beam once ;)
The bathroom was extremely large and we would definitely consider coming to stay here again due to the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the room! It was nice being able to walk into York knowing we didn't have far to come back at the end of the day.
The cooked breakfast was a good size and fresh coffee was on offer too along with a range of cereals.
I had read reviews complaining of noise from the road - we were in a room at the front and apart from the odd car racing down the street, we didn't find this an issue at all! It's what you'd expect being in such a central location.
All-in-all an excellent find!

Reviewed by
James L

From Normanton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Comfortable room

Reviewed by
christine e

From Settle, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bay Horse Inn
Warm welcome from Charlotte...room warm and nicely furnished.bed,quilt etc very comfortable.large bathroom with plenty of hot water.enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar which was quiet due to time of year.bar could do with an upgrade though it had character/nice feel.more than adequate breakfast served with a smile! Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
D Mclernon

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming excellent location and value for york
Stayed here for one night. Very welcoming and made our visit to york easy. car parking at pub so no trouble with holiday traffice. Nice room. white linen and lovely goose feather quilt. Room a little noisy but to be expected in an old hotel by road (we were at the front rear rooms may be quieter). Downstairs pub area needs some TLC but the people make up for this. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Di M

From Notts, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and friendly value for money
Very nice and friendly short walk into the city centre would stay again

Reviewed by
derek ball

From ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for a night out in York
Spent the night in the Superior Double suite, had a very pleasant stay, room was very spacious and a huge bathroom as well.
Breakfast was included and was very good, would definitely recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Alan Fenwick

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas in york 2014
The room was very clean and just five mins walk from centre of york and train station.Breakfast was fantastic .

Reviewed by
martin abraham

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great 2 day break December 2014
Great size bedroom, warm welcome on arrival, good breakfast to start the day. Car park space for each room. Great location easy access on foot for all York has to offer. A great 2 day break. Never stayed in a pub usually do premier inn but was glad we stayed here.

Reviewed by
Beverley Duffy

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
A great little pub very close to the station. Public areas are tired but bedrooms were good, nicely decorated although the some aspects were not up to standard, but this was not a problem. Beds comfy, rooms clean and fresh . Excellent value for money. We will be back

Reviewed by
margaret w

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't used the Post ode for your sat nav
Enter the address, as the postcode takes you up a very narrow dead end street with cars parked both sides .... Breathe in. This pub has recently changed hands and it is clear that the new owners are striving to improve the place. Our superior room was very cosy, with a large bed and all the usual stuff including nice biscuits. There was a separate dressing area and a bathroom with a free standing bath. We later noticed that there was a separate shower room down the hall. No shower gel in the room but plenty of soap. The owner was very friendly and we received a very warm welcome, and it was one of the few places in York that would accept a one night booking. It's very handy for town just a 10 minute stroll. Breakfast was plentiful and you could have whatever you wanted. All in all a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Stephanie S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next