No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
55 BLOSSOM STREET , YORK, YO24 1AZ
Our cosy pub dates back to the 17th century and has many of its original features in both the pub and the bedrooms which embraces the essence of The Bay Horse - sloping floors, grand beams, original fireplaces envelop this traditional English pub. Our locals and guests enjoy varied entertainment, from quiz nights, poker nights, darts nights, live sporting events and live music. We aim to bring a warm and lively atmosphere to everyone who walks through our doors, if you simply want a quiet drink we have a relaxed snug area to enjoy and a hidden gem of a beer garden to the rear which is a lovely suntrap in the summer. Six Real Ale pumps ensure you get a great selection of real ales, both locally and nationally brewed, along with a fine selection of wines on offer.

Our B&B is superbly located 5 minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes walk to the city centre. For race goers we are only 15 minutes walk to the famous York Racecourse, ideal for the race meetings or any events at the venue. Anyone stopping for business meetings in York can benefit from easy access to our B&B from the A64.

We have four en-suite rooms and one detached en-suite room. Rooms have recently been fully refurbished to an exremely high standard. All rooms include TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries. All rates include a full English breakfast.

We have our own small carpark to the rear, with a designated parking space for each bedroom.
Picture of The Bay Horse Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great 2 day break December 2014
Great size bedroom, warm welcome on arrival, good breakfast to start the day. Car park space for each room. Great location easy access on foot for all York has to offer. A great 2 day break. Never stayed in a pub usually do premier inn but was glad we stayed here.

Reviewed by
Beverley Duffy

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
A great little pub very close to the station. Public areas are tired but bedrooms were good, nicely decorated although the some aspects were not up to standard, but this was not a problem. Beds comfy, rooms clean and fresh . Excellent value for money. We will be back

Reviewed by
margaret w

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't used the Post ode for your sat nav
Enter the address, as the postcode takes you up a very narrow dead end street with cars parked both sides .... Breathe in. This pub has recently changed hands and it is clear that the new owners are striving to improve the place. Our superior room was very cosy, with a large bed and all the usual stuff including nice biscuits. There was a separate dressing area and a bathroom with a free standing bath. We later noticed that there was a separate shower room down the hall. No shower gel in the room but plenty of soap. The owner was very friendly and we received a very warm welcome, and it was one of the few places in York that would accept a one night booking. It's very handy for town just a 10 minute stroll. Breakfast was plentiful and you could have whatever you wanted. All in all a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Stephanie S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice comfy warm room No 2. Toilet very noisy when flushed(fitted with a macerater). Breakfast very nice and filling and hotel within walking distance of the main attractions.

Reviewed by
david c

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but noisy!
We stayed in room 2. The room was lovely with a very comfy bed (and I mean comfy) – the rate was cheap considering it was a 5 minute walk into the centre (£65 for a double room on a Friday night) but the only thing letting it down was the toilet system – imagine a ship horn sounding numerous times per night as the sani-flow system sets in which woke me up about three times. The windows also could be double glazed as we could hear people talking as though we literally had the window open which kept us awake (and we got in late ourselves).

Reviewed by
v monks

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bay Horse excellent
Myself and my husband booked the Bay Horse Inn a couple of months ago and were concerned when we found out that the original tenants had changed over the last month. Although the new tenants are clearly starting a fresh the rooms, breakfast and friendliness were excellent and really helped make the break the best we have had. The location is perfect with a 10 minute walk into York Centre and the parking on site made life so much easier. Overall we would definitely return.

Reviewed by
David H

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice friendly atmosphere and very helpful staff. Great looking pub below and chic bedroom.

Reviewed by
D Harding

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice little pub
nice pub very friendly staff made to feel very welcome and would stay again

Reviewed by
d shaw

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely lovely
Really friendly and welcoming landlord, shame he was having to leave the premises.

Reviewed by
k tyler

From okehampton, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Excellent stay, rooms clean and comfortable, enjoyed breakfast and Landlord James welcoming and very helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend

Reviewed by
Sally A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next