No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Inn

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
55 BLOSSOM STREET , YORK, YO24 1AZ
Our cosy pub dates back to the 17th century and has many of its original features in both the pub and the bedrooms which embraces the essence of The Bay Horse - sloping floors, grand beams, original fireplaces envelop this traditional English pub. Our locals and guests enjoy varied entertainment, from quiz nights, poker nights, darts nights, live sporting events and live music. We aim to bring a warm and lively atmosphere to everyone who walks through our doors, if you simply want a quiet drink we have a relaxed snug area to enjoy and a hidden gem of a beer garden to the rear which is a lovely suntrap in the summer. Six Real Ale pumps ensure you get a great selection of real ales, both locally and nationally brewed, along with a fine selection of wines on offer.

Our B&B is superbly located 5 minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes walk to the city centre. For race goers we are only 15 minutes walk to the famous York Racecourse, ideal for the race meetings or any events at the venue. Anyone stopping for business meetings in York can benefit from easy access to our B&B from the A64.

We have four en-suite rooms and one detached en-suite room. Rooms have recently been fully refurbished to an exremely high standard. All rooms include TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries. All rates include a full English breakfast.

We have our own small carpark to the rear, with a designated parking space for each bedroom.
Picture of The Bay Horse Inn, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Very enjoyable stay, hosts very accommodating. Nice atmospheric pub

Reviewed by
Adam T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average Stay
Having read the reviews my expectations were quite high of the excellent breakfast as commented on. The breakfast was a disappointment, average to say the least, tinned tomatoes, no brown bread; no alternative to a fry up, although the owner did offer to nip to the shop to buy a loaf of brown bread; although the breakfast was delivered to the table at this point! A jug of hot water for instant sachets of coffee. I think for the price we paid £75 for a double room we expected a heartier home cooked breakfast, the main thing going for the bay horse was the free parking, and fairly short walking distance to York.

Reviewed by
Karen D

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
The room was very clean and well equipped with TV and kettle, the staff where all very freindly especially James who made us feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Liam D

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hospitality, nice room, fab breakfast, wi-fi, parking and pub with gr8 ales! Fantastic value in brilliant location 4 races and town.

Reviewed by
ADRIAN MARRIOTT

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bay horse city break
James was very welcoming, and the parking space for the room was very welcome, so close to the city centre.

Reviewed by
ben c

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In several words.....
Excellent. ..!!
Friendly. .
Clean...
Fantastic service. .
The couple who run this establishment along with how nice the room was made this a great experience. ..thankyou....

Reviewed by
Garry McDaid

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break
Really enjoyed our stay and quality of food and rooms but felt that communal areas, ie breakfast room and outside seating area required some extra attention.
Quite a lot of cigarette ends on ground in smoking area which lay for at least 3 days before being swept up.

Reviewed by
P Oliver

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value For Money
Nice place to stay near to city center with the added bonus of car parking on site.
Very good customer service with large very nice breakfast.
Thank you

Reviewed by
Anthony M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay at The Bay Inn
Me and my with had never been to York and our stay at the bay horse inn. What a great experience it was! The ambience was very relaxing and most pleasant. The service and the food was excellent and I can fully recommend a visit there. The staff are friendly and the inn is in a good location,Not to far from the city wall city if you wish to visit. Thank you to all the staff in the inn we had a great two night stay and we will be back to stay again.Gary & Jane

Reviewed by
gary m

From birmingham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
We enjoyed a short trip to York staying at the Bay Horse Inn which is only 10 minutes walk from the station and the centre. Accomodation was very clean and spacious, towels changed every day, cooked breakfast made to order. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a short break with a personal touch and warm welcome

Reviewed by
F Howie

From , England
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next