the crown and thistle

3

18 BRIDGE STREET, ABINGDON, OX143HS

Price From 227.53 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Morris

  • April 2015

Great stay

Really good room helpful staff really couldn't fault this hotel

  • Katy D

  • April 2015

Highly Recommended

I'm quite a tough customer to please.

When I have to part with money for anything, I'm immediately the worlds toughest critic. However when it comes to the Crown and Thistle in Abingdon, I'm a number one fan. We stayed in the Bridal Suite. The price for what you get is absolutely wonderful and it's such a gorgeous room. In the morning, I noticed the open door of another room as it maid was cleaning, it was also really lovely. My partner has traveled all over the world for business, staying in 4 and 5 star hotels and he said that the room we had at The Crown and Thistle was actually the best room he'd ever had. I can't fault the staff and I can't fault the food. We had room service. In March 2015, we paid £137 for The Bridle Suite, two course plus shared desert from the restaurant and a bottle of wine from the room's mini bar, plus a really well-prepared cooked breakfast in the morning. It was great food actually, healthy and delicious. It all felt like 5-star service and I feel like I've discovered a hidden treasure. I'm going back as soon as I can, just for fun as this was for a business trip.

  • L Mackay

  • March 2015

We're going back!

Where do you start.

Staff are friendly and very helpfull, Room facilities were excellent and styled well. We decided to eat in the hotel and were glad we did. Lots of people say they "source their ingredients carefully" but do not. I know ingredients, I know fish, meat and my vegetables (farming and fishing background). These people got it right. Even the porridge at breakfast wad good (we dropped the trimmings on it though). Black pudding was close to decent Highland quality. When we have the chance, we,re going back. That is the only compliment you need.

  • David L

  • September 2014

Nice Hotel

Had a brief but very enjoyable stay, right in the centre of Abingdon, parking was a mystery, until I was given directions by reception staff, therefore may be a good idea to provide this alongside all booking confirmations in future.

  • Karen S

  • September 2014

Excellent hotel

The staff are very friendly and helpful, they make you feel very welcome.

The room was excellent and very comfy. The breakfast was varied and very good quality. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Graham S

  • September 2014

The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly.

The hotel was spotless, and the food was great. Really enjoyed the weekend, and will quite happily use the hotel again.

  • Paul Knott

  • September 2014

Great place to stay

Lovely hotel in a great location in Abingdon.

Room was superb (15) and the standards are really impressive. Really we'll located to eat out at several good looking eating establishment's. Would highly recommend....

  • Sarah L

  • August 2014

A Gorgeous, Welcoming Hotel

We stayed with our 11 month old baby in an absolutely beautiful large room with a very well appointed bathroom.

Nothing was too much trouble for Carol on reception, including providing us with a room to get changed in for the wedding we were attending prior to check-in time. Lovely breakfast too.

  • jill C

  • August 2014

Pleasant stay at The Crown and Thistle

There was no-one at reception when we arrived as the single receptionist was also showing arriving guests to their rooms.

Not a problem, except we could not find out how to get to the car park at the rear of the hotel (this turned out to be a trip around the one-way system in the town). The room was interestingly decorated, but a bit dark, with dark lampshades, for a cloudy late afternoon. It was nice but looked a bit dingy. The bed was wonderful as was the bathroom, which was up a few steps, and this really needed a short handrail for safety of children and older visitors. Obviously there needs to be fans for the bathrooms but we could hear the fan in the next door room all the time,even overnight. The decor in the bar was a a bit too spartan and felt very cold and empty, and the prices in the restaurant for the evening meal were a bit steep for the quality - my cold chips were replaced almost immediately with very hot ones. The breakfast, however, was excellent, as was the service. I think we would visit again.

  • Stephen G

  • August 2014

Lovely staff, rooms and restaurant