No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shepherd's cottage

4Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
Henely Buckland Newton, Dorchester, DT2 7BN
Completely self contained holiday cottage for rent on a daily or weekly basis in the heart of Dorset.
Want to get away from it all? Then why not holiday at Shepherd's Cottage. This cosy semi-detached cottage is located at the end of a quiet lane in an area of outstanding natural beauty - a peaceful setting from which to explore the whole of Dorset. The nearby village of Buckland Newton offers a post office and village stores plus the popular Gaggle of Geese pub which serves real ales and food. The nearby historic town of Sherborne and county town of Dorchester are an easy drive away. On your doorstep are exhilarating country walks to the ancient village of Cerne Abbas with its famous giant etched into the chalk hillside. The wonderful Dorset coastline is within easy reach through pretty country lanes. The cottage offers a warm welcome to Guests with a woodburning stove to keep the winter chills away, or a cool haven from the summer sun with a shaded garden area for evening drinks and al fresco dining.
Accommodation: Lounge / kitchen / diner. 1st floor: Kingsize bed with en-suite shower, hand basin and toilet.: Oil fired central heating, wood burning stove (one basket of logs provided). Fridge, DVD player, music system. Garden area with furniture. Off road parking space. Linen hire inclusive.
Picture of Shepherd's cottage, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country bolt-hole
We spent a lovely couple of nights at Sherpherd's Cottage. It's full of character and is very well equipped. Its separate living and sleeping areas meant that we could put our six month old to bed and still spend the evening relaxing in front of the wood burner. Local villages are picturesque with plenty of appealing-looking pubs. Owners are very friendly and there's even a private garden with table and chairs next to the cottage for when the sun's out. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
JENNIFER A

From Pinner, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 'get away from it all' venue
Absolutely stunning cottage, little to no wifi / mobile signal which is exactly what we wanted. Idyllic setting, yet ideally located for dorsets many highlights. The wood burner was beautiful, especially when the weather isn't that great. Fully stocked kitchen, great cosy little cottage. Will be back!

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable
The cottage is really lovely. Fire place makes it very cosy. We have never slept in such a comfortable bed!

Reviewed by
Kamil G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hideaway
Just come back from a lovely 2 night stay, we had a brilliant time and would definitely recommend it! Great base for day trips in Dorset and the big log burner was cosy and romantic. Bed very comfortable and complimentary wine and dvds to enjoy was an added bonus. The only negative would be that it was very cold when we arrived as we arrived late evening and there was no heating on so spent the first night wrapped in many layers but did improve when the fire got going. Overall a lovely stay and would definitely go back!

Reviewed by
hannah k

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a cosy, relaxing romantic break away from hustle and bustle of everyday life!
Found on late rooms at a very reasonable rate, we booked this for our second anniversary. We arrived after a very tiring week on a cold February evening to be met with a lovely warm snug cottage, the (huge) wood burner was primed and ready for action and just required a lit match! A complimentary bottle of wine was also included.
The cottage is ideal for just a couple and provided everything you could ever need. The living room was very charming and had an enormous wood burner which my partner was mainly wrapped around for the majority of the weekend, many thanks to the kind, non intrusive owners for the supply of wood.
The bedroom had a lovely double bed with a very comfortable memory foam mattress, it was also equipped with an en suite shower room.
The property is well located for The Jurassic Coast and many other great places to walk. Nearby Dorchester has a supermarket and plenty of places to eat and drink.
Overall we had a fabulous stay and would recommend the property to any couple who like the great outdoors, and although we are dog free, they are welcomed. Many thanks to the owners for making us so welcome.

Reviewed by
Neil Chadwick

From Bridgwater , England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Hideaway Cottage
Nestled at the end of a quiet country lane, the shepherd’s cottage lives up to expectations. The owners are friendly and you can buy eggs from their chickens. The wood burning stove adds to the enjoyment and warms the house quickly. The kitchenette and en-suite bathroom provide modern facilities while retaining the character and charm of the original building. The bed is the most comfortable we have experienced. We intend to come again soon.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday of our dreams
I cannot recommend this cottage enough. Absolutely stunning. Great base to explore from. Owners are you welcoming and friendly. Best holiday I've been on in years and it didn't cost an arm and a leg. Will definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Short

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cozy cottage
had a lovely weekend away, the cottage was in a quiet and peaceful location, had everything there you would need, bedding, towels ect.lovely walks for the dogs and central to visit other places, snuggled up in the eve with a glass of wine ( which was left there by the owners for us...thankyou!) in front of the big log burner and a supply of logs. would recommend this lovely cottage, cant wait to go back.

Reviewed by
j hambidge

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.