No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Great Cheverell, , Devizes, SN10 5TH
The Bell Inn is an 18th century, grade II listed coaching inn located in the beautiful village of Great Cheverell. The property dates back to 1740 when conducting business as a drovers inn and appears in the Doomsday book!

The Bell Inn is ideally located to the major tourist attractions of Stonehenge, Avebury, The White Horse, Bath and Salisbury.

We offer luxurious accommodation, all of which are en-suite. We have an oak beamed restaurant and bar offering great food and some of the South West's greatest ales!

There are a number of attractions nearby, these include Salisbury Plain, Stonehenge,Woodhenge, Avebury,The White Horse The Ridgeway, Barbury Castle, Devizes, Bath, Salisbury Cathedral, Old Sarum, Figsbury Ring and Caen Hill Locks.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Devizes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic find! Really well decorated rooms, even the single was spacious and cosy. Set in a beautiful location, near Devizes. Breakfast set me up for the day, low key yet excellent service. Would definately stay again😊

Reviewed by
C Cordell

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Water pressure in the shower was very poor. No bath!
Breakfast was served on cold plates so food was cold. No heating on in the pub so the room was also cold where we ate our breakfast. (but we were the only guests dining) so understandable!
Bedroom very warm and cosy.
Customer service was very good and welcoming.

Reviewed by
A Howcroft

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and warm
Radiator and towel rail worked immediately
Good to have access all day
Bike was safe but would prefer undercover for bike

Reviewed by
jane h

From Winchester, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Rural Retreat
Food excellent, good beer, very good friendly service. set in a lovely rural environment. A walk around the village is worth doing, and lots of places of interest are just a short drive away. Lacock is definitely worth a visit.

Reviewed by
V Maynard

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR!
Treated as a local immediately and nothing was too much trouble from breakfast timings to evening meals - which are of very high quality.In fact the breakfast really does set you up for the day!! My room was quiet and very clean. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this B&B and whenever I am in this area I will definately be staying here.

Reviewed by
Steve Duffy

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Clean ,comfortable room. Every thing we needed was there. We were made very welcome by Manager and staff. The evening meal was delicious and the full English the following morning was huge, cooked just as we liked it and well presented. Only stayed over one night, quick family visit but will definitely stay again and recommend to other members of the family and friends.

Reviewed by
J Finch

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bellisimo !
Someone has put a lot of effort into creating modern comfortable rooms in an old building. In fact the only improvement I might like to see would be lighting on the rear (external) stairs, but as we only used them once wasn't a huge issue. Staff were friendly, approachable and efficient; very pleasant stay and although at the top of what I'd want to pay for a room in a pub, the overall experience was excellent.

Reviewed by
P Byrne

From Beaworthy, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
good friendly inn excellent food and service
staff (manager and wife) excellent hosts

Reviewed by
bryan w

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2