No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jolly Huntsman

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
80 Kington St. Michael Wiltshire, Chippenham, SN14 6JB
the Jolly Huntsman is a privately owned traditional village freehouse, offering en-suite accommodation with free wireless broadband. Delicious home cooked breakfasts, lunches and evening meals and an excellent selection of well kept real ales and ciders. Seasonal open log fire and a warm welcome.

We are delighted to have recently won the Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year 2013.

Highly Commended Winner of the 2009 Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) Pub of the Year and Winner of the CAMRA Branch Pub of the Year in 2010.

We are conveniently placed for business travelers, being just a few minutes away from Junction 17 of the M4 and ideally located for sightseeing in the popular and historic local villages of Castle Combe and Lacock and the excellent shopping facilities to be found in the City of Bath.
Picture of The Jolly Huntsman, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jolly Huntsman
The room was across the car park from the pub, on the ground floor. It was very clean and quiet. The TV is so tiny that I didn't bother and the wardrobe is a bit flimsy but for the price, one can't expect the Ritz! The welcome in the morning is much more friendly than on arrival and breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked and exactly how I like it.

Reviewed by
Polly G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy retreat
Staff really friendly, room was lovely & warm. The only gripe was the bed. It wasn't very comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful, you certainly didn't go away hungry. Lovely food.

Reviewed by
pauline p

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a charming location
The Jolly Huntsman is in the middle of a charming village. Bedrooms are clean and tidy, food is excellent.

Reviewed by
Jill T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for a night
Ok stay here, and the food was very good. However noise from other rooms, and thecentral heating boiler fan disturbed a good nights sleep. Room was warm and very clean, but cheaply furnished.

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
The people, the hotel were very nice and could not have been better. The only thing I would have changed is there was no shower but it did have an extra large bath. but 10/10 all the same.

Reviewed by
andrew stevens

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the fabulous Jolly Huntsman
Great food. Friendly and efficient staff

Reviewed by
Victoria G

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Very helpful staff. Friendly and accommodating. Good value for money and comfortable room.

Reviewed by
Jordan C

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
Have stayed here twice now and can't fault the service and value. Ideal area for a quiet stay whilst on business

Reviewed by
R Kelly

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Jolly good find!
We booked this place to break our journey from Lincoln to Cornwall. It is ideally located for visiting Bath and the Cotswolds. We received a warm welcome from Adrian the Chef and were lucky enough to be in time to book in for the Gourmet Burger Night. The food was excellent and plentiful and we would recommend the restaurant for special events and the regular menu.

Reviewed by
Hazel M

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful
Very clean and comfortable accommodate. Great food. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Reviewed by
K CARTER

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next