No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jolly Huntsman

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
80 Kington St. Michael Wiltshire, Chippenham, SN14 6JB
the Jolly Huntsman is a privately owned traditional village freehouse, offering en-suite accommodation with free wireless broadband. Delicious home cooked breakfasts, lunches and evening meals and an excellent selection of well kept real ales and ciders. Seasonal open log fire and a warm welcome.

We are delighted to have recently won the Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year 2013.

Highly Commended Winner of the 2009 Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) Pub of the Year and Winner of the CAMRA Branch Pub of the Year in 2010.

We are conveniently placed for business travelers, being just a few minutes away from Junction 17 of the M4 and ideally located for sightseeing in the popular and historic local villages of Castle Combe and Lacock and the excellent shopping facilities to be found in the City of Bath.
Picture of The Jolly Huntsman, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

12/12/12- Solo business traveller- UK wide.
Great hosts, great food, great Pub(!) plus an okay room with just a couple of criticisms.
I was given room 10 in the "cottage" - a little basic, but acceptable. Wardrobe under the staircase would be more acceptable if it were enclosed ratther than exposed to the staircase carcass, and also used for storing what apppeared to be bathroom tiles from the the original building construction, and a plant pot(?), but perhaps I'm being a little picky. Somewhere to put shower and shaving paraphernalia would improve the bathroom experience, plus the over sink shaverlight didn't work, but to be fair, I didn't report this and if I had I am sure it would have been attended to.
All in all, a better experience than any Travel Lodge/ Premier Inn/BrewersFayre combo or similar for an overnite business stay. A good range of well kept ales and a very good menu/specials board combining quality with quantity at reasonable prices ensure that I shall certainly be back if the opportunity arises.
I wouldn't call the Jolly Huntsman a "hotel", but as a pub with accommodation , it certainly offers a lot to recommend it for the prices charged.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hospitality definitely would stop again
Don't normally write reviews but this is definitely worth a mention staff really friendly food great room spotlessly clean shower to die for! Couldn't really fault it would take the wife there that's As big a recommendation I can give!

Reviewed by
Mike swift

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place
The staff are really friendly and the food is very fresh.
I would stay there anytime

Reviewed by
Yewande G

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel

Reviewed by
tom r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome!
A typical country pub, with a good selection of beers and a fantastic choice form the menu. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Glen W

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
V friendly staff and good food very good choice

Reviewed by
Jane R

From Chichester, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic breakfast!

Reviewed by
H Ward

From Chipping Norton, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service a1
we really enjoyed our stay here,we had a very warm welcome then shown to our room which was clean and fresh,the food was 1st class lovely big portions and the waiters were very polite and helpful would recommend here.

Reviewed by
p jackson

From Newcastle, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
Smzing food- massive portions- overall lovely

Reviewed by
E Moss

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly
We had to be up early each morning so we were given a baggette to take with us as too early for breakfast. Always got a very friendly and happy welcome. Would definately stay again if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
Sara Northover

From Stratford upon Avon, England
Who stayed in September 2012

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7