No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jolly Huntsman

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
80 Kington St. Michael Wiltshire, Chippenham, SN14 6JB
the Jolly Huntsman is a privately owned traditional village freehouse, offering en-suite accommodation with free wireless broadband. Delicious home cooked breakfasts, lunches and evening meals and an excellent selection of well kept real ales and ciders. Seasonal open log fire and a warm welcome.

We are delighted to have recently won the Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year 2013.

Highly Commended Winner of the 2009 Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) Pub of the Year and Winner of the CAMRA Branch Pub of the Year in 2010.

We are conveniently placed for business travelers, being just a few minutes away from Junction 17 of the M4 and ideally located for sightseeing in the popular and historic local villages of Castle Combe and Lacock and the excellent shopping facilities to be found in the City of Bath.
Picture of The Jolly Huntsman, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good overnight stay
Bedrooms are located just across the car park from the pub in what appears to be a converted barn. We had a downstairs room which was very good apart from the creaking floorboards from above (not a serious problem but noticeable when guests above moved around). The room was generally clean, but there a few cobwebs behind the dressing table. The power shower was excellent, with plenty of pressure and lots of hot water.The best shower we have had in hotels for years. With regard to the pub, there was a good selection of beers and the food was excellent. We had invited relatives over for an evening meal and we were all very satisfied, both with the quality and the generous servings. My brother, who needs a gluiten-free diet received personal attention from the chef to ensure that he was happy with his choice of food. The breakfast was generous, well presented and hot. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would probably use the place again if in the area. The pub's location is ideal for access to Chippenham and to the M4 motorway.

Reviewed by
Mike H

From Gunnislake, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money,friendly staff and food was most enjoyable
Very friendly country type pub \ hotel, food was very good, great value for money and would book again when next in the area. Room was clean and tidy, full English breakfast included was a bonus.

Reviewed by
a parker

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The food was good, the bar friendly.
The rooms appeared newly built and spotlessly clean.
The only issue was the floors above creak and poor soundproofing between rooms.
I would stay again

Reviewed by
James V

From Robertsbridge, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Friendly
Good customer service, a meal was made for us even though we were after the cut off time for food. Very nice quiet location and would use it again. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop reading, start booking!
Rarely do you get the pleasure of finding an establishment that makes the art of great hospitality look so effortless and natural, but the team of staff here made a great impression - and not by doing anything particularly revolutionary, but simply by being relaxed, attentive and welcoming, and with complete sincerity as well. The food was great, with something to suit all tastes, and a look behind the bar at the selection of real ale, wines and spirits tells you that this is a place run by people who enjoy their food and drink! Stay here. The rooms are good, very clean and furnished nicely , and the food and ambience is superb. What could you possibly not like?
..

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

12/12/12- Solo business traveller- UK wide.
Great hosts, great food, great Pub(!) plus an okay room with just a couple of criticisms.
I was given room 10 in the "cottage" - a little basic, but acceptable. Wardrobe under the staircase would be more acceptable if it were enclosed ratther than exposed to the staircase carcass, and also used for storing what apppeared to be bathroom tiles from the the original building construction, and a plant pot(?), but perhaps I'm being a little picky. Somewhere to put shower and shaving paraphernalia would improve the bathroom experience, plus the over sink shaverlight didn't work, but to be fair, I didn't report this and if I had I am sure it would have been attended to.
All in all, a better experience than any Travel Lodge/ Premier Inn/BrewersFayre combo or similar for an overnite business stay. A good range of well kept ales and a very good menu/specials board combining quality with quantity at reasonable prices ensure that I shall certainly be back if the opportunity arises.
I wouldn't call the Jolly Huntsman a "hotel", but as a pub with accommodation , it certainly offers a lot to recommend it for the prices charged.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hospitality definitely would stop again
Don't normally write reviews but this is definitely worth a mention staff really friendly food great room spotlessly clean shower to die for! Couldn't really fault it would take the wife there that's As big a recommendation I can give!

Reviewed by
Mike swift

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place
The staff are really friendly and the food is very fresh.
I would stay there anytime

Reviewed by
Yewande G

From York, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel

Reviewed by
tom r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome!
A typical country pub, with a good selection of beers and a fantastic choice form the menu. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Glen W

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next