No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jolly Huntsman

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
80 Kington St. Michael Wiltshire, Chippenham, SN14 6JB
the Jolly Huntsman is a privately owned traditional village freehouse, offering en-suite accommodation with free wireless broadband. Delicious home cooked breakfasts, lunches and evening meals and an excellent selection of well kept real ales and ciders. Seasonal open log fire and a warm welcome.

We are delighted to have recently won the Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year 2013.

Highly Commended Winner of the 2009 Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) Pub of the Year and Winner of the CAMRA Branch Pub of the Year in 2010.

We are conveniently placed for business travelers, being just a few minutes away from Junction 17 of the M4 and ideally located for sightseeing in the popular and historic local villages of Castle Combe and Lacock and the excellent shopping facilities to be found in the City of Bath.
Picture of The Jolly Huntsman, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
lovely room friendly staff great breakfast

Reviewed by
glen b

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room, comfortable bed.
Only negative was somewhat poor sound insulation between floors (above room 4 at ground level (lots of loud creaks -from upstairs - maybe improve carpet underlay thickness? But depends upon occupants upstairs - in this case including small child.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly pub, great food
The owners, staff and pub drinkers were very friendly and welcoming - top marks there.
The accommodation was in a separate block to the pub. It was clean and very comfortable but loses a mark as we could hear the clunk, clunk of people walking on the floor above and the towels weren't generous, but these are quibbles more than drawbacks.
Would we stay again? We're back there in 2 months time. . . . .
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
On arrival the car park is very small, space for around 10 cars, which is also occupied by patrons to the pub, if you dont get there before 6pm you'll have to park on the road which can be a trek from the pub, not great with luggage and its raining!!
Very welcoming staff on arrival at the pub, and I was escorted to my room. I threw my bags into the room and headed for the pub. The food was nice as was the beer, although the pub did get very noisy with diners and locals at the bar. I decided about 9.30 enough was enough and wasnt too my liking, so decided to call it a night and retire to my room, something I've not done for a good few years. Here is where it took a turn for the worst. In the room I was greeted by possibly the smallest television I have ever seen, I hadnt noticed on arrival. It could only have been a 12" screen. Not only this but it didn't work, wouldnt turn on. Early night it was for me!
Next morning wasnt much better. After a bad nights sleep with the noisiest and creakiest bed I have ever slept in, I decided to make a cup of coffee. After searching for a plug, the only way I could find to boil the kettle was to balance it precariously on the dressing table. I then tried to have a shave and the plug in the sink wasn't the right size so I had to keep refilling the basin.
On departure I went to the breakfast area to express my disappointment but there was nobody to be found. Not for me and wont repeat a stay here, much nicer places in Chippenham at not much more money.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I would address your comments in the order in which they are documented. Firstly, whilst our car park is small, we are a village inn and there is normally plenty of parking available in the village. You seem surprised that the car park is occupied by patrons to the pub - surely this is the whole purpose of having a car park - indeed if it is not used by patrons, then what would be the point in having it? We are also surrounded by other residences and short of taking a bulldozer to surrounding walls and buildings, there is very little that we are able to do. The fact that the pub was noisy with diners and locals at the bar is something that I am not minded to apologise for. Unless you have lived in a cave for some years, I am sure you are aware of the decline in village pubs and the struggle they face to continue to be an important part of the community. Indeed, without the support of our locals, guests, residents and diners, we would not be here. I am sorry that you could not work the television. Upon the morning of your departure, this was identified by our housekeeper and the television was replaced before lunchtime on that day. With regards to the problems you experienced with the kettle, you may not have noticed the extension lead that is placed on the desk unit, alongside the tea and coffee tray for exactly the purpose of plugging the kettle in. The plug in the sink, whilst unfortunately not the original fitting, has been examined and found to be perfectly serviceable (we had extensively searched for a replica of the original but to no avail). Turning to the last paragraph of your review, I am somewhat surprised that you were not able to find anyone to whom to express your disappointment at the time of departure. My husband and I live on site and I was cooking breakfast on the morning of your departure (which I note you booked for when we opened at 7.30am, along with a number of other guests) whilst my husband was front of house. Quite why you failed to recognise or approach us in the morning - the two people who had checked you in, shown you to your room and served you throughout the duration of the previous evening, is beyond me - indeed we would have preferred for you to voice your concerns at that point.

Reviewed by
E S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Couldn't have asked for more.

Reviewed by
R Chalkley

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good overnight stay
Bedrooms are located just across the car park from the pub in what appears to be a converted barn. We had a downstairs room which was very good apart from the creaking floorboards from above (not a serious problem but noticeable when guests above moved around). The room was generally clean, but there a few cobwebs behind the dressing table. The power shower was excellent, with plenty of pressure and lots of hot water.The best shower we have had in hotels for years. With regard to the pub, there was a good selection of beers and the food was excellent. We had invited relatives over for an evening meal and we were all very satisfied, both with the quality and the generous servings. My brother, who needs a gluiten-free diet received personal attention from the chef to ensure that he was happy with his choice of food. The breakfast was generous, well presented and hot. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would probably use the place again if in the area. The pub's location is ideal for access to Chippenham and to the M4 motorway.

Reviewed by
Mike H

From Gunnislake, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money,friendly staff and food was most enjoyable
Very friendly country type pub \ hotel, food was very good, great value for money and would book again when next in the area. Room was clean and tidy, full English breakfast included was a bonus.

Reviewed by
a parker

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in April 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The food was good, the bar friendly.
The rooms appeared newly built and spotlessly clean.
The only issue was the floors above creak and poor soundproofing between rooms.
I would stay again

Reviewed by
James V

From Robertsbridge, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Friendly
Good customer service, a meal was made for us even though we were after the cut off time for food. Very nice quiet location and would use it again. Would recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Peter R

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop reading, start booking!
Rarely do you get the pleasure of finding an establishment that makes the art of great hospitality look so effortless and natural, but the team of staff here made a great impression - and not by doing anything particularly revolutionary, but simply by being relaxed, attentive and welcoming, and with complete sincerity as well. The food was great, with something to suit all tastes, and a look behind the bar at the selection of real ale, wines and spirits tells you that this is a place run by people who enjoy their food and drink! Stay here. The rooms are good, very clean and furnished nicely , and the food and ambience is superb. What could you possibly not like?
..

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next