No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jolly Huntsman

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
80 Kington St. Michael Wiltshire, Chippenham, SN14 6JB
the Jolly Huntsman is a privately owned traditional village freehouse, offering en-suite accommodation with free wireless broadband. Delicious home cooked breakfasts, lunches and evening meals and an excellent selection of well kept real ales and ciders. Seasonal open log fire and a warm welcome.

We are delighted to have recently won the Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year 2013.

Highly Commended Winner of the 2009 Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) Pub of the Year and Winner of the CAMRA Branch Pub of the Year in 2010.

We are conveniently placed for business travelers, being just a few minutes away from Junction 17 of the M4 and ideally located for sightseeing in the popular and historic local villages of Castle Combe and Lacock and the excellent shopping facilities to be found in the City of Bath.
Picture of The Jolly Huntsman, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful pub, food was fantastic, locals very friendly. Excellent location all in all great place.
Lovely bed and breakfast in local pub. Landlord and his staff were very friendly.
The evening meal was lovely very large portions. Breakfast was equally nice.
The room was really nice, just missing large mirror near electric points for drying hair etc. only critism.

Reviewed by
John Bird

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Pub!
We stayed here for a local wedding and was perfect for what we required. The rooms although small were ideal and clean. Breakfast was excellent and the pub itself offers an excellent selection of drinks. All the staff were very helpful and polite.

Reviewed by
A Canham

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
I have stayed there before, drawn back by clean, rooms with all the facilities a business traveler would require; internet, Tea making, Iron, hairdryer, adequate free parking, friendly service and with no hidden extras.
Breakfast is included but I always stay for an evening meal as both offer good choice and quality.

Reviewed by
James V

From Robertsbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay at the jolly huntsman 7th july 2013
we enjoyed our stay at the jolly huntsman very much indeed, very nice room situated in an annexe
just adjacent to the pub entrance, staff very pleasant and welcoming, food excellent, and of course
only a short distance to the motorway. would certainly recommend it..
p.s. and great real ale""""

Reviewed by
M EDWARDS

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommended, friendly and welcoming accomodation
Took the decision to give hotels a miss for a change and the Jolly Huntsman had good reviews so decided to give it a try. Great decision as was made to feel welcome from the moment I arrived. The room had everything any traveller could want and was both clean and comfortable. The food was excellent, breakfast was delicious, not swimming fat and had been cooked (not reheated), the staff made the effort to find out what time you would be having breakfast so they had a table ready and you were not kept waiting. The Menu in the evening was superb as was the food. Great selection of beers for the drinker and all the locals made you feel part of the atmosphere. I will be going back when I am next on business in the SW and would consider it for a break away with the missus too!

Reviewed by
Mark M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night
Room was across yard from the pub in nice converted old building. Standard size room & reasonable size bathroom with shower. Had dinner from good choice menu breakfast reasonable standard. Pleasant village to walk around. Good choice for a one or two night stay. We were on way to Salisbury & the south coast

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Real Pub B & B
Good accommodation, quietly set apart from the main pub. An extensive menu, and all the food severed was of the highest quality. Sensible prices. What more could you ask for ?

Reviewed by
A BLACKBURN

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
lovely room friendly staff great breakfast

Reviewed by
glen b

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room, comfortable bed.
Only negative was somewhat poor sound insulation between floors (above room 4 at ground level (lots of loud creaks -from upstairs - maybe improve carpet underlay thickness? But depends upon occupants upstairs - in this case including small child.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly pub, great food
The owners, staff and pub drinkers were very friendly and welcoming - top marks there.
The accommodation was in a separate block to the pub. It was clean and very comfortable but loses a mark as we could hear the clunk, clunk of people walking on the floor above and the towels weren't generous, but these are quibbles more than drawbacks.
Would we stay again? We're back there in 2 months time. . . . .
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next