No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jolly Huntsman

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
80 Kington St. Michael Wiltshire, Chippenham, SN14 6JB
the Jolly Huntsman is a privately owned traditional village freehouse, offering en-suite accommodation with free wireless broadband. Delicious home cooked breakfasts, lunches and evening meals and an excellent selection of well kept real ales and ciders. Seasonal open log fire and a warm welcome.

We are delighted to have recently won the Chippenham Business Awards Hotel/Restaurant of the Year 2013.

Highly Commended Winner of the 2009 Campaign for Real Ale (CAMRA) Pub of the Year and Winner of the CAMRA Branch Pub of the Year in 2010.

We are conveniently placed for business travelers, being just a few minutes away from Junction 17 of the M4 and ideally located for sightseeing in the popular and historic local villages of Castle Combe and Lacock and the excellent shopping facilities to be found in the City of Bath.
Picture of The Jolly Huntsman, Chippenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can you keep it a secret
Lovely village inn and hotel. I loved the coach house/lodge room i got . it was spotless and gave you the freedom to come and go as you pleased as being apart from the main pub
The bar was spot;less and homely , the staff welcoming and friendly - you almost felt that you were a local. Excellent chef who knows how i like my steaks and breakfast was spot on on both mornings.
This was just my sort of place and if you wanted your own bar and hottel - this is it ...SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, dont tell anyone else how good it is ! x

Reviewed by
alan May

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

NO MORE POTTER, BUT STILL IT'S A TOP PLACE TO STAY
I stayed here for 1 night in January and had a thoroughly great night, not least because Helen and her staff are fun people and seem to genuinely want their guests to have an enjoyable stay. The local customers are also very friendly and only add to the enjoyment. My second trip in February was just as much fun and I will always make this my number one choice to stay the next time I'm in that part of the country. Dinner was lovely and the English Breakfast is to die for. Make sure you have the scrambled eggs because they are deeeeelicious! The rooms are comfortable and clean. I had a faulty shower but Helen made other arrangements for me which were very acceptable.

Reviewed by
D Fowler

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

V Good value
Stayed one night. Not much to fault at all. Friendly welcome, good beer and food, clean room and decent shower for 90 quid including a good hearty meal from the interesting menu and 3 or 4 drinks. Can't grumble.

Reviewed by
Jim Cox

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
stay in the cottage. Realy nice clean room. Great pub. Freindly staff and nice local ale.

Reviewed by
Steve Clarke

From Cranbrook, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, excellent food, clean accommodation
We had a warm greeting followed by an excellent lunch. Parking on site. The room had everything required and was nicely secluded away from the main building, but only a few paces away. There is very little in the village, but with a fine selection of beers and lovely food we were very happy.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and accomodating staff. Food was excellent for both evening meal and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor, will never retirn
Having stayed in many hotels both for business & pleasure this accommodation should never consider charging any more than £50. The room was tiny with poor quality 'flat pack' type beech effect desk & draw units, with a white plastic pedal bin. There was dust falling out of extractor fan and from the top of the pictures over the bed. Mould around windows. Shower did not drain so within 2 mins there was over 1" of water in it. Really small TV. Breakfast was limited choice, only cheap orange juice, toast was either burnt or hardly cooked. When we checked out we were not asked if everything was ok (as is normal), we were told 'that's £80'. I get the impression that they know they are ripping their customers off.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and we were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to point out that our room rate of £80, inclusive of breakfast, has been at the same level for the past 3 years and is line with our local competitors, with the majority of our guests considering this rate to be more than reasonable. It is always the case that problems or issues, if possible, are much more readily resolved when mentioned at the time of your stay - bccoming a 'keyboard warrior' afterwards helps no one. The shower in your room has been inspected and we found no evidence of any drainage problems. We are sorry that you considered the TV to be small - we found this size to best suit the furniture in the room. Our housekeeper has been informed of the dust that you found on the fan in the bathroom and the pictures above the bed and this has been rectified. On the question of breakfast, you mention the limited choice, the orange juice and the toast. You may not have noticed the breakfast menus which are positioned on every table and offer a choice of Full English Breakfast, Omelettes, Kippers etc etc in addition to the cereal which was offered to you. Upon checking out, our Chef purely advised you of the amount to pay, which was the room cost of £80 as you had no additional tabs with us for dinner or bar the previous evening. We have not been in business here for the past 10 years by 'ripping customers off' and are genuinely caring and honest people. Like us, our Chef (also being a shareholder of the company), is passionate about and believes very proudly in what we do - it is therefore not likely that he would have presented the impression that the cost of your stay was unreasonable.

Reviewed by
Ian P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room could have been cleaner and there was a damp smell, although my friend's room was ok

Reviewed by
Lois B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A happy weekend
The Jolly Huntsman is a great value country pub with simply stunning food. The accomodation is clean, perfectly adequate, and good value - we're talking country pub here, not a Hilton. We thought it was priced just right and felt we had got good value for our money. Helen and her staff are very nice people, very willing to make your stay a good one. The chef is phenomenal, and not a prima donna - arriving back very late on Friday he was just closing the kitchen, but stayed on to provide cheesy chips while the frier was still hot. First thing next morning he served up a superb omelette, then fillet of kangaroo the same evening. A chef who understands his priorities are the guests, nice to see. We'll be coming back.

Reviewed by
R Pallant

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Very friendly
Great location. Ideal to visit surrounding area - Castle Combe next village.
Lovely clean bedroom and bathroom. Very spacious.
Excellent choice of menu. We ate at the Jolly Huntsman 3 nights out of 4. Fantastic friendly staff.
Could not do enough for us.
We will be definitely returning.

Reviewed by
S Morley

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next