You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Jolly Huntsman

4

80 Kington St. Michael Wiltshire, Chippenham, SN14 6JB

Price From 118.87 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Kelly

  • August 2014

Excellent Value

Have stayed here twice now and can't fault the service and value.

Ideal area for a quiet stay whilst on business

  • K CARTER

  • August 2014

Delightful

Very clean and comfortable accommodate.

Great food. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • P Lomax

  • August 2014

Excellent all round stay

Summary : Room clean and well maintained.

Staff, without exception, were very helpful, courteous and very accommodating. Breakfast was as bespoke as required. Detail :

The Jolly Huntsman is a delightful and relaxing place to stay. Its quiet village locale provides easy M4 motorway access and has Chippenham close by. We found all members of staff to be very approachable and accommodating, providing a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Breakfast was, again, a relaxed activity. Choices of the usual breakfast fare with non-menu items available on request. If you are indulging in restaurant dining, bring an appetite as the portions are on the large side. Our only criticism is that the parking area is too small for all that this hotel provides, although you can park on the village road.

  • P Frazer

  • August 2014

Good food and nice room, but brusque management

A group of us met up for an anniversary meal and some stayed the night.

The food was very good - not gastro pub standard, but very pleasant. The room was nice, but a notice on a spare bed asking us NOT to put anything heavy like a suitcase on it seemed a bit odd as there was nowhere else to empty a suitcase. The reason given was that they didn't want to make up a bed unnecessarily. The toilet was a bit suspect requiring several attempts to flush it. We had a very bad night's sleep due to the fact that the people in the room above seemed to spend the whole night moving about and the flooring creaked badly. I mentioned it to the management who were apologetic, but offered no redress of any sort. I know it's not their fault, but good customer relations normally would suggest some sort of gesture - even a very minor one. After this stay we went on to stay at three other places and all were far better than this.

  • Tracy P

  • August 2014

What a result!

Premiere Inn's loss is The Jolly Hunstman's gain..............We were always going to eat here and sample the local beers but fully intended to stay in the Chippenham Premiere Inn as we had on our previous visit to Kington St Michael.

We wouldn't book the Premiere Inn as they were insisting on a 2 night stay so we were directed to The Jolly Hunstman instead by Laterooms. Our room was staggering distance from the bar, large and above all clean. We ate in the restaurant with friends who are locals and enjoyed the experience. Like a previous reviewer my only disappointment was not having room for dessert as they looked lovely. We'll definitely be back to both the accommodation, the bar and restaurant. Breakfast was included in the price and we opted for the full English, tea/coffee, toast and orange juice. Everything was cooked to order and the sausages were lovely. My husband intends to work his way through the extensive menu so I'd get plenty of local beer in as it's thirsty work. We'll try to return again as soon as we can.

  • mike lewis

  • July 2014

really nice

I stayed here got a flat above pub would recommend

  • Jane Watters

  • July 2014

Very comfortable and friendly

Very friendly and lively pub.

Hearty food. Accommodation spotless, comfortable. I would have preferred not to be on the ground floor, but otherwise, it was everything I could have reasonably hoped for. I would certainly go back.

  • G Tomkins

  • July 2014

Staff were very hospitable.

The three rooms we booked were all spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food was simply excellent, with a huge choice and it was difficult to choose what to eat. The full English breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stay again.

  • A Wood

  • July 2014

jolly huntsman review

Excellent stay here.

The bacon at breakfast was superb. Good real ale.

  • Janet S

  • June 2014

Lovely find

Travelling with work much much nicer then a bland chain hotel