Reviews - BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel


Marina St Leonards On Sea, Hastings, TN38 0BD

Price From 114.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David b

  • August 2015

Good stay

Suite was not available although I arrived only 1 hour after booking so was given a triple room.

TV in room did not have a aerial signal so was not usable. Breakfast was very good with good attentive staff.

  • Jasmine F

  • July 2015

Room 204

A lovely room, with a wonderful sea view.

Very comfortable bed. The pipes under the sink were very dusty, this was noticable when sitting in the bath. Some of the furniture a little shabby but a great stay none the less.

  • Roy S

  • April 2015

As return visitors we were disappointed at the deterioration of service and general standards.

Not our first time at this hotel.

Comfortably clean bed, ample tea and coffee, but no biscuits. No bath non-slip mat, dirt behind chest of draws, small dated television with lack of channels situated a long way from the seating. No safe in room or trouser press. Toiletries sparse. Could hear dog constantly barking in next room. Afternoon tea and breakfast on the Saturday was marred by the fact that both of the teapots had chipped spouts, the waitress on the Saturday commented that they were waiting for replacements. Children allowed to run around dining room during breakfast.

  • Amanda Skinner

  • January 2015

Gorgeous faded grandeur

This is a beautiful period hotel that could really do with a very large injection of cash for a refurb.

we were upgraded to a suite but I was dismayed to find that the bed was up a flight of steps to a mezzanine floor. This made the room feel cramped, not helped by a net curtain blocking the sea view (sorry but I hate net curtains) To the credit of reception we were offered an alternative suite which was lovely, large windows to the sea (no net curtain!) and a pleasant living room beside the bed area. Plenty of hot water - a silly thing but I have loong hair and would have loved a shower cap. Only shampoo and shower gel on offer - and soap. Dinner was pleasant enough but not outstanding, and the dining room lacked little touches such as a candle on the table. Again a change of decor would benefit enormously. Linen napkins were a nice touch and all the staff were friendly and pleasant. All in all a pleasant stay but wouldn't rush back.

  • Malcolm M

  • January 2015

Could do better

Excellent location, good staff, nice building - why are the rooms so dated.

Old fashioned tv with limited channels and poor reception. The duvet for the double bed was only just the size of the bed with no overhang - needs to be larger. Room needs some tlc and given some personality

  • Linda H

  • January 2015

Excellent hotel with character

We had a very nice room with a lovely sea view.

The room was spotless and we could adjust the heating easily. Breakfast was very good, as was the Sunday carvery. The hotel was about a 20 minute walk from Hastings but close to St Leonard's station. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • mandy s

  • December 2014

Lovely building

We stayed overnight whilst attending a concert.

The receptionist could not have been more helpful. Room large and clean. Beds comfy. Well kept and very friendly.

  • Philip COZENS

  • October 2014

Goood Hotel - Excellent sea view

Hotel is a bit dated, but clean enough and comfortable.

With a bit of modernisation it could be great. Probably too expensive for what you get at this time of year.

  • c wyn-de-bank

  • October 2014

Me and my wife, had a fantastic time, the staff were very helpful and courteous, the hotel was spot on, shame we couldn't have stayed longer, 10 out of 10

  • G Cockell

  • September 2014

Great place to stay

Very civilised.

Parking a bit limited. Quiet guests.