No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Marina St Leonards On Sea, Hastings, TN38 0BD
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel, situated on the seafront, provides homeliness in Hastings, This elegant accommodation provides high standards of comfort with the obvious attraction of being in the heart of 1066 country. Tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites offer the perfect place to spend a night or two (...or more!), with our renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant and Piano Bar helping you relax before you retire. Conference and banqueting facilities mean there's plenty of room for productivity, and views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head complete the stunning picture! As for getting out and about, Hastings Museum & Art Gallery is just a mile away, Hastings Castle is two miles, and you can even enjoy a 'Smuggler's Adventure' in St. Clements Caves nearby!
Picture of BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel, Hastings at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous faded grandeur
This is a beautiful period hotel that could really do with a very large injection of cash for a refurb. we were upgraded to a suite but I was dismayed to find that the bed was up a flight of steps to a mezzanine floor. This made the room feel cramped, not helped by a net curtain blocking the sea view (sorry but I hate net curtains) To the credit of reception we were offered an alternative suite which was lovely, large windows to the sea (no net curtain!) and a pleasant living room beside the bed area. Plenty of hot water - a silly thing but I have loong hair and would have loved a shower cap! Only shampoo and shower gel on offer - and soap. Dinner was pleasant enough but not outstanding, and the dining room lacked little touches such as a candle on the table. Again a change of decor would benefit enormously. Linen napkins were a nice touch and all the staff were friendly and pleasant. All in all a pleasant stay but wouldn't rush back.

Reviewed by
Amanda Skinner

From Romney Marsh, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better
Excellent location, good staff, nice building - why are the rooms so dated? Old fashioned tv with limited channels and poor reception. The duvet for the double bed was only just the size of the bed with no overhang - needs to be larger. Room needs some tlc and given some personality

Reviewed by
Malcolm M

From Spain
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with character
We had a very nice room with a lovely sea view. The room was spotless and we could adjust the heating easily. Breakfast was very good, as was the Sunday carvery. The hotel was about a 20 minute walk from Hastings but close to St Leonard's station. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building
We stayed overnight whilst attending a concert. The receptionist could not have been more helpful. Room large and clean. Beds comfy. Well kept and very friendly.

Reviewed by
mandy s

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Goood Hotel - Excellent sea view
Hotel is a bit dated, but clean enough and comfortable. With a bit of modernisation it could be great. Probably too expensive for what you get at this time of year.

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my wife, had a fantastic time, the staff were very helpful and courteous, the hotel was spot on, shame we couldn't have stayed longer, 10 out of 10

Reviewed by
c wyn-de-bank

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Very civilised. Parking a bit limited. Quiet guests.

Reviewed by
G Cockell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room, clean and lovely view of the sea. Staff friendly. Will definitely go again.

Reviewed by
C Day

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On balance, a varied stay at the Royal Victoria, St Leonards
The Royal Victoria was good value for money for me anyway but I imagine the rooms are quite variable. I spent one night here on my own in a double room. The room was generous with a very spacious & light bathroom. It wasn't very inspired or an especially inviting room but at such a decent price I thought it was more than acceptable. I was greeted on arrival by a really friendly & very professional receptionist which is always welcome. The contents of the rubbish bin had been left by housekeeping but I'm sure it was a simple oversight as the room was generally clean. I do wonder though if just a few minor details were attended to such as changing/dealing with the browning mastic & grout in the bathroom how much better the whole experience would be for a guest but this is something I'd like to ask so many hoteliers, a little more attention to these kinds of details would go a long way. My friend had a room over the hall but although it had sea view - was not as nice a room as mine, I would have been quite disappointed with it in fact so on balance its hard to sat whether I'd recommend this hotel or stay again.

Reviewed by
Libi P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but a bit tired
A lovely old hotel on the front at St. Leonards. Cannot fault the location. The hotel itself is a lovely old building with so much potential to be exceptional. However, it is very tired and could do with a sympathetic make over. My room was comfortable enough and staff are courteous.

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next