No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old House At Home

5AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
OLD HOUSE AT HOME , CHIPPENHAM, SN14 7LT
This traditional ivy-clad country freehouse, once winners of the National Pub Caterer of the year and now serving food highly commended by AA, has been established over two decades. Close to Bath, just a stone's throw from Badminton, home to the ever popular Badminton Horse Trials, and only two miles from the delightfully picturesque village of Castle Combe.

The Old House At Home can now offer 6 boutique rooms ideal for those of you visiting Wiltshire, Bath, Badminton and Castle Combe or for travellers en route via the M4. Complete with wet rooms, rain showers, plasma televisions, internet connectivity and stunning soft furnishings .
Picture of The Old House At Home, CHIPPENHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice home away from home
I have stayed here a number of times and always enjoyed my stay. I have stayed in a number of the rooms now and all are in an adjacent building. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The inn and staff are welcoming and the food was excellent. The menu was what I would consider good winter fare - well prepared, tasty and seasonal. Would not hesitate to stay here when in the area.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A satisfied customer'

Reviewed by
Kathleen B

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay for castle Combe ARDS test
Very comfortable and very accommodating staff.
The resturant has an excellent menu and attentive staff.

Reviewed by
Graeme Sutton

From Buntingford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm welcome, superb food, lovely room, perfect break.

Reviewed by
R Brandon

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fits the Bill!
First class chalet style accom. Friendly efficient service good food,, clean room. Perfect.

Reviewed by
Ray M

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
A great little find, Quality room and service from the Old House at Home I loved it.

Reviewed by
Bryan Leigh

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal place to stay
Great room in purpose built chalet. Walk-in shower only. Would recommend to others. Pub was nice (with open fire and selection of real ales etc). Evening meal was ok and a little on pricey side (£13 for bowl of tagilatelli, £5 for side of garlic ciabatta).

Reviewed by
N Smith

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

special occasion
Host very friendly and breakfast very tasty and nicely cooked. Was expecting a much bigger room for the price and felt website was misleading. Wet room was lovely but baking hot which meant the bedroom was hot too. Although I turned off the heating, the room did not cool down in time to have a good nights sleep. Only one chair in room and no table or desk to sit at. I felt the room did not live up to a 5 star accommodation and was poor value for money. Put a bit of a dampener on a couple of days away for a special occasion.

Reviewed by
Gary E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
We only stayed one night but found the staff extremely friendly and helpfull. It was well worth the money and the food was of an excellent standard.

Reviewed by
Spencer H

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely cosy room with lovely accents
Very comfortable stay in my cosy room. Superb dinner in the pub with attentive but not over-bearing service. Lovely breakfast and flexible timings. All good!

Reviewed by
Kate0789 W

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next