You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Black Swan

3

Market Place, ,, Devizes, SN10 1JQ

Price From 162.50 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jane F

  • May 2016

Atmospheric pub, wonderful food

This is an old building, and as such the floors aren't all level and soundproofing is absent.

The pub was very busy and noisy with a live band playing, but after an excellent meal and 3 pints of beer I slept through it all. The décor is a blend of comfy pub and antique shop. If you want a bland modern chain motel look elsewhere. If you want friendly staff and out of this world food I can recommend the Black Swan.

  • Gill Lang

  • May 2016

Great weekend

Black Swan was a great stay.

we received a warm welcome and all staff very friendly.

Room was lovely and very comfy. Great breakfast each morning

evening entertainment Friday & Saturday was brilliant

would definitely recommend

  • MARK H

  • May 2016

Appaling....Don't go.!

The worst establishment I have ever stayed at.

Handed keys took my money and last I heard of the staff. Was not told of breakfast arrangements or evening meal arrangements and quite frankly I am appalled. I went to the bar later in the evening to ask a staff member for some guidance but I was told it was a bit busy at the moment. I paid for 2 nights and left after 1 despite my wife in tears and it been our wedding anniversary. I am still minded to seek legal advice it was that poor. I deserve a least a refund of a minimum of 1 night. Disgusted.

  • alan parsons

  • April 2016

Filthy and disappointing

I used to stay at the Black Swan regularly admiitedly the last time was 15 or 16 years ago.

Then it was a very pleasant place to stay and the food and service were both excellent. However, it gives me no pleasure at all to say that this time it was a big mistake to stay there.

There is no customer or residents car park. Limited parking can be found in one of the public car parks if you are lucky. The overall cleanliness was filthy, dusty and dirty. I realise that restoration work is going on outside but inside was nothing short of disgusting. There are no carpets on the floor and the sound of footsteps on the stairs, and other rooms when you are trying to sleep was deafening. The bare floorboards in our room had nails sticking up from them. The lights and bathroom were filthy. The food was mediocre and the service terrible unless you include the resident dog who was very quick to rest his chin on the table. There is no wi-fi or broadband. We sat for an hour waiting for our breakfast order to be taken and can't say much for the quality of that either. When asked about carpets, the reply from one of the landlords was "We haven't decided to have carpets fitted or not". Overall a very diappointing place to stay and in our opinion not fit to be offering acommodation at all. Quite upsetting when I remember how it used to be.

  • James H

  • February 2016

"Every aspect of greatness"

I booked a night stay here as a surprise for my girlfriends birthday.

It's by far the most interesting, cosy and welcoming place we've ever stayed. It's full of quirky antiques with lovely furniture and open fires, the food and drinks were top quality and staff were so friendly. I would recommend the black Swan to anybody looking for a place that's got character and charm.

  • jane b

  • September 2015

The black swan

We loved staying at the black swan for a night after a party in Devizes.

Interesting decor, very old building, good quality sheets and a massive big hot bath. I can recommend the cooked breakfast as a hangover cure.

  • Terence S

  • October 2014

Heart of Wiltshire

Excellent base and good quality accomodation

  • Jason K

  • September 2014

Brilliant

We had a great night here , staff friendly, food was good,room was great (room 4) .

Please remember this building is an old coaching house and over 300 years old so there is lots of character

  • Angela G

  • September 2014

A £65 room at £99

This hotel has a very difficult car park.

The breakfast was burnt on the first morning and it wasn't up to the price we paid for it.

  • G Beardall

  • September 2014

The building is very old and on first look, I did think I had made a mistake, but the staff were very friendly, the room, basic but very clean and everything needed was there.

Due to the age of building the floors are uneven, but it added to the quirkiness. Breakfast was really good.