You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Richmoor Hotel

4

146 The Esplanade, Weymouth, DT4 7NP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (25)

40% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Robert French

  • June 2016

A let down

Our room was more like a 'box' - shoddy, cramped and hot.

TWO beds in a room hardly big enough for one. Outlook through dirty window with broken blinds was also bleak. Constant ( (outside) noise of people and traffic all through the night. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfasts were altogether wonderful.

IF it hadnt been for a bus trip to Portland Bill from Weymouth, we would never go to this area again.

PB was beautiful and steeped in history.

  • R Cooper

  • April 2016

The Richmoor Hotel

We stayed in a double four poster room that faced the esplanade.

Unfortunately we found the road to be noisy for us, which is nothing that the hotel could fix of course.

  • Victoria H

  • March 2016

Not bad

The main hotel; The hotel itself as you walk in, past the bar appears on the face of it fairly modern and it does look clean and tidy.

The reception area was very dated compared to the initial look. As we went to our room on the third floor there was good thick carpet which looked newish, again everything looked clean. On the second floor there was a pile of chairs and "junk" next to the lift. On the bottom floor (restaurant area), the stairs had old tatty carpet, the walls in the stair way looked less clean and there was some tape on the stairs / bottom step, maybe because of safety, either way, it looked scruffy.

At the back of the hotel there is a "car park" which fits around 5 cars. You park leave your keys and block each other in and the hotel staff move your car if necessary. I appreciate its just a car park but our room over looked this. It was like a refuge dump, old chairs, hovers, rubbish all piled up outside. It wasn't very attractive and looked a mess. Can't complain though, it was a free car park and that is useful. The family room;

The bedroom itself contained a double bed and a single bed. It was "en suite" but that is pushing it. The shower and toilet cupboard was extremely small and rammed in to a very small space. The door to the toilet touched the bed when you opened it. The sink itself was in the bedroom. The shower was in need of a clean, lots of limescale and the shower fixing was lose from the wall. It worked though. We were provided with towels, these were one size - small. A little bit bigger than a hand towel. They only just wrapped around me and I'm a size 10. No hand towels, just 3 small bath towels.

There was a kettle, some tea / coffee etc and also a TV. The hairdryer was a typical useless hairdryer that are in most hotels. The room was cleaned, but only after we asked reception if someone could empty our bin and put some more tea bags in the room. They did as requested without any grumbling, but it should have been done that morning. The cleaner was even outside our room and asked whether we were done and could they go in.

Breakfast;

The restaurant was cramped and squashed in and so wasn't very comfortable. Full English was provided which was a reasonable standard. There were limited cereals and on the first day some yoghurts. They had run out on the second day.

So overall, would I stay again. Maybe but it would have to tidied up a bit and more spacious. It was a good location to the beach and centre of Weymouth. Staff were polite and friendly so cannot fault them.

  • ANTHONY LEONARD

  • February 2016

The Richmoor Hotel

Absence of towels on first arrival but was rectified immediately on my request.

  • Hugh W

  • February 2016

Good value for the money

Hotel room was clean.

We were upgraded to a sea view room. Breakfast was plentiful. Staff were friendly. Parking is included in the price, a bonus in Weymouth.

  • K Hutchinson

  • July 2015

Great location but over priced

The Richmoor has a great seafront location with very helpful & friendly staff.

Though I do feel rather over priced, the room was clean & adequate for our needs but at £130 for one night very expensive.

  • oliver h

  • June 2015

awful

room was tiny.

it was so small the door wouldn't open properly there were draws that wouldn't open because there was no room the kettle was broke the spoons were covered in dust. the door had a big hole in it.

  • Irene Alexander

  • April 2015

Very poor quality and finishing touches

Headboard was mouldy and ripped.

Balcony rusty. Downstairs bar no comfort to relax. Service not on hand. Staff friendly and breakfast good. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • S Aldridge

  • March 2015

Acceptable

Had an acceptable stay here for the money.

Room was reasonably clean though the shower had some serious black mould along edges of cubicle and some tiles. Everything was a bit wonky which was odd. The light above the mirror was skewed, the shower taps themselves were slanted. Water pressure was low and temperature was inconsistent. I was a bit miffed with the inability to ask housekeeping not to disturb us, both mornings we were there we were rudely woken by housekeeping at 9 a.m. Not what you want after a big night out. The walls were thin so we could hear everything said in the rooms either side and though we had a lovely sea view, the noise from the main road through the single glazing was enough to wake us in the night. We didn't eat so can't speak to the food. Overall, I've stayed in worse hotels, it's cheap enough for a weekend away but I feel they could improve vastly by remembering that not everyone wants to wake up at 9 a.m. and making the effort not to knock on the doors of guests or have loud discussions about which rooms need cleaning right outside the door of people trying to have a leisurely lie in!

  • e morris

  • March 2015

Excellent value for money, service and breakfast

Very accommodating hosts, fabulous breakfast and free on site car parking, you get alot for the price !