No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Post Office Guest House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Thornhill Road , Swindon, SN3 4RY
The Old Post Office Guest House in South Marston, Wiltshire, combines elegant comfort and state-of-the-art modern conveniences with a sense of history for a relaxing and hospitable home away from home. Our breakfasts are a real treat, all our ingredients are carefully selected from only the finest local produce and freshly prepared daily on the premises to ensure you start your day the right way. The perfect place to stay for business in and around Swindon, we're also an ideal touring base, with the Cotswolds to the north, historic Bath and Bristol to the west, the beautiful Marlborough Downs to the south and Berkshire or Oxfordshire to the east. Whichever way you travel out of the town, you will very shortly arrive at a site of special historic interest, or just a location for a great day out. Our accommodation comprises five spacious and airy bedrooms, four double and one single, all with en-suite bathrooms. Each room is beautifully decorated to encompass a character and warmth that will ensure your stay is a memorable and relaxing one.

Sky in all rooms including sorts, movies and full internet access
Picture of The Old Post Office Guest House, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a welcome!
I was greeted at the door like a long lost friend. My stay was wonderful. The breakfast was so good I had to take a photo of it before I ate. Nice to meet a lady who obviously loves her work, and making people happy. Opera fans might even get a burst of song if they're lucky.

Reviewed by
B Hasler

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
The welcome was like no other we have experienced other than when staying with family. I would find it hard to fault a single thing. What a wonderful place to stay and an equally wonderful breakfast in the morning.
Would have no hesitation in returning. You will not find a better guest house anywhere!

Reviewed by
Debbie S

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warmest of welcomes, fantastic bed, great, locally sourced breakfast
Impossible to fault the service received. Really friendly welcome - but not intrusive in any way. Very conveniently located and easy to find. Only discovered this little gem because all the hotel chains I usually opt for had no vacancies. In this case every cloud has a golden lining......

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lush welcome from an English lady
Fabulous welcome and very clean and tidy too, quaint little place, peaceful and are new. ..loved it will certainly go there again
Helen

Reviewed by
Marie Helen davies

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old fashioned welcome at The Old Post Office
When looking for somewhere to stay close to my destination I have to confess to not spending ages reading the reviews and that was not a mistake as the welcome is warm and friendly, the rooms are both spotless and well furnished. The owners really do go the extra mile and beyond to make sure you have everything you might want and the speciality English Breakfast negates the need to eat again that day!

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter Break
Fantastic time wonderful hosts, best breakfast ever including the opera ! We can highly recommend a visit

Reviewed by
Nicholas Peever

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely welcoming and great value
On arriving I was greeted with a huge hug and a kiss from Jackie the landlady, like a long lost relative.The room was lovely, spotless and a good size. The property is quite quaint in places but the room was modern and fresh with nice decor , it has a very pretty garden which we were also invited to use. There is a good choice for breakfast, which you order the night before and is personally cooked by Jackie in the morning. All very tasty and nicely cooked. There are a number of good eateries for evening meals within a short drive and a couple of pubs in the village. Jackie is eccentric to say the least, but a fabulous hostess- the guest house is great but it is her that makes it unique. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Teal

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning place! So clean and homely, yet well thought out. The choccies in my beautiful room were a lovely touch! Full Sky TV and the thoughtful touches add a sense of luxury. Highly recommended!!

Reviewed by
C Fuentes

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous place, lovely owner, would definately recommend

Reviewed by
G Oliver

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very kind landlord, nice place, delicious food
I cannot like it more

Reviewed by
R YUAN

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next