No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Brace of Pheasants

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Plush, , , Dorchester, DT2 7RQ
Phil and Carol Bennett would like to welcome you to the heart of Plush and the beautiful surrounding countryside of this idyllic Dorset hamlet. Recently awarded Dorset Dining Pub of the Year 2011 by the Good Pub Guide. Please feel free to join us any lunch time or evening to partake of some fine wines, beers and of course our renowned food. You are welcome to bring your family, friends, colleagues or just pop in on your own. We have eight en-suite bedrooms, four in the old skittle alley and the remainder upstairs above the pub. All our rooms have been decorated by interior designer Chrissy Potter and we hope you like them as much as we do. There is some beautiful countryside surrounding our pub with some super walks all around the valley. As you would expect, situated in the heart of Dorset, we have fabulous produce virtually on our doorstep. Below is a list of our suppliers: Meat: George Tucker Butchers in Dorchester, who supplies us with beef from Middlemarsh and Higher Waterstone, lamb from Askerswell and rare breed pork from Godmanstone. Rose Veal from Jurrasic Meat, Winfrith Game: Margret Ralph in Dorchester for all locally sourced venison, pigeon and rabbit Local Shoots for partridge and pheasant in season Fish: Samways of Bridport for locally landed fish Jeff Milner for Portland Crab and diver caught scallops Our menus change daily and range in price from £4 to £8 for starters, £10 to £15 for mains and £5 for a homemade dessert and always keep an eye out for our specials board.
Picture of The Brace of Pheasants, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasent inn getaway
Reasonably welcoming,food good and fairly priced as was the drink. Accommodation good and bathroom big with a very wide bath which filled quickly due to fast flowing tap. One snag was top of stairs where you could bang your head if not careful.

Reviewed by
richard r

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Excellent.

Reviewed by
l thompson

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic country pub still well in touch with reality
What a fantastic place the Brace is. Had been for lunch previously and when the option came to stay I grabbed it with both hands. A thoroughly recommended experience.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night in Plush
The Brace of Pheasants (in a glass case in the breakfast room) is a thatched roofed pub with 8 rooms. We had room 6 over the bar, reached via a steep staircase. Very nicely decorated and furnished with a large double bed, freesat TV, free wifi and a large ensuite bathroom with the most enormous bath, and an shower head above which I struggled to work out how to get the water to flow. Being in the middle of nowhere, we had booked a table for dinner, as did most if not all the other guests. The fresh whole plaice was excellent. My brisket was OK. Full breakfast was excellent too. Being an old pub, the window in the bathroom didn't shut properly. Thankfully it was August, though there was a heater in the bedroom and a heated towel rail in the bathroom. On the whole we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Harvey S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, friendly staff ,

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From Liversedge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
excellent lovely old english inn blissful nights sleep great food a great place recommend anytime

Reviewed by
e lyle

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at the Brace of Pheasants
My wife and I decided to have a short break to Dorset in August found it difficult to find accommodation at all and what there was was very expensive. Laterooms identified this B&B and we were not disappointed. In a v-small village called Plush (I believe) the Brace of Pheasants is a nice looking building, our room was very nice, staff were friendly, food was really good (we ate in the evening there also) and for the money it was fantastic. If I was forced to say anything negative there is some sort of extractor system noise in the room we had which is pub not room related so you can;t switch it off. It didn't stop me sleeping but I guess it could for light sleepers. If anything could be done to reduce that then even better. Its noticeable not terrible. Many thanks to the owners and staff for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
M Lewing

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely village pub, great food.
This was our third visit to The Brace of Pheasants. Lovely quiet village but close to the Jurassic coast and Dorchester. Ideal for touring Dorset. We stayed in one of the four rooms in the old skittle alley at the rear of the pub. Very comfortable and well equipped room. Food is very good and so is the beer.
Ideal for a quite weekend break.

Reviewed by
Chris Stebbings

From Henlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Choice of food for non meat eater limited. Also ran out of non meat starters and main courses which made matters worse.

Reviewed by
anthony f

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Lovely contemporary room, friendly staff and fabulous food. The only downside was I couldn't get internet access or a mobile signal so no good for evening working. However, I would return for a holiday break .

Reviewed by
linda o

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next