No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Garston Cottage

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
28 ASHLEY ROAD Bathford, BATH, BA1 7TT
we are a small B&B 3 miles from Bath with a spa pool and a pool table .Our cottage is situated 3 miles from Bath in a pretty village. It is within easy reach of Bath and many interesting places in the surrounding area including Stonehenge, Avebury, Lacock, Longleat, Wells, Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge etc.
Picture of Garston Cottage, BATH at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guest house with a welcoming host and brilliant breakfast! The setting in the village was lovely, as was the garden! Views to die for. Would definitely recommend!

Reviewed by
Fiona K

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Garston cottage
It was lovely - the owner was very friendly and helpful, gave us advice eg pub, bus, car parks etc.
There is a living room that we used to play games.
We didn't have time to use the garden but it looks very nice with the jacuzzi.
I would definitely recommend and return myself!

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A useful stop over
Weight down by bags and suit bags on arrival no offer of help to get to my room was forthcoming. Instead was given key and pointed in the direction I should be heading. Bedroom quite dated but clean and had everything you would need, except a very soft bed and a broken kettle. Breakfast excellent and flexible time.

Reviewed by
Deborah W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous little find
What a lovely place! It was cosy and they were incredibly welcoming. We would highly recommend to anyone (and we have already!)

Reviewed by
Matthew D

From Cardigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Garston cottage

The room had very little air circulation as the windows were tiny, no air con or fan. a very warm room which meant we didn't get much sleep. The mattress on the double bed was very soft and lumpy....I ended up sleeping in the bottom half of the bunk bed as it was a family room. The bathroom was modern, good sized, powerful shower but shower head was dirty and some of the grouting in the shower wall was discoloured, needed cleaning better. Shower tray was clean. Sink was clean. Very generous with toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast was excellent. Seated on one large table with everyone else made it a social event although space was cramped and felt a little uncomfortable.
Perhaps the room should be reconfigured to allow more space for dining, less lounge area ( which probably doesn't get used anyway?) I would recommend it to friends/ family and would stay there again. Very pretty village location, good pub food locally. Close to Bath.

Reviewed by
Shirley T

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
garston cottage was a great find for visiting Bath, the owners are lovley and helpful. the breakfast was excellent my husband really enjoyed the cooked breakfast. There is an great pub down the road and a regular bu serice which runs into Bath town centre

Reviewed by
stephanie c

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely B&B in lovely countryside setting.
Relaxed and cheerful welcome met us at this lovely little cottage B&B just a few minutes drive outside Bath city centre. Our visit was for an overnight stay to collect our son from University and Garston cottage was the perfect base from which to do this. Myself, my husband and 23yr old daughter shared an adequately sized room with double and single bed, which we found perfectly comfortable. The en-suite shower room was a good size too. The well stocked hot drinks tray including some lovely biscuits and Horlicks was very welcome after our long journey and the sweetie dish a nice touch too!
We woke up to beautiful countryside views which tempted my husband into a little wander to the nearby village shop for a morning paper ( and daughters's forgotten toothbrush!)
Breakfast included croissants, fresh fruit salad, prunes, grapefruit, yoghurt, toast with choice of preserves, marmalade, even Nutella! The full English cooked breakfast was lovely which we thought was just the right amount, though may not be enough for some people.
The guest lounge was relaxed and comfortable with a large selection of books, videos and toys suitable for all ages and tastes.
All in all a relaxing and extremely good value (for this area in particular) B&B, will definitely be back hopefully for a longer stay next time and would definitely not hesitate in bringing my younger children.
(On their best behaviour though as the room's sound proofing not great with it being an older property.)

Reviewed by
Kay B

From Retford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet place int Bathford
Lovely cottage in Bathford, nicely decorated rooms. Very friendly landlady. Good pub within walking distance: crownbathford.co.uk

Reviewed by
Ladislav CZAP

From Vienna, Austria
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely character B&B
We usually stay in hotels but chose a B&B for a change. It was a lovely place and lady running it was really nice. Room was lovely and clean and had all we needed. Although we still prefer hotels I would recommend garston cottage for character and personal factor

Reviewed by
S Garman

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not fault it
Excellent place for us to base ourselves for mini break in Bath. lovely room for 3 of us with delightful view across rolling hills. Lovely lounge area we could use with extensive DVD and video collection making it a home from home when required on rainy day. Bus to Bath 3 minute walk away, preventing need to take car in on busy Friday. Good resources available for ideas of things to do. Breakfast was amazing.

Reviewed by
Maryanne Cook

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next