Garston Cottage

3

28 ASHLEY ROAD Bathford, BATH, BA1 7TT

Price From 170.94 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • stephanie c

  • June 2014

pleasant stay

garston cottage was a great find for visiting Bath, the owners are lovley and helpful.

the breakfast was excellent my husband really enjoyed the cooked breakfast. There is an great pub down the road and a regular bu serice which runs into Bath town centre

  • Matthew D

  • June 2014

Fabulous little find

What a lovely place.

It was cosy and they were incredibly welcoming. We would highly recommend to anyone (and we have already!)

  • Shirley T

  • June 2014

Garston cottage

The room had very little air circulation as the windows were tiny, no air con or fan.

a very warm room which meant we didn't get much sleep. The mattress on the double bed was very soft and lumpy....I ended up sleeping in the bottom half of the bunk bed as it was a family room. The bathroom was modern, good sized, powerful shower but shower head was dirty and some of the grouting in the shower wall was discoloured, needed cleaning better. Shower tray was clean. Sink was clean. Very generous with toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast was excellent. Seated on one large table with everyone else made it a social event although space was cramped and felt a little uncomfortable.

Perhaps the room should be reconfigured to allow more space for dining, less lounge area ( which probably doesn't get used anyway?) I would recommend it to friends/ family and would stay there again. Very pretty village location, good pub food locally. Close to Bath.

  • Kay B

  • June 2014

Homely B&B in lovely countryside setting.

Relaxed and cheerful welcome met us at this lovely little cottage B&B just a few minutes drive outside Bath city centre.

Our visit was for an overnight stay to collect our son from University and Garston cottage was the perfect base from which to do this. Myself, my husband and 23yr old daughter shared an adequately sized room with double and single bed, which we found perfectly comfortable. The en-suite shower room was a good size too. The well stocked hot drinks tray including some lovely biscuits and Horlicks was very welcome after our long journey and the sweetie dish a nice touch too. We woke up to beautiful countryside views which tempted my husband into a little wander to the nearby village shop for a morning paper ( and daughters's forgotten toothbrush!)

Breakfast included croissants, fresh fruit salad, prunes, grapefruit, yoghurt, toast with choice of preserves, marmalade, even Nutella. The full English cooked breakfast was lovely which we thought was just the right amount, though may not be enough for some people. The guest lounge was relaxed and comfortable with a large selection of books, videos and toys suitable for all ages and tastes. All in all a relaxing and extremely good value (for this area in particular) B&B, will definitely be back hopefully for a longer stay next time and would definitely not hesitate in bringing my younger children. (On their best behaviour though as the room's sound proofing not great with it being an older property.)

  • Ladislav CZAP

  • May 2014

Quiet place int Bathford

Lovely cottage in Bathford, nicely decorated rooms.

Very friendly landlady. Good pub within walking distance: crownbathford.co.uk

  • S Garman

  • May 2014

Lovely character B&B

We usually stay in hotels but chose a B&B for a change.

It was a lovely place and lady running it was really nice. Room was lovely and clean and had all we needed. Although we still prefer hotels I would recommend garston cottage for character and personal factor

  • Maryanne Cook

  • May 2014

Could not fault it

Excellent place for us to base ourselves for mini break in Bath.

lovely room for 3 of us with delightful view across rolling hills. Lovely lounge area we could use with extensive DVD and video collection making it a home from home when required on rainy day. Bus to Bath 3 minute walk away, preventing need to take car in on busy Friday. Good resources available for ideas of things to do. Breakfast was amazing.

  • Tina J

  • May 2014

Garston Cottage

Very average B/B.

A bit too far away from the nearest pub/restaurant unless taking the car. Small room. Very pleasant owner. Traditional breakfast good.

  • P Smith

  • May 2014

lovely room, great breakfast

Our lovely bedroom looked out over the cricket pitch and countryside beyond -between the houses opposite.

The weather was lovely too. Large well cooked breakfast and helpful hostess. Very easy to get into Bath from the cottage

  • Stephen C

  • May 2014

A very nice place to stay.

Food and quality of the accommodation is first class and the place has a proper 'home feeling'. Location is in a quite village location, but not too far to drive into Bath. Lovely views of the countryside around.