No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eliot Arms by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Eliot Arms Hotel Clarks Hay, Gloucestershire, GL7 5UA
The Eliot Arms at South Cerney is one of Marston's most popular Inns especially appealing to overseas visitors as well as British tourists. Its attraction is the fact it is a 16th Century typical Cotswold stone hotel and pub that simply oozes character. Located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park and close to Cirencester, Cheltenham and all the Cotswold sights, the Inn offers a relaxing environment from which to explore this beautiful part of the country. It is the perfect place to unwind, either in the friendly bar or garden areas. Simply let the stresses and strains of everyday life float away.

There are 8 en-suite letting rooms which include four poster rooms, one of which has a separate living room and can be used as a family room. For locals, there is a skittle alley which can be easily converted into a function room for parties, christenings and other occasions. Dining at the Eliot Arms is always a pleasure as this friendly Inn offers a selection of good quality food to enjoy in either the bar or restaurant. On those warm, sunny days and evenings, the garden is available too.

Our food is served all day, and is complemented with a superb choice of beers, lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks. Harry and Helen and their helpful, friendly team await your visit.

Please note, we are a no smoking hotel.
Picture of Eliot Arms by Marstons , Gloucestershire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast served too early at the weekend, didn't have it both mornings, even though we had paid for it! Should be served between 8am - 10am
Bar staff friendly, room was very clean.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly pub!!
We only stayed one night but would definitely go back. Although the room was basic, it had everything you needed and was very clean. The staff are all extremely friendly and overall, we had a great time.

Reviewed by
Stephen K

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Eliot Arms
I stayed here 1 night for business reasons. I was very happy with my stay and will stay there again.
The rooms were very clean with all the basic facilities you expect in a room. Bar staff were really friendly. The food was lovely and plenty of space inside to dine. I arrived on curry night but they also do normal food as well. Nearby to the pub is a sandwich shop, indian restaurant, post office etc. There is some room for parking and if thats full there are streets nearby to park on.

Reviewed by
A Haslam

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value basic accommodation in a beautiful area
Our group of 4 booked 2 ensuite rooms in this attractive old pub. The rooms were a good size,one had a decent sized bathroom, the other (room 306) was more of a cupboard where you had to squeeze past the shower to sit on the loo. Both were tired with cracked tiles and grubby grouting. The pub itself was pleasant enough if a bit dark and cluttered.There was a good selection of beers and the food and breakfasts were also good.

Reviewed by
wendy C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All were excellent even more special was a lady who served us breakfast, was friendly,polite. making feel us like in home. so nice.

Reviewed by
man l

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at the Eliot Arms in September 2014
We stayed for four nights in September. The pub was very well situated for sight-seeing around the general area. The room was fine, and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The bedlinen was white, and very clean, and the bed was comfortable.The full english breakfasts were superb every day. We would definitely stay here again if we are visiting the South Cerney area.

Reviewed by
Joy M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 blokes on bikes
Fine for our needs. Good location and breakfast.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
From the friendly welcome to the very nice room we very much enjoyed our stay at the Eliot Arms.

Reviewed by
c colquhoun

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Break
The room was great, the service was excellent and the food was awesome!
The staff were always helpful and friendly, I look forward to when it will be refurbished if they are only changing the furniture as the mattress was terrible and there wsant great lighting for doing your make up in the room but everything else was perfect. I would definitely go back

Reviewed by
S Jadavji

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Break
A very comfortable stay in a convenient position for visiting many interesting places. very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
D Hickman

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next