No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Eliot Arms by Marstons

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Eliot Arms Hotel Clarks Hay, Gloucestershire, GL7 5UA
The Eliot Arms at South Cerney is one of Marston's most popular Inns especially appealing to overseas visitors as well as British tourists. Its attraction is the fact it is a 16th Century typical Cotswold stone hotel and pub that simply oozes character. Located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park and close to Cirencester, Cheltenham and all the Cotswold sights, the Inn offers a relaxing environment from which to explore this beautiful part of the country. It is the perfect place to unwind, either in the friendly bar or garden areas. Simply let the stresses and strains of everyday life float away.

There are 8 en-suite letting rooms which include four poster rooms, one of which has a separate living room and can be used as a family room. For locals, there is a skittle alley which can be easily converted into a function room for parties, christenings and other occasions. Dining at the Eliot Arms is always a pleasure as this friendly Inn offers a selection of good quality food to enjoy in either the bar or restaurant. On those warm, sunny days and evenings, the garden is available too.

Our food is served all day, and is complemented with a superb choice of beers, lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks. Harry and Helen and their helpful, friendly team await your visit.

Please note, we are a no smoking hotel.
Picture of Eliot Arms by Marstons , Gloucestershire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away for a wedding
Evening meals need more vegetarian options but the pub and stay was excellent. The place is like a tar dis with depth and width which keeps going. Its so deceiving from the road view.
I would recommend this to anyone

Reviewed by
A Boggon

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Nikki V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate, but nothing special.
Great location, good pub vibe. Rooms adequate with good en-suite. Bed was quite hard. English breakfast was fine, just what you'd expect.

Reviewed by
seamus a

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gateway to the Cotswolds
The Eliot Arms is located in South Cerney - a tiny place with not a lot going on, but it provides a great base for exploring the Cotswolds. The room provided (a twin) was very spacious and clean, which equally applied to the en suite bathroom. However, the shower was very poor! - the water pressure was variable, but mainly a meer trickle making it completely useful for serving its purpose. The cooked breakfast (included) was a generous portion and fuelled us up for a day of exploring. We also chose to eat at the pub on the evening we arrived but was very disappointed. One of our chosen items was not available (which we were only told on ordering) and the starter took 1 hour 20 minutes to arrive - nachos do not take that long to prepare! Then another long wait for our main courses ensued. Given that this was a mid-week evening and there was only two of us, I found this pretty poor service with no apologies for the wait. As long as you're not expecting a smart hotel, the accommodation is sufficient for a night or two. Overall the room did the job of providing us with a base to explore the area.

Reviewed by
A Ash

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
Just the job

Reviewed by
Rob Lowe

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Really good value for money, friendly staff, great food

Reviewed by
Tina G

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Very nice hotel in the Costwolds, perfect for a relaxing weekend. Clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
G Delas

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Spot
Stayed at the Eliot Arms with my parents, whilst visiting family in South Cerney. Lovely welcome, and spotless rooms. Dad much appreciated the Full English!

Reviewed by
J Hardy

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was perfect for my comitments for the weekend
I asked if it was possible for breakfast at 7 am and it was no problem for them to do it.this helped me to get to where i was going at the right time.food in the evening was very good and the beers on tap were just what i was expecting.

Reviewed by
KEITH J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break

Reviewed by
denise r

From Abergele, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next