No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Lodge

4Self Classified Apartment Ratings explained
Symonds Yat East, , , Ross on Wye, HR9 6JL
The Royal Lodge at Symonds Yat East has an idyllic setting in the heart of the Wye Valley. It is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty where the River Wye cuts a swathe through a wooded gorge on the edge of the spectacular Royal Forest of Dean. Nestled just below Symonds Yat Rock, it stands exclusively in grounds of almost 5 acres overlooking the river. It has terraced gardens of magnolia trees and a well established wisteria. The Royal was originally built in 1876 as a royal hunting lodge and was converted to a hotel in the 1920's. The Royal Lodge is an ideal place to spend a relaxing break in a beautiful setting. It is in close proximity to numerous outdoor activities such as canoeing, abseiling, caving, kayaking, golf, cycling, walking and horse-riding. The hotel is also well situated to explore the Wye Valley, Brecon Beacons, Black Mountains and the South Wales coast. It boasts 20 ensuite bedrooms, which are arranged to take advantage of our unique position on the edge of the River Wye and make the most of the views. Every room faces the tranquil river. We have a comfortable family lounge where you can enjoy our real fire in winter and where you can read or play board-games. We are a dog friendly property but only some rooms are available for dogs to stay in. Please contact us directly to request a dog room prior to arrival.
Picture of Royal Lodge, Ross on Wye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not 4 star hotel staff very pleasant the whole place looks dated

Reviewed by
john smith

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful riverside setting
Fantastic hotel. Superb location between forest and river -so beautiful and tranquil. Wonderful walks and boat trips right on your doorstep. Very considerate and welcoming staff. Delicious food - we were happy to have all our meals there. Thanks for a very happy weekend.

Reviewed by
Gill I

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
We stayed in the delux double room. With views of the river. It's a fantastic place to stay. Great views lots of places to visit. Staff are fantastic very friendly and courteous. Only very minor drawback was that the showers where quite weak.

Reviewed by
Owain Blackman

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely area and great walks.
Nice clean hotel.
Clean good sized room, very dark had the light on all the time I was in it, one small window.
Never had to pay by the night to take my dog before!
Claims to be dog friendly but that's not the impression I got.
Was criticized for using late rooms!
Not much on the menu for vegetarians, nothing for vegans.
Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.
Lovely walks and places to see and eat out.


Never had to pay to take my dog with me before!
Claimed to be dog friendly but not the impression I got.

Reviewed by
s watts

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, great staff and great food
We stayed here whilst canoeing down the Wye. Recommend you book a table if you want food in advance. The only other place to eat was fully booked! It was very busy but the hotel managed to get us in. Staff were very helpful and attentive.
No shower in our room which meant i had to have a bath but it wasn't a major issue. Make sure you ask for one in advance if itd bother you!
I will be going back!

Reviewed by
Matthew L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic scenery
What a gem of a place the location is fantastic not what I expected. You must take a camera

Reviewed by
John N

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a great weekend at Royal Lodge. A terrible journey down the motorway meant we arrived too late for an evening meal. Staff offered to make us fish and chips which was very welcome, followed by a nice desert. Oh and couple of pints of wye valley bitter.
Very welcoming and I would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
m ogden

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hideaway
Great hotel. lovely location, friendly staff one of the best views I've had from my window.
I had a small double that still had plenty of room.
Only downside breakfast served too late for anyone going to work 8.30 and Wi-Fi bad.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable
Only stayed for one night at this hotel it was right next to the river wye a lovely location would stay here again .

Reviewed by
E Withers

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location will definately return
Staff excellent, service excellent, food excellent, will definitely return

Reviewed by
A Swainson

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next