You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Royal Lodge


Symonds Yat East, ,, Ross on Wye, HR9 6JL

Price From 159.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

69% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • John Alexander

  • October 2016

Highly recommended, beautiful location and great customer service

A great hotel in a beautiful location, with very friendly and helpful staff.

I was traveling alone, and only required a single room which was adequate for my stay. I had booked up for a 3 day stay, but unfortunately I badly sprained my ankle on the first day and went home. Amy was able to arrange that I could carry over the 2 remaining nights to a later date when I had recovered. Very grateful, many thanks

  • L Feeney

  • June 2016

Lovely location, poor accommodation, dog hair on bed, dog barking in adjacent room, dirty room

Staff were all very young and extremely polite shame about the rest of the hotel just dirty bedding not clean with lots of dog hairs no sink in the bathroom it was across the other side of the bedroom definitely not a 4 star I would say a 2 star at a push would not stay there again.

Room very overpriced !!!!

  • Stephanie B

  • May 2016

Royal Lodge

Very helpful when arrived, lovely area with great views of the river.

Room was huge and very clean. High standards and looked new. It was the oak suite, not sure how the other rooms were in comparison.

It did seem that if you had the nicer rooms you were seated in the nicer area for breakfast and dinner but that was our assumption. Very nice food. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Marc G

  • March 2016

Royal Lodge

Lovely stay in a well run hotel in a great location.

  • P O'keeffe

  • March 2016


Would highly recommend.

.. ha a fabulous stay

  • Claire A

  • August 2015

Royal Lodge

Lovely views, rooms a bit tired but okay for budget stay.

  • Michael M

  • July 2015

Better to avoid or have very - very small expectations even if paid a lot

No wi-fi in the room, even staff reassured it was available.

I have been asked if a Daily Mail needed in the morning, answer yes, however - never received, asked several times for it, in the evening got an answer- the post boy is sick. When arrived asked for ironing board with iron, day later received the board only, with huge hole in the middle, was told that irons are not available. Had been told on arriving that if any questions- just phone reception, however there was no desk phone in the room, when mentioned this at the reception- got the answer that not all rooms have a phone. And our room was number 20, £198 for two nights!. What a Joke!!

  • K McDonald

  • April 2015

Excellent stay

The Royal Lodge is a lovely hotel on the edge of the River Wye and links to multiple different walks/hikes around the area.

Excellent food and fantastic customer service from all the staff.

  • steve mitchell

  • February 2015


Great getaway phones don't work, fantastic views great walks,defiantly recommend to relax ,staff friendly and helpful good selection of beers and ales,excellent menu choice,you won't go Hungary

  • Emma R

  • January 2015

Lovely clean and welcoming county hotel with gorgeous views!

The hotel staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful.

The room was very clean and well maintained, lovely view out over the river wye. Lots of walks nearby but also close to Ross on Wye and Hereford, perfect for a country get away. The food was gorgeous, cooked perfectly and not too expensive. Only tiny issue is that the tv kept cutting out in the room!