No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Court Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
43 Bridge Street , , , Witney, OX28 1DA
The Old Court Hotel has turned over a new leaf. All our rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, with easy on the eye tasteful decor, with well placed mixture of modern and antique furniture to give our rooms a warm homely feel. Practical and well maintained, the Old Court Hotel Witney is perfect for exploring the Cotswolds and its lovely villages and ancient towns. It is an easy drive to Woodstock's Blenheim Palace as well as to the city of Oxford, which is known for its architecture and university. Situated farther afield is Stratford, a visitor favourite known for its Shakespearean attractions. Downtown Witney is a short drive and it is home to a large leisure centre and several sports facilities for golfing, rugby and football. The Cogges Farm Museum is near the hotel. The restaurant on site specialises in Thai and Chinese cuisine. The Market town of Witney in the Oxfordshire Cotswold is on the River Windrush, 10 miles from Oxford. Witney is the largest town in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds and has grown rapidly over the last 50 years but still retains the feel of a charming and bustling market town with an excellent range of shops and a twice weekly market. Once famous across the world for its blanket making, gloves and other woollen goods. Much of the town's architecture reflects the prosperity brought by the woollen trade. Witney Lake and Meadows is a tranquil haven for wildlife just a short walk from the town centre. Get away from it all with a walk around a beautiful lake and through peaceful fields. Just a few miles from Witney you will find Blenheim Palace, home of the 11th Duke of Marlborough and birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill.
Picture of The Old Court Hotel, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Premium double room
Everything really good. One recommendation for the hotel; the shower in the room generates a lot of humidity and there is no extractor fan so the room gets very warm and sticky.

Reviewed by
Nick Smith

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Thank's
Noise unbelievable no rest. Beds were cossy enough, but you couldn't sleep due to noise. Car park was tight, Rooms wrere tight. I booked the rooms (2) and We were all disappointed to say the least.

Reviewed by
richard p

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No major complaints
having read the prev reviews i was prepared for the relatively minuscule parking area - not disappointed, as had to reverse onto busy road which was fun! That aside the hotel was fine, decent room & average breakfast. only other negative comment was that the room has just a double socket which isn't ideal nowadays plus the wi-fi was down... Proprietor was wonderfully friendly & I would certainly use the hotel again...

Reviewed by
peter lewis

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but a real pleasure!
I had read reviews on trip advisor and was a bit apprehensive about the Old Court, but never judge a place on reviews alone! When we arrived we were greeted by the owner Julian and his dogs. A warm, friendly and enthusiastic welcome was just what we needed....and a beer! Admittedly the room we were allocated was at the front of the hotel which is on a busy road. This was one of the driving factors behind the bad reviews the hotel had received but if people did their research they would not have anything to complain about. The sleep quality was not great but this is no reflection on Julian or the Old Court. In fact, when we mentioned it in the morning, he immediately moved us to room 12, an exquisite converted barn. Yes, the hotel and everything about it is quirky but I wouldn't change it for all the tea in china. Those who leave poor reviews obviously do not had any thought about how hard an industry the service industry is and Julian is a great example of how to do it very well. Thank you Old Court, we will be back for next years Feastival!

Reviewed by
Mary Lodge

From Gillingham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A tired inn
It provided us with a room for the night but its not a place I would return to. We did get a good welcome from the owners and their dogs however we were very disappointed with our family room. It was not that clean and the bathroom had mould on the ceiling. In the corridor there was paint flaking off the wall. Breakfast was mixed. Some items were overcooked and some undercooked. It is a place that requires a renovation.

Reviewed by
Colin M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has Potential
The Old Coach House is under new management, they had only been there a week during my stay.
The couple were delightful. Very pleasant, eager to please and interested in customers feedback on the place and new menu.
The bar area reminded me of something out of the Raffles hotel in Singapore. It has old oriental and new modern aspects to it that work really well; with a mix of large cloth and leather comfy sofa's. Log burners and open fires with a separate dining area.
The food was lovely with a menu that I could have chosen anything from.
What lets this place down is the damp foisty smell from the moment you walk up the stairs to the accommodation all the way into the room.
The place is tired and just needs some TLC which the new management is aware of. However the first thing I would advise is to sort out the plumbing. The toilet when flushed makes the water come back up the shower plug which then makes the shower room smell and if the door isn't closed the rest of the room will too. The shower room was tiny and needs replacing, if your bigger than average you may have a problem.
I would definitely give this place another try in a few months when the new management has had time to get to grips with the place only because they were such a lovely couple and I can see the potential in the place. Good luck to them.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place.
Perfect for what we needed.
Fantastic, very helpful staff and a nice room.

Reviewed by
Liam H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My third visit, I don`t need to look for anywhere else in the area!

Reviewed by
john o

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay!
My colleague and I needed a room near our customer. The Old Court Hotel was nearby, good value and comfortable. The proprietor was very friendly, and looked after us royally. Unusually we had the chance of 'Plat du Jour', a mainly French idea, where you all eat from a common source, although a la carte was available. We all ate a splendid roast chicken meal, home cooked and fresh.
The rooms were comfortable, clean and tidy with all the facilities you would ever need. This hotel is a country market town hotel, and may not suit those wishing for the type of hotel that you would find in a big city. If you are looking for a friendly, homely clean and cheerful place, this is highly reccomended.

Reviewed by
Les G

From Pevensey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking
The Old Court Hotel is advertised with parking!Its a joke, a small rear yard is provided,yes it holds several cars but when you are in you are in,you can not turn or hardly move!The hotel is situated on a very busy main road island,you have to reverse out onto this island.there is also an old Barn that you can park under,if you do your car is covered with Pigeon mess.We returned at 10pm on Sat night to find the entrance to the yard locked!fortunately I have an Invalid Badge and was able to park some distance away on double yellow lines otherwise there is no Parking available!!!!The owner was not interested in my plight and just said the yard was full.On checking we could have got in but he was just too busy entertaining friends to re-open the Gates!!!

Reviewed by
j parker

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next