No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Court Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
43 Bridge Street , , , Witney, OX28 1DA
The Old Court Hotel has turned over a new leaf. All our rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, with easy on the eye tasteful decor, with well placed mixture of modern and antique furniture to give our rooms a warm homely feel.

Practical and well maintained, the Old Court Hotel Witney is perfect for exploring the Cotswolds and its lovely villages and ancient towns. It is an easy drive to Woodstock's Blenheim Palace as well as to the city of Oxford, which is known for its architecture and university.

Situated farther afield is Stratford, a visitor favourite known for its Shakespearean attractions. Downtown Witney is a short drive and it is home to a large leisure centre and several sports facilities for golfing, rugby and football. The Cogges Farm Museum is near the hotel. The restaurant on site specialises in Thai and Chinese cuisine.

The Market town of Witney in the Oxfordshire Cotswold is on the River Windrush, 10 miles from Oxford. Witney is the largest town in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds and has grown rapidly over the last 50 years but still retains the feel of a charming and bustling market town with an excellent range of shops and a twice weekly market. Once famous across the world for its blanket making, gloves and other woolen goods. Much of the town's architecture reflects the prosperity brought by the woolen trade.

Witney Lake and Meadows is a tranquil haven for wildlife just a short walk from the town centre. Get away from it all with a walk around a beautiful lake and through peaceful fields. Just a few miles from Witney you will find Blenheim Palace, home of the 11th Duke of Marlborough and birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill.
Picture of The Old Court Hotel, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lucy Choice
We were not sure about staying here until we entered the hotel to be greeted by the Owner who from the start was only concerned about us having a good time going above and beyond to make sure we did! I can certainly only sing high praises about the staff and characterful building and especially the cleanliness. If I need to stay in Witney again I will be very upset but not surprised if The Old Court is fully booked!

Reviewed by
A Morton

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
I`ve stayed several times now since April in a different room every time. The room standard has been consistently high & all very comfortable.

Reviewed by
John O

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly wonderful weekend, excellent host and accomodation
A party of eight, ranging from 20 to 62, descended upon Jules quirky boutique hotel whilst attending a wedding in Oxford, an easy bus ride away. We were warmly greeted by our most amenable host and his very well behaved dogs. Absolutely nothing was too much to ask for and every effort was made by all of the staff to ensure that our stay was comfortable.
The bar and restaurant area of the hotel is very tasteful and comfortable and boasts a lovely snug area with a cheerful open fire.
Each of our rooms had their own charector. One room created in an old cow barn boasts original stone features and huge shower, another is snugly and hobbit like and fitted out both two large double beds. A further room holds a draped four poster bed, and large ensuite resplendent with a jacuzzi bath which proved large enough to fit four soldiers!
Every bed was very comfortable with good linen and feather pillows.
Housekeeping was very good and all the rooms were equipped with tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries.
Breakfasts were fresh, tasty and sufficient to fill hungry squadies.
The main menu looks very enticing but we had to fit in a wedding! Sunday carvery was enormous with a choice of four roasts and every conceivable side dish. We all loved our meal and friends who called in looked on with envy whilst questioning why they had stayed at a Premiere inn when they could have been at what turned out to be a fantastic private party.

Reviewed by
Martin O'malley

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom
The bedroom was tiny, therefore cramped, nowhere to sit. The view was over galvanized roofs of sheds and outhouses.The shower water pressure was low.
It was very poor value for the price and it will not be on our list for a return visit.

Reviewed by
R Day

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel

Reviewed by
Agnieszka L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought the room was a joke!
The room nr 12, had a shower in the middle of the room!!! With no privacy what so ever! The toilet was behind a curtain and it was also a wardrobe?!
The window would not shut so I put two pillows in there but there was still a cold draught throughout the night! And when I told the manager he said he knew about it .. Can't believe he's renting out a room that isn't to standard. Could have been very embarrassing with the shower/toilet situation!!
Will not stay there again!

ManagementResponse

Dear Camelia Sirbu, I am quite saddened by your review, therefore would like to make a managers response, room 12 is a superior room, yes with a shower in room, it is a specially designed room from what was once a stable form the 18 th century. Very quirky. Only 1 in a 100 ever react like you have here. If not happy when first going in you should have asked for another, but seeing you before you went out and asking if you were happy, received a reply that you were. It was out on a very low price during this week at £65.00 for two and to include breakfast. When arriving you are explained where and how to regain entrance to the hotel after closing along with what time breakfast is. 7.30 / 9.30. I would like to start by saying that at 6.55 is not the time to demand breakfast. Although the window was slightly open and explained that I was waiting for a maintenance man to come and make good had had no complaints prior to your stay. Which I may say Has now as I had said been done. With regards to your other low scores of cleanliness food quality and friendly service find you totally out of touch. My housekeepers keep a high standard and I personally cook. In total I do not agree with what you have done and find it an insult that you have reacted in such a two faced way and I fact quite happy that you will not return. The owner

Reviewed by
C Sirbu

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique Comfy Hotel
Clean comfy and homely. Open fire in the lounge, home cooking in the restaurant and a jovial "Mein Host!)... Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
James L

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay overnight in Witney, Oxfordshire
A Great and friendly welcome by the landlord. The food was of the highest quality and Quantity. Will be sure to visit again when in Witney overnight.

Reviewed by
Peter Hawker

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel, it was a great experience and would recommend this hotel to everyone

Reviewed by
Shelley Furey

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisey as bedroom right on the main road which was busy all night long!!Although the manager reassured me it went quiet at night when i asked to be moved. We were above the bar so noise form tv too. also the owner put tv on in there at 06.00hrs to watch grand prix had it on really loud. Curtains did not fit window so let in street light. huge bed for a tiny room. Tiny bathroom with a very noisy toilet system which made noises all night!! Never encountered anthing like this before. The list goes on and on and on.........

ManagementResponse

The first guest to turn up and wait for his partner, he was very friendly and we chatted in the bar about their visit and about the local area. When the lady who wrote this came complaining of headache, I gave her some pills. Actually I could tell this was going to be a difficult person. She came back into the bar and sat down bringing her tea from the room. She did say the room was noisy but it was more today with her headache and being overly sensitive. I did assure her that the traffic would slow down and would be less noisy later. Not at anyone point did either ask to be moved as I would have done so right away. The noise from the bar was turned down and only on in the lounge which is nowhere near any rooms. I had actually had a conversation with them saying I was up early to watch it. I was very friendly with both and even shaking hand when they left. I am so saddened by this as I was very friendly and as helpful as possible. Not at any one point did this guest make any suggestion of any type of review would come. This is a 3 star hotel we work very hard to ensure that all rooms are kept to a high standard and kept at the cheapest in the area. If unhappy I would have moved you right away, but in fact was told would be ok as it was only the ladies headache. Basically I work hard and long hours ever week to ensure customers enjoy there stay and if unhappy with anything will work a hard to make sure this sort of two faced review does not happen.

Reviewed by
janet low

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next