No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stanton House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Avenue,Stanton Fitzwarren , Swindon, SN6 7SD
Overlooking a lake and parkland, this idyllic stone house nestles amid picturesque Wiltshire countryside, fusing traditional English surroundings with a hint of the Far East.

A traditional-style Japanese restaurant complements the European cuisine also available in the hotel, making for an innovative and unusual addition to this country retreat. Choose from a range of comfortable accommodation in which you can relax and unwind, with satellite TV. There are 4 versatile function rooms to cater for any group occasion, and ample car parking makes it a little easier to explore the beautiful Wiltshire area.

Double bedrooms are all equipped with Televisions (selected digital channels and Radio), Direct dial telephone, fridge and Tea/Coffee making facilities. Ensuite bathroom and Hair dryer.

Our 4 poster rooms are luxuriously large and spacious. All elegantly decorated and furnished with mahogany furniture.

Wi-Fi access is available throughout the hotel, free of charge.
Picture of Stanton House Hotel, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let down by the kitchen
Everything was fine except for the evening meal. Soup mediocre with soggy croutons. The steak was not cheap but tasted just awful, like it had acquired the coating from a stale griddle. Even the ('triple-cooked' =????) chips tasted very peculiar. Left most of it. Breakfast ok though but very average.

Reviewed by
Phil R

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tawney owl
Very good, friendly and helpfull

Reviewed by
G Blasi

From Watford, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swindon luxury
Excellent hotel and grounds.
Very good base for visiting Swindon and surrounding area.
Breakfast was very good.
Staff were excellent.
Would definitely stay here again if I need to stay at or near Swindon.

Reviewed by
C Evers

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic, business-focused hotel.
I found the Stanton House Hotel to be a pretty bland and uninspiring place. Everything worked and the staff were pleasant but nothing stood out as particularly great. The entrance foyer had the air of a somewhat tired hotel. The restaurant had one massive work group in it, with only me and one other solo diner. My tuna nigiri sushi had good rice but the tuna was very poor. My tempura udon ramen was better but still really not that great. The whole restaurant had a tired feel about it. My room was ok: the bed very soft, the curtains only just closed, the bathroom fan really noisy, the hot water took a long time to come and the TV had only six channels.
It seems a pity as the building and grounds are amazing. This place could be so much more.

Reviewed by
C R

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

urgent accom required
Just the ticket for a week's break

Reviewed by
mark hilton

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A favourite place to stay, with one tiny niggle
Its a stunning location, beautiful decor and surroundings. Its also got a Japanese themed restaurant so I try and stay here if i can when needing a bolt hole near Swindon. I rarely need much more than a good evening meal and a bed as its always a mid trip-stopover for me.
On this occasion I arrived at 22.10 but was disappointed to find that even though the restaurant stopped serving at 21.45, reasonably understandable, there was no other form of food available. Once you discounted the small selection of crisps and nuts at the bar, there was nothing. Considering they obviously had at least one conference on plus a wedding reception to be told the kitchen would not be open again until 6 the next morning was a bit of a surprise for a hotel such as this. They couldn't even make a sandwich or raid the breakfast supplies for a crafty croissant. Unfortunately its very rural so unless you want to head back onto the M4, its Nobby Nuts and a beer for the hungry late arriver.

Reviewed by
M Griffin

From Newtown, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

swindon hideaway
Very clean, friendly hotel. Nice grounds and willing staff who aim to help whenever they can.
Not the biggest of rooms but I had booked a single.

Reviewed by
Michele g

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost great!
I've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and always been happy. On this visit, which was longer than usual, I found that the bar staff on the first night were a bit disorganised and I felt I'd been ignored at the bar for a while.
Other than that though, the service here is always excellent.

Reviewed by
christopher a

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Stayed to attend my sons graduation and the accommodation was excellent. Staff were very efficient and accommodating and teh surroundings, despite the heat were brilliant. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Nisbet

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Stanton House Hotel
Everything was fine

Reviewed by
Ruth Wilson

From Stockport , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next