No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shirley B&B

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
81 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth, BH2 5DR
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley Hotel. This family run Bournemouth B&B is situated on the favoured West Cliff. It offers great value for money in this wonderful location being just five minutes walk from Bournemouth town centre with its shops, cinemas, theatre, restaurants and bars. Not forgetting our close proximity to the seven glorious miles of award winning sandy beaches.

The Shirley Hotel is a friendly, comfortable hotel with a hearty full English breakfast included in the price. The building dates back to the 1820s, but the accommodation has now been modernised and offers free wireless internet connection, colour TV and tea and coffee making facilities in every bedroom. With a variety of single, twin, double, treble and family rooms, all ensuite this guesthouse will suit everyone from conference delegates and businessmen to singles, couples, families and groups. We are a pet friendly Bournemouth B&B and allow them to stay free of charge with their owners
Picture of Shirley B&B, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, welcoming, cost hotel. Great value, freak location, lovely owners, peaceful and really clean and comfortable, would stay again and would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Sarah E

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shirley Hotel comments and review
The Shirley Hotel offers clean and comfortable accommodation close to the town and seafront. A small hotel having had a refurbishment, bedrooms are modern and bright.

Reviewed by
j woodward

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable and good value for money!
Would recommend and would return here... Very clean. Paid more for much less at other places. Some rooms we walked past looked much nicer than our room...but was perfectly ok all the same

Reviewed by
G Lee

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
The room was nice and refurbished and the hotel is only 5 minutes away from the beach but the breakfast was quite poor. The owner was helpful at times but I felt we could have been greeted into the hotel a lot better to feel more welcome also the shower was very temperamental I proabably wouldn't stay here again.

Reviewed by
Joanne N

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly family

Reviewed by
ronald wright

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Photos a bit misleading
Clean but somewhat noisy. Had to have window open as suffocating on 2nd floor which meant very noisy seagulls plus revellers and bin men collecting in early hours. Add to that noisy plumbing and we had little sleep. But did the job for one night. Friendly history.

Reviewed by
Katy T

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was small but host very welcoming and would definetely return
Room and shower extremely compact but hotel was very clean and breakfast was lovely 5minutes away from seafront lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
glynn g

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Value & Great Location!!
We went to see a concert at the Bournemoutb BIC and stayed overnight at the Shirley B&B. Jorge the owner is a very nice person who made us feel very welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the price was very good value for money. Parking out the back is also a bonus. Would definitely stay again if in Bournemouth and would recommend othter travellers. Yes it is not the Ritz but if you are looking for a good overnight stay or short term holiday then this is the place for you. Thankyou Jorge for your great hospitality!!!

Reviewed by
ANDREW FREEMAN

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendy B&B
Very friendly staff and great full english breakfast with cereal and juice. Clean and nice room. Had
good chats with owner and his wife who could not do enough for us.

Reviewed by
philip shrimpton

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere
It was great to stay at the shirley as we were taking our doogs on holiday with us. We were welcomed and the atmosphere was relaxed, despite the hotel being pet freindly it was immaculatly clean. The thing that i liked best about the stay was that the shirley isnt one of those hotels that has rules and regulation everywhere. the manager was a chilled guy and we just felt relaxed and comfrotable there.

Reviewed by
G Mann

From Hull, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next