No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Grove Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
4 Clifton Grove, Old Torwood Road, , Torquay, TQ1 1PR
IF YOUR CARD IS DECLINED YOUR BOOKING WILL BE CANCELLED

THIS HOTEL DOES NOT HAVE A LIFT AND IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH STAIRS PLEASE DO NOT BOOK.

WE DO NOT SUPPLY PARKING OR WIFI.

Our family run licensed hotel is open all year round .We offer a friendly relaxed atmosphere for couples, families and the business traveller. The hotel has a range of bedrooms from singles to family rooms .

All bedrooms are equipped with colour television, hairdryers, alarm clock, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Our Breakfast menu consists of choice of cereal, toast, fruit juice and a full English breakfast at individual tables in our attractive Dining Room. To offer more flexibility and value for money, our rooms are offered on a room only basis with the option to add breakfast if you wish at £8.00 per person per day.

We are a non smoking hotel there will be a charge of £100 if any sign or smell of smoke.

Please can you put a time of arrival when booking.

Kind Regards
Teresa & Jason

THE FIRST NIGHT STAY WILL BE TAKEN AS A ((NON REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT AT TIME OF BOOKING)) AND THE FULL AMOUNT ON ARRIVAL
.
IF THE DEPOSIT IS NOT PAID AT THE TIME OF BOOKING YOUR ROOM WILL NOT BE BOOKED

IF YOUR CARD IS DECLINED YOUR BOOKING WILL CANCELLED

WE DO NOT SUPPLY PARKING OR WIFI.

YOU WILL FIND PARKING SPACES AT THE TOP OF THE ROAD AND THERE ARE SPACES AT THE END OF THE ROAD

BUSSINESS PEOPLE AND CONTRACTORS WELCOME.

WE DO NOT TAKE STAG OR HEN OR SINGLE SEX PARTIES.

THERE WILL BE A CHARGE OF
£25 FOR ANY PERSON THAT STAYS
IN THE ROOM THAT HAS NOT
CHECKED INTO THE
CLIFTON GROVE HOTEL
Picture of Clifton Grove Hotel, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and clean
Good value room. Cheap and cheerful, clean. The 10am kickout is a bit tight, especially on a Sunday with a hangover.....

Reviewed by
Ian W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dont stay there
Bad service very poor

Reviewed by
David Hefford

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
Nice clean cheap hotel

Reviewed by
Grzegorz K

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, clean, comfortable.
As a single bloke looking for cheap digs near the town centre this was absolutely perfect. My single was £20/night (breakfast available at £8 supplement 8-9am) through laterooms.com in the middle of July! You can't complain at that; you spend more on a round of drinks. There's more expensive en suite rooms if you want; depends what you're looking for. Mine had a sink, hot water, towels, soap, tea/coffee and a tv - ideal.

Reviewed by
Shane O'Loughlin

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We only stayed a night but the room was nice and well worth the money we paid.

Reviewed by
m warner

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average good friendly atmosphere
nice little family run hotel the owner greeted us was very pleasent.s.hown us to our room which was a little dated but excellent value for the money we paid. quiet location on a hillside..wouldnt be ideal for people that didnt have good mobility. we didnt eat here but was offered the choice ..breakfast was only 5.00 which in devon thats excellent as its quite expensive in the town

Reviewed by
Donna Brook

From stockport, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Found to be friendly and welcoming on arrival.
Room was on top floor reasonable décor with tea making facilities, plus a small flat screen TV, and one small wash basin.
The toilets and showers are shared in this hotel but on my visit no other guests appeared to be in the hotel. The showers and toilets appeared clean and worked well with lots of hot water in the showers.
My only issue of concern in this hotel was the lack of hand washing facilities in the toilets. I understand this is a old building and pluming for this would be costly. However, alcohol hand gel dispenser are fitted in the toilets but on the top floor is was constantly empty.( Pound shop, anti bacteria wipes come in useful.)
However, if you do have trouble getting around, please ask for a ground floor room. Parking is off site, just up the road on a hill.
I found this to be a cheap and friendly hotel.If you can live without the latest décor for a bargain price you will be 'ok'. I would visit again!!

Reviewed by
ROBERT H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parking a nightmare. room clean and basic for money.

Reviewed by
DAVID S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was fine
Good for the money

Reviewed by
matthew v

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devon heaven
Very homely and welcoming.A lovely comfy bed and a cosy room, a tasty cooked breakfast and a friendly host in Jason a really lovely bloke,what more could you ask for?!i would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Y Foster

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next