Reviews - The Grove House Hotel


GROVE ROAD, Birkenhead by Liverpool, CH45 3HF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (17)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Kevin B

  • April 2015

Very comfortable overnight stay

Nice, clean, bright and fresh room which was surprisingly spacious and appeared to be newly decorated.

Toilet a bit on the small side but not an issue as the actual room itself was quite large. Nice touch with the water, crisps, chocolate and fruit in the room. All staff very friendly and helpful, I don't stop over in this area very often but if I did I would book this hotel again. I can't comment on the food as didn't eat in the hotel but the restaurant looked busy enough...

  • Russ G

  • January 2015

Late booking

Booked late and had to pay £15 more than laterooms price on line as hotel advised which was a shame.

Room very good and really good shower which makes a change these days. Didnt eat breakfast as slept in but downstairs bar etc looked good and welcoming. For price I paid it was a bit dear to be fair and reception on arrival and departing a bit lacklustre and not that welcoming that aside really good hotel

  • Sandra W

  • November 2014

Another good stay

We were staying here for the third time this year.

This is a comfortable and very friendly hotel.

  • Victoria M

  • November 2014

Everything was perfect. Staff were lovely & the room was above & beyond what I ever expected.

Total value for money, the room was so beautiful, I felt very spoiled...even though it was me who booked it for my husband as a treat.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone, and, I will book again.

  • Rick C

  • November 2014

Excellent accomodation

The staff were excellent, as was the food and hotel

  • Stephen K

  • October 2014

Short overnight stop

We only stayed for a short stop but wished we had more time to spend here.

The room was extremely comfortable and the complimentary fruit and snack were welcome. Importantly for me the curtains actually made the room dark!

  • r carroll

  • October 2014

Lovely place, people and breakfast. Thank you!

  • John H

  • October 2014

small, quiet and delightful

Warm friendly welcome.

On arrival we were expected, everything was ready and we were in our room in minutes. Wonderfully spacious, comfortable room with complimentary fruit, biscuits and even a chocolate bar. Dinner was delicious and the desert trolley very very difficult to resist but we were stuffed. Top of the bill was no rubber eggs under heat lamps as breakfast was cooked to order and apart from a personal preference for pork as opposed to cumberland sausage was perfect. Add in the always polite, efficient staff who somehow managed to never be intrusive and all in all it's exactly the place to go if you don't want that huge conveyor style hotel come spa experience oh the large chain hotels. To round things off you have the beautiful wirral peninsula close at hand and the City of Liverpool just a short train ride away from the Merseyrail station just down the road.

  • W Barnes

  • September 2014

Great stay. Will stay again

Rite well what a great stay iv stayed in rooms three times the price and i was really impressed with this stay.

There was a wedding or something in the evening and that did not effect my stay i was so suprised the staff were great and i highly recomend this. never staying in the travel lodge ever again when i have this place to stay at booking here next year. Great experiance. (i dont rate places but this was worthy of my rating)

  • C Weatherill

  • May 2014

Helpful home from home.

We stayed for one night at The Grove House Hotel.

The room was exceptionally clean with little extras such as complimentary snacks and fruit which was most welcome. The staff were very helpful wth advice for directions etc and nothing was too much trouble. The hotal staff were most welcoming and the breakfast was of a high quality. We chose the cooked option but if we hadn't the selection of cereals, fruits, croissants and yoghurts looked delicious. We would definately chose this hotel again.