No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crowne Plaza Reading

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
CAVERSHAM BRIDGE,RICHFIELD AVENUE, READING, RG1 8BD
The red-brick Crowne Plaza Reading hotel overlooks a peaceful stretch of the River Thames, 15 minutes' walk from Reading town centre. Nestled among trees on the banks of the River Thames, you'll find Crowne Plaza Reading an elegant retreat primed for business success, lavish banquets and a strategic base for unlocking London. If you're here with family, for a seminar or wedding, leave a gap for some me-time in our sumptuous Leisure Club, with its infinity-effect pool , sauna and 5 luxury treatment rooms. Crowne Plaza Reading is 1 hour's drive from central London. You can leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 15 minutes to Reading rail station , where trains zip to London Heathrow Airport in 20 minutes and central London in 30 minutes . Flirt with the latest fashions at The Oracle mall in Reading town centre or treat the family to escapades at Thorpe Park or LEGOLAND Windsor theme parks. Strive for business success from the leather chairs in our dark wood Executive Boardroom. For an insider guide to quaint pub gardens and locks along the river, look no further than the dedicated Concierge at Crowne Plaza Reading .
Picture of Crowne Plaza Reading, READING at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant closed!!!!!
When I made the booking I was contacted by the hotel and told the restaraunt would be closed on the night of our stay.
We were extremely upset to find that not only was the restaraunt was closed but also the Bar!
Efforts were made to try and give us some excuses and then a free bottle of wine. We were not alone in our situation. It became clear that many of the guests were in the same position.
It is advertised as a 4 star hotel but we did not have a 4 Star experience..

Reviewed by
D Corbin

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Base near London
Convenient to the rail and bus station for LHR and the city. Boris bike station at the hotel. This was a good solution for visiting London near Paddington

Reviewed by
J O'Keeffe

From Carrigaline, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Weekend
Enjoyed another stay at Reading to spend time with family. Hotel very handy for station, city centre and riverside walks. Room and breakfast excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend if intending to use leisure centre on Sunday evening check with Reception that it has not closed early before trailing downstairs.

Reviewed by
Jane L

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crowne Plaza Reading
Having stayed before I knew what to exspect, well postion Hotel close to Motorway links, good room.

Reviewed by
Peter Poyntz-Roberts

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel for area
Crowne Plaza is a great hotel with secure car parking provided free of charge. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with friendly staff and provide a fantastic buffet breakfast.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable and extremely clean.
Hotel is well worth staying at and highly recommended

Reviewed by
Erik P

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
couldnt fault the hotel or staff , alot of hotels could learn from this one

Reviewed by
jeff pearmain

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel as you would expect.
This hotel is excellent as you would expect. I would not normally be able to stay in a hotel like this due to the price so to grab a bargain on Late rooms was quite a treat. Lovely hotel, with gym and solarium etc, fantastic hotel, if they reduced the prices for people working in reading i would stay every time i stay in reading.

Reviewed by
m deary

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Overnight
Unfortunately when i arrived it came to light that i had booked for the following week! The receptionist at the time dealt with the problem without any issue and my booking was transferred at no extra cost to suit my arrival. The receptionist made me feel taken care of before i had actually entered my room! So for me i would definetly return to this hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Bruce M, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I am happy our hotel exceeded your expectations. We are glad to read you appreciated the efforts of our staff service. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We would cherish another moment to host your next stay when you are in the area again. Kind Regards, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Bruce M

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money

Reviewed by
S Corkett

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Stayed for a wedding and our anniversary. Breakfast was overpriced for the quality, however it was ayce.
The room itself was clean and very nice decor, however the lighting was inadequate and in the bathroom our toilet was very difficult to flush and the sink plug was stuck inside the sink, therefore washing our hands using the bath taps. I complained at the main desk, to have the main desk receptionist to tell me that she will look into it... That was it!
Overall it was overpriced and there are much nicer 4 star hotels.

ManagementResponse

Dear James B, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience the breakfast and bathroom condition may have caused you. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
James B

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next