No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Melbreak

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Winscales Road,Little Clifton , Workington, CA14 1XS
The Melbreak Country House Hotel is a family run hotel offering high standards and good service. Situated on the edge of the Lake District and on the Cumbrian Coast the Hotel Boasts dramatic panoramic views of the Loweswater Valley and Mountains beyond, including the imposing Melbreak, from which the Hotel takes its name. Being only a short drive from the A66 (which links to the M6), the location of the Hotel makes it an ideal place to stay for people wishing to discover the beauty of the northern lakes and coastal towns, and for people working in the area. Guests wishing to sample the cullinary expertise of our chefs will be delighted with the local produce on offer and the new Conservetory Restaurant, which provides an ideal setting for a relaxed meal whilst enjoying fantastic views of the surrounding countryside.
Picture of The Melbreak , Workington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking hotel!
This was the only hotel we found in The Lakes which was willing to let you stay for just one night. All the others were a minimum of 2 nights at the weekends, not good. However I am glad we found this one. Great hotel, room was fine, staff were so nice and the food was great too. Had dinner there which had a great choice of menu. Breakfast was varied and very tasty. Will definitely return

Reviewed by
H Tucker

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great a little hotel for Country escape.
A small hotel by the roadside that value for money, bedroom and public areas are very clean.
Good food and well presented, breakfast was excellent. Suitable for couple who want to escape from busy life to unwind at the weekend.

Reviewed by
Boonta M

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is perfect
My kids and i visited from Africa. we enjoyed our stay. Good ambience, with very friendly and accommodating staff.

Reviewed by
Maeve E

From Nigeria
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Visit
A small comfortable hotel, ideally situated for the north lakes. Room was clean and tidy, staff were friendly, and the food was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Harry Burton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy to find weplan run hotel
The hotel is easily found, staff were friendly, breakfast choice was good (maybe some free fruit would have been good), evening meal menu was varied and all the meals we had were well cooked and tasty. The rooms are clean comfortable and quiet. Overall a good hotel.

Reviewed by
David W

From Hengoed, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Welcome
On arrival for my first night staying at this hotel, I was impressed. Well furnished hotel, with very polite staff on arrival, departure and also in the bar. The food was lovely, and served in a very timely manner.

Reviewed by
Stuart W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortible stay with friendly staff

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unfortunate expierence
not very impressed will not return.

Reviewed by
S Milne

From Harwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendy and Helpful Staff
Can't fault this hotel on any points. Friendly welcome from staff. Value for money. Excellent food. Only downside next to busy and noisy road.

Reviewed by
I Ewing

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job
From the warm welcome, through the prompt and friendly service to the tasty food this was everything I needed. Great experience for a busy working man looking for a brief respite.

Reviewed by
Peter E

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next