No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Riverhill Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
19 TALBOT ROAD , Birkenhead, Merseyside, CH43 2HJ
Situated on the Wirral Peninsula within its own peaceful grounds, this Victorian house hotel offers the highest quality accommodation Oxton in Birkenhead is just 4 miles from Liverpool and offers free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.

Having earned a gallery of industry accolades (including the prestigious Merseyside Small Hotel of the Year Award) this family-run hotel takes great pride in cultivating a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere with friendly service and a thoroughly warm welcome.

The highest 3-Star AA rated hotel in the Wirral area, the Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms all of which are decorated and furnished to a very high standard.

The Restaurant offers a tantalising selection of culinary delights from their diverse range of ever-changing menus.

Located on the Wirral Peninsula, it’s just 2 miles from Birkinhead and 4 miles from Liverpool. It’s an ideal base from which to explore the area and its many attractions, including Birkenhead Park, Williamson Art Gallery and Museum, Port Sunlight and the scenic beauty of the Wirral countryside.

Please note there is a free drink on arrival for guests.
Picture of The Riverhill Hotel, Birkenhead, Merseyside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
This is my second stay at the Riverhill hotel and it really is a little gem, the location is quiet, the bedroom and bathroom are spotless. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend a stay if you are anywhere near Birkenhead

Reviewed by
F Gallagher

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good independent hotel
Our experience was very positive. The staff were polite and willing to help out with any of our requests including extra hot chocolate sachets and help in working the heating system. The only tiny issue was that the bathroom air vent rattled a little during the night. However, we did get a lovely 4 poster bed room. I would recommend this hotel without delay and will use it again in the future.

Reviewed by
F Dixon

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant And clean and tidy very well presented hotel
Which many many others could emulate

Reviewed by
Fred L

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It looks like Fawlty Towers...
...but it isn't. Very clean and tidy, friendly staff, great food, good parking. I will be back!

Reviewed by
Bob Shaw

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
-hotel ideal for my visits to wirral --Well organised staff-food excellent-pleasant location.

Reviewed by
Michael M

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Award winning restaurant

Reviewed by
Christine A

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed a second night
got a bargain room with late rooms. Food and service excellent so we decided to stay another night and go into Liverpool for a day.

Reviewed by
Pat B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverhill long weekend
Riverhill is located a short taxi ride from Birkinhead rail stations in the lovely, quiet village of Oxton. The hotel is obviously popular and very busy in the restaurant which is run by Masterchef winner Clare Lara. A lovely old house with very relaxing decor and atmosphere, it has been extended to offer additional letting rooms. Our room was indeed in the extension and though small, it was adequate with more than the usual complementaries - chocolate biccies AND crisps! Our bathroom did look like it needed a wee bit of TLC with some new grout and a more powerful shower, but it did also have a bath which was a bonus after walking many miles around Liverpool two days in a row. We ate in the restaurant on two nights and the food lived up to our expectations.The menu is a little different to the usual but well balanced offerings and an enticing dessert trolley. The staff were both helpful and friendly and happy to provide me with the real milk I wanted for my cuppa instead of the prepackaged UHT - yuk. Whilst some of the staff were less 'warm' on th sunday night ( no idea why really ) we enjoyed our stay at Riverhill and would highly recommend it and would go back again.

Reviewed by
C Scullion

From Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2