No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oaktree Lodge

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
15 Esplanade, Whitley Bay, NE26 2AH
Oaktree Lodge – Whitley Bay – 4 Star Silver Award - Green Tourism Silver award

Highly Recommended across all review sights and is the perfect Guest Accommodation for business or leisure, situated in a quiet central location in sight of the scenic Northumberland coast
As well as contemporary bedrooms, equipped with En-suite bathroom, TV, Hairdryer, Tea/coffee facilities Onsite facilities include Free Wi-Fi, Lounge/Bar

A full English breakfast using local organic produce is included and daily packed lunches are also available along with evening meals by pre order

Experience this beautiful seaside resort, located just minutes to start of Hadrians wall and the end of Coast to Coast

Discounted Playhouse tickets available to Guests of Oaktree Lodge, please see Offers/Events page on our Website for full details
Picture of Oaktree Lodge, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem of a place!
A great welcome without being 'over the top'.
My room was tastefully decorated & homely.
Everywhere I saw was spotlessly clean.
Easy walk to the end of the road for a view of the seafront.
Restaurants of numerous nationalities within 5 minutes of walking.
A short drive of 20 minutes to the Millennium Bridge with other wonderful architecture, restaurants, etc., all in one tastefully modernised area.

Reviewed by
Christopher K

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B+B
Cannot recommend highly enough. Very friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere and lovely comfy bed. Topped off with a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
r howe

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little B and B

Reviewed by
Sarah B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly secure and pampering
I was staying here whilst visiting family. Andrew and Sonia made me most welcome, and I was treated to lovely food; a nice comfortable bed; and I'm glad to say a radio as well as a TV. Everywhere was spotless. The bathroom had nice toiletries too. The couple welcomed my son and his wife when they popped in to say "hello" too. I have no hesitation in recommending the hosts, and their guest house, and I hope to revisit it.

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
I stayed for 5 nights. The standard of hygiene was excellent. Breakfasts were also excellent with plenty of choice, and fresh fruit available. Parking could be a little problematic but the owners do their best to help out. I never had to park more than 100 feet away. I would happily stay in this guest house again. Sonia and Andrew, the proprietors, are welcoming and always on hand.

Reviewed by
James Sayers

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was, understandably, not very spacious, although well-arranged and comfortable, and it was not the cheapest around, but we were very happy with our stay; the food and service were excellent and the proprietors made us very welcome and comfortable. We would definitely book again here and recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
S Jamieson

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Neil
The Guest house was superb, looked after from the moment I arrived, facilities in room better than a lot of chain hotels. Very clean and the owners very friendly and professional

Reviewed by
Neil D

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfactory
Made welcome as soon as I reached the threshold. Was showed to a clean and pleasant room. Any questions, cheerfully answered. Had to wait a bit for hot water for shower. Breakfast was excellent and such a variety of choice. Lovely.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most amazing stay?
Oaktree Lodge is the most amazing hotel we have stayed at. The hotel was beautiful, the breakfast was superb and the owners (and the service) were second to none.
Hope to see you again next year.

Reviewed by
Nicola Slack

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whitley Bay Gem
My wife and I were staying for the weekend to attend a family occasion at The Grand Hotel. I have stayed at The Grand before and thought their prices were very overinflated. Oaktree Lodge is a great alternative. Whilst the frontage is unassuming the welcome is not. Our hosts were warm, kind and accommodating. The owner took us up to The Grand for no charge. The rooms were spacious, quiet, very well supported (bowl of chocolates in the room, earl grey tea bags etc) and a decent sized TV. When we return Oaktree Lodge will be our destination of choice.

Reviewed by
David Q

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next