No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Briars Hall Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Briars Lane,Lathom , Lathom , L40 5TH
Originally an 18th century country manor house, Briars Hall has been lovingly restored and converted into a first class country hotel.
Licenced for civil weddings,
Set in 4 acres of stunning woodlands.
The perfect venue for your special day, The Al-A-Carte restaurant serving excellent cuisine and the Ainscough bar with it's friendly atmosphere and good food are open to the public 7 days a week. Briars Hall is perfect for those wishing to organise small to medium board meetings. We can cater for small intimate meetings or larger conference's up to 150 delegates. All our rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard, and we operate a no smoking policy in our rooms.
Picture of Briars Hall Hotel, Lathom  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check if a party on if you value your sleep
When we arrived at 6pm it was clear a party was going on and when we enquired, we were told that there was a wedding but it would not go on beyond 12.30am. We were allocated a quiet room on the second floor which was spacious and pleasant. The snag was the windows only opened a bit and it was incredibly hot. There was no fan provided.
We were woken by guests departing in the early hours over a period of about 45 minutes with loud conversations and laughter, problems getting a taxi, car doors slamming etc and because it was so hot, found it difficult to go back to sleep. Not great when working the next day. The breakfast was good and huge with nice quality bacon and sausage though the "background" music was far too intrusive for comfort. As the hotel seems to push its events and weddings it would be a good idea to check if one is on before booking if you need a good night's sleep.

Reviewed by
Liz P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding!
the last room available due to a wedding? no warning about this so if we'd wanted a peaceful retreat that wouldn't have been possible.
room was a bit disappointing - small, no fridge. marks on the wall where cases marked it. only one seat.
wouldn't have paid full price.
food good. bar staff good.

Reviewed by
gill w

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff
Friendly helpful staff

Reviewed by
I Hatton

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Tripery fried
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Good value for money. No hesitation in staying again.

Reviewed by
W Miller

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not sure about staying again!
we arrived at 3:45 and were given our key only to get to our room and it wasn't ready the cleaner asked us to wait in the bar for 15 mins. We asked for a different room instead,the room was small but nice .We went out to a party and came back at 1ish, there was a 21st party on in our hotel we gave the bar a miss and went straight to our room' we were woken at 2:30am to people screaming and shouting I presume there was a fight at the party. We were then woken later by a man shouting for someone, to top the night off there was a fire bell ringing outside are room at about 5:45!!! We got up early to get breakfast which was very nice and served by a lovely friendly guy but it finishes at ten, you also have to check out at ten which is far to early as my husband could not drive anywhere . All in all this is a nice hotel but we wouldn't stay again, unless there were no parties on.

Reviewed by
PAUL M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT VALUE LOVELY HOTEL
Stayed overnight for a birthday bash. We go away a lot and I must say this was one of the best 3 star hotels I have stayed at. Room was lovely - beds really comfy- in fact we asked the receptionist where we could buy the matresses from! Very clean rooms, friendly staff and breakfast cooked to order in the morning. There is some noise on a Saturday night if you go to bed before midnigh,t from the DJ but all in all I would recommend it without hesitation

Reviewed by
sandra haworth

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good old fashioned hotel
All ok apart from very dodgy shower.

Reviewed by
george m

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.