No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wishing Well

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
Oakney Wood Road , Selby, YO8 8LZ
Modern 40 bedroomed hotel with onsite bar & family restaurant.
Ample free car parking.

NOW OPEN
Picture of The Wishing Well, Selby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic
Pleased it was just for one night, bed just sheet on top of mattress, very noisy doors banging, dirty cups, glasses at breakfast and not even a tea pot????? Tea bags in a bowl, breakfast was discussing.

Reviewed by
Fiona B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent accomodation
well kept property and ideal for short stays. The room was comfortable and clean although the shower curtain was very discoloured and the nets could also do with a wash. The curtains also had missing hooks which left them drooping somewhat. With just a little effort on the housekeeping side these could easily be remedied..

Reviewed by
p hogben

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great family stay
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay (two rooms for 3 adults and 2 young children 4 and 7). The food was great as always and the play park and golf are fantastic for the children. Great area easy to locate with plenty around.

Reviewed by
sarah c

From oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first visit to wishing well
Very pleased with our short stay here the room was very comfortable and the fan was a life saver as the weather was very hot and humid.

Reviewed by
katie-may c

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Hot
Room was uncomfortably hot even with a fan in the room bed was two single mattresses in one double mattress cover which was uncomfortable to sleep on. Bath and shower head dirty.

Reviewed by
Andy H

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value hotel
Ideal accommodation for anyone on a small budget. Good sized room with comfortable bed. Facilities available for tea/coffee. Nice restaurant/bar ideal for meal or late night drink.

Reviewed by
K Murphy

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

toilet in room
The toilet in our room could of done with a good bleach soak!
Smelly.................

Reviewed by
Gary K

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Limited TV
Room was clean and adequate but "free wireless internet" was a bit complicated to set up and you have to register lots of details to obtain. Plus you could only watch 2 or 3 TV Channels as all the rest (apart from the shopping channels of course) were unavailable so I missed the World cup matches. When I complained the receptionist said that it must have just been that my TV needed tuning but my colleague had the exact same problem.

Reviewed by
mike n

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Wishing Well Experience
Nice large room, large comfortable bed, bathroom clean and spacious.
Pleasant helpful staff.

Reviewed by
M dixon

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eat Elsewhere !
Booked in nice and easily, room was large and clean. The windows only open 6" due to child risk and the desk fan running all night did nothing to cool the very hot room down. No extractor in the bathroom and poor room lighting. The meals in the restaurant were absolutely disgusting, the mixed grill had an anomaly of meats - all overcooked. The steak I asked to be rare came out medium to well done, the liver was dry and crumbly, I asked for a side order of wedges and they took my chips off my meal !! The chips were horrible, greasy, overcooked items. I had the wedges in case we didnt like the "homemade" chips, in fact we didnt like either! The food was only just lukewarm as well.
Breakfast food was better, although it was ordered at 07:00 and arrived 20 minutes later - I was late for work!
I will go to the Owl at Hambleton next time - far better.

Reviewed by
Brian H

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next