No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ascott Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
6 Half Edge Lane, Ellesmere Park, Eccles , Manchester, M30 9GJ
A Victorian Town House, conveniently located for Manchester City Centre (10 minutes drive). Built for a clothing manufacturer in 1840 and the home to the first Mayor of Eccles 1893. A small, privately run hotel. The building has many original features, all the rooms are individually styled to a high standard all our rooms are en-suite and we have a lounge and conservatory where breakfast is served freshly prepared and served at your table (no queueing up at a buffet) or you can have a continental breakfast in your room for early departure. Free parking and WIFI. We were voted Best B&B of 2004. The Ascott is close to Manchester City centre ( 12 minsby train ) , Metro park and ride from Ladywell tram station ) and within easy access of the M602 motorway. We are also within 10 minutes drive of Old Trafford, home to Manchester United, as well as the Trafford and Lowry centres and Phones 4 you.Arena. Event city and Ethiad stadium (Metro link) There are a wealth of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. This property has a 4 Star AA Guest Accommodation accreditation.
Picture of Ascott Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for Monton
My boyfriend and I stayed here as a stopover from moving out of a rented apartment and moving into our house. It was convenient to both places. It was a budget room costing £55 without breakfast. The room was at the top of the house. It was small and had beams. My boyfriend is 6'4" so couldnt stand up in half of the room! It was clean. Had tea and coffee and there is a car park. The men who ran it were lovely.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. As stated you booked a cheap budget room which clearly states it has a sloping roof and is small.
The description on the website reads: Room Notes: Small Budget Twin or Double (Advance Purchase) smaller than standard or Deluxe rooms.Free parking Free WiFi,( sloping roof beam. room only)
You also received our confirmation which says: You have booked a budget room. This room is smaller than a standard room has a sloping ceiling and is on the top floor (Room Only rate). Once checked in you have a key for 24 hour access.
So as you see this was quite clear, at the time you booked and this is why this is a cheap room. You had the choice of other rooms but choose the cheapest option. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
M Reynolds

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Victorian style guest house.
We stayed over to go to football game at Old Trafford. Left car at hotel. Easy walk to tram terminal in Eccles. At the ground in less than 1/2 hr. Good clean room. Full breakfast.

Reviewed by
N Mills

From Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

used for university drop off crackin price lovely room fab breakfast a credit to the owner thank you will use again for christmas markets

Reviewed by
Steven C

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and cheap
Location was good for my business trip. £45 or £52 with breakfast included. 2 miles from Trafford centre. Room decor was interesting but not to my taste, but clean and tidy. No bar or meals served. Breakfast only. But for £52 good value. Too quiet for my personal taste. Probably wouldn't stay again

Reviewed by
D Riseborough

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Ascott Experience
Stayed here with my girlfriend whilst meeting up with friends and it was a choice between Novotel~closer or the Ascott that simply looked nicer and would've worked out cheaper if I had chosen a standard room. I went for a luxury room at 75gbp so it worked out exactly the same price as a Novotel room AND with our breakfasts included that the Novotel charged more for. I am so glad I chose the ascott hotel that has loads of character from the offset, we were met by a nice chap who immediately got us to sign in and showed us straight away to the room and happily explained the area around and additional entry points. The room itself was lovely and bright and clean. The double room was airy even though it was a hot and muggy day due to it's high ceilings, the bed was comfy, the en suite was quite big with full sized bath and didn't feel crammed in. The hotel parking is free. There are two minor points with the room that i noticed in that the room had no air con and the bedroom window which we felt needed to be left open, on this particularly muggy day, was very high on the window. I am 5'8" and I needed to stand on a chair to open. Breakfast was 8:30 to 9:30 and the main choices were full English and continental. Teas/coffees were brought to you and menus on all tables. This is a seated service which as we sat at 9:20 was swift. My full English breakfast was cooked well and the seated service during breakfast was good. Checkout was swift as I loaded the car up and found the chap at the rear of the hotel whom I could leave my key with. The location of the hotel is easy to find via sat nav. And is located on what appeared to be not a too busy road about 8min walk from monton shops/pub located to the left as you leave the front of the hotel. After the walk from the shop we were sat in the hotels patio garden with tables and chairs with our wine to kill half hour and this was pleasant. All in all this is a really lovely affordable place to stay and next time I am in Manchester will stay here again. I hope this is helpful.

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value B & B. Would thoroughly recommend
We were not quite sure about the Ascott before we booked it, as we have had some bad experiences before with small privately run hotels. We need not have worried as the Ascott gave us a really nice room on the ground floor as we had requested. It was quiet as it was located at the back of the hotel.
Our only slight criticism was that the bed was a bit hard (new perhaps) and not very wide, however we slept much better the second night after getting used to it!
The breakfast was really good offering a wide range of cereals, white or brown (granary) toast, preserves, and an excellent breakfast grill, which was freshly prepared to order with good quality sausages and bacon, Bury black pudding (yummy), and eggs done any way you want them. Top marks for the breakfast!
We will definitely stay again, and would recommend the Ascott.

Reviewed by
Miles C

From Teddington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Quiet, clean & friendly

Reviewed by
John S

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value, Friendly and clean
Great accommodation, very friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, nice breakfast

Reviewed by
S Wheeler

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
I stayed at the Ascott Hotel for 2 nights whilst having building work done on my house. I found the stay very relaxing during a stressful time.
The house itself is lovely and beautifully furnished. Customer service was excellent with help available when needed but no sense of intrusion. Very friendly and accomodating staff.
My room was very clean, bright and airy. Having a bath as well as shower was great.
Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and it was served in a lovely conservatory area.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay and I will happily return.

Reviewed by
Fiona B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, shame about the abrupt sign left on bed
I really liked the hotel style and the women who met me at the door was friendly and warm.
Lovely hot bath, nice Grecian style bedroom.
The let down for me was coming home from work to a sign propped on the bed saying 'no takeaways allowed....you will be billed for stains' (or something along those lines)
Being allowed to bring a sandwich and some snacks into your hotel room after a long day at work, is a necessity sometimes....perhaps a greasy gravy filled takeaway would be different.
The wine glasses by the kettle suggested they were happy for people to drink RED wine in the room, which is the king of staining liquids!
So that little, but actually quite significant thing annoyed me as it's a policy that doesn't put the comfort of the guest first.
Apart from that- really a very characterful and fine place to stay.
I would recommend it, and I would stay there again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review you are quite correct sandwiches and biscuits we have no problem with we actually provide biscuits in some rooms, but unfortunately some people think eating curry and fish and chips in bed is normal and spilling the take a way all over the bedding then wiping their hands on the bedding is acceptable. That is why we have the sign it also stops people putting reviews on that the sheets are stained with past takeaways or the room smells from the last guest.

Reviewed by
M Black

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next