80% would recommend it to a friend
Lovely old house, great room
Arrived to lovely welcome, was told where the local eateries were and which were recommended.
Room was lovely and shower worked great. Bed was really comfortable. My only negative comment would be the slight smell of cooking (smelt like old poached fish to me) that seemed to permeate the house despite windows being open, I carry essential oils with me and used them to freshen the room. Despite this, hotel was very nice and would stay here again.
Top Quality Hotel
Nothing to say but fantastic throughout.
Very clean and friendly hotel.
Welcoming and lovely
Excellent hotel and excellent service.
Would definitely stay again!.
Amazing value for money
It was all fine.
Only a couple of small things - I was in room 30, which had very small window in room and dark wallpaper so it felt quite dark. And the front door buzzer seemed to be just outside the bedroom so kept hearing the door bell. Very comfy bed, spotless room and ensuite, complimentary sweeties. Check whether your booking includes breakfast. Mine did but I'm not sure they all do. Breakfast was good. Location was great for where I needed to be which was largely why I chose it.
Good room, great breakfast.
Great Valentines weekend
Booked Ascott not knowing anything about it or staying there before, looking for some nice overnight accommodation over Valentines weekend.
On arrival they were very helpful and polite. The room was immaculate and very nice (we booked the Luxury room), it was very comfy and really well decorated and presented. The car park was private and off the main road, hidden behind the building which was also ideal. The breakfast was great, me going for poached eggs on toast and my girlfriend a small fry up. We had endless amounts of tea, coffee and fruit juices and overall though climbing out of bed was an effort the following morning it was certainly worth it. The staff were very helpful and people who made us feel very comfortable from arrival. Highly recommend, will definitely be staying again if we're in the area again!
Nice people quality not great
Friendly people running the hotel, but money upfront.
Never been in a hotel that asked that before. Very tired room with dated showers, T.V etc... For the £55 we paid should have just gone to premier inn next to event city where we were working that week. If the people running the place were ignorant I would have left because it was not as described in review, but they people very pleasant so I stayed.
Response from hotel
Thank you for your review.
You failed to mention you asked for a reduction because you booked for 4 nights. You were told that was not our policy as is giving you a free breakfast as requested.
Our price was cheaper than the Travel Inn or Premier Inn, that is why you booked it.
On all of the reviews on this website no-one else thinks we are outdated or old fashioned.
Ideal location, great room, fine breakfast, and attentive staff.
No complaints at all!
Cold room on arrival .
The room was very pleasant -newly decorated .
The TV remote didn't work . The heating came on at four thirty in the afternoon regardless if it was icy outside . I think the heating should have been adjusted according to temperature outside in the winter time .
Very friendly helpful staff .
Response from hotel
Thank you for your review, however you have not mentioned you arrived early before we opened, so yes the room was cold and as you only left your bags to return later. We cannot see the problem perhaps we should have asked you to come back at the proper check in
time, instead we let you in.
The remote control on the TV works fine but as we pointed out several times the TV has to be switched on at the power point.
Many thanks for your review.