No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shenley Lodge

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
6 Newton Lane, Chester, CH2 3RB
All en-suite rooms. Fully Non Smoking Guest House. 10 minutes from City centre. Double and Family room. Free view T.V. & DVD, Hairdryer on request. Wireless internet access for enabled laptops.
Picture of Shenley Lodge, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place!
I was very happy to have an overnight at the Shenley Lodge.
Angela is one of the nicest and most helpful people I have met in a long time and nothing was too much trouble for her.
Will definitely stay again.
Paul

Reviewed by
Paul D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shenley Lodge Guest House Newton Lane Chester.
A clean friendly guest house with very good breakfasts on 53 Bus route to Chester town centre.
We recommend this accommodation .

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Mayes

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting Daughter
The guest house was very comfortable, clean and the food was lovelly. The beds where comfortable, had a great nights sleep, lovely and quite. Angela was the owner was friendly and very helpful, even offered to pick me up from the train station and take me back, had a lovelly stay, will be longer next time.

Reviewed by
Linda Isaac

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay, very friendly. The Mattress was a bit too soft for my liking though. Breakfast was nice.

Reviewed by
Adam P

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it
Straight from arriving we were welcomed by the owner who went out of her way to help (and even offered to drive us into the centre). Rooms were spacious and clean with tea and coffee facilities. I couldn't hear any cars on the road outside or other guests which made for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was provided and was excellent quality.
If I had to make a suggestion it would only be to have sachets of other drinks (like hot chocolate) available in the room.

Reviewed by
David D

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and comfortable accommodation.
A lovely place in which to stay with friendly and helpful hosts. The location was excellent and we had a very enjoyable relaxed 5 day break visiting the The Open golf each day up at Hoylake. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From Potters Bar, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy with Choice
The comfy bed was a highlight of this stay - the lowlight was the water pressure.
Travelling with cabin sized suitcase, Shenley Lodge is an easy walk from the train station. (Right
out the station, up the steps and turn righ til you find Newton Road on the other side of the road. If the steps are too much, take the slightly longer sloped route.)
I arrived just before noon on a Saturday and was given a warm welcome and offer of refreshments from the owner who issued me with my keys for the front door and for my room.
I had room 4, which is a twin room on the top floor at the back of the house (up 2 flights of stairs).
Room was a bright spacious room and the bed was VERY comfy. There is a small wardrobe and a good-sized dresser with mirrors. The room was furnished with kettle, tea/coffee etc as well as a small tv and dvd player. A hair-dryer and iron are available on request.
The hot water took a while to get going in the shower room (no bath) but was hot when it finally arrived though the water pressure to the third floor was poor. Hand-wash was provided at the basin and there was another pump action bottle of combined body/hair-wash in the shower.
Breakfast was generous and served in a sunny room overlooking the owner's garden. (Orange juice, cereal/porridge, cooked breakfast, tea/coffee)
Overall this is a good B&B offering proximity to the city centre but in a quiet location, friendly and attentive service, reasonable cost and has free Wi-Fi available. The bedroom / bathroom decor is looking a little tired but met my needs for a short stop. The real 'downer' for me was the shower pressure which could have done with a bit more umph to rinse my hair though I'd happily stay again if I needed a bed in Chester.

Reviewed by
Jo G

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, welcoming guest house.
The accommodation is in a lovely old house not far from Chester city centre. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. The food and service was excellent. Our hosts were very friendly and even drove us to our friends house nearby ready for a trip to the races.

Reviewed by
Keith D

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely City of Chester
Welcomed by a lovely warm couple,the room was clean and the linen warm. The bathroom a little tight but I survived.
I have no complaints

Reviewed by
Rodney Coker

From Carcassonne, France
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed for a couple of nights as going to Chester zoo. Was absolutely lovely, our 3 year old loved it, got a special mug for his cup of tea and an Easter egg. Well looked after, very helpful with where to go and directions and fantastic breakfast. Definitely recommend and would go back.

Reviewed by
L Balding

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next